Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Automobile Insurance in Ontario

Circular Note No XDC-0149 of January 20, 2004

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade presents its compliments to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and International Organisations resident in Ontario and has the honour to refer the availability of automobile insurance for vehicles associated with diplomatic missions, consular posts and international organisations located in Ontario.

The Department has the honour to inform Their Excellencies that a review of the underwriting rules of all companies’ currently insuring automobiles in Ontario has been completed by the Financial Services Commission of Ontario at the request of the Chief of Protocol. Those companies whose underwriting rules had previously prevented them from insuring vehicles associated with diplomatic missions, consular posts, and international organisations have agreed to remove these rules. The Department has been informed that these changes became effective the week of December 13, 2003.

The Department respectfully reminds Their Excellencies that automobile insurance policies will still be subject to premiums rated according to the risk classification characteristics of the individual policy holder. Should excessive premiums be sought by insurance companies, appeals can be made to the Financial Services Commission of Ontario.

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade avails itself of this opportunity to renew to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and International Organisations resident in Ontario the assurances of its highest consideration.

OTTAWA, January 20, 2004

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-10-08

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Assurance automobile en Ontario

Note Circulaire No. XDC-0149 du 20 janvier 2004

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international présente ses compliments à Leurs Excellences les Chefs des missions diplomatiques et les Chefs d’organisations internationales résidant en Ontario, et a l’honneur de se référer à la question de l’assurance automobile des véhicules associés aux missions diplomatiques, postes consulaires et organisations internationales situés en Ontario.

Le Ministère a l’honneur d’informer Leurs Excellences que la Commission des services financiers de 1’Ontario a examiné, à la demande du Chef du Protocole, les règles de souscription de toutes les compagnies qui vendent de l’assurance automobile en Ontario. Les règles qui empêchaient l’assurance des véhicules associés aux missions diplomatiques, postes consulaires et organisations internationales ont été abrogées par les compagnies concernées. Le Ministère a été informé que ce changement est entré en vigueur dans la semaine du 13 décembre 2003.

Le Ministère rappelle respectueusement à Leurs Excellences que les primes des polices d’assurance automobile sont établies d’après l’évaluation du risque que présente le détenteur de chaque police. Toutefois, les primes qu’on juge trop élevées peuvent être contestées devant la Commission des services financiers de 1’Ontario.

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international saisit cette occasion pour renouveler à Leurs Excellences les Chefs des missions diplomatiques et les Chefs d’organisations internationales résidant en Ontario les assurances de sa très haute considération.

OTTAWA, le 20 janvier 2004

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-10-08