Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Impound Legislation in the Province of Ontario

Circular Note No. XDC-0224 of February 8, 2008

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (Office of Protocol) presents its compliments to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and Chargés d’Affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada and has the honour to inform Their Excellencies of recent changes to the Ontario Highway Traffic Act that will affect all foreign representatives and their family members who operate motor vehicles in the province of Ontario.

Under the new provincial legislation, police officers in Ontario now have the authority to impound a vehicle for seven (7) days when it is involved in a speeding offence of 50 km/h or more over the posted speed limit. Drivers charged under this legislation will also be automatically subject to a seven (7) day licence suspension, regardless of whether the licence can be seized by the attending police officer. However, in certain instances, the impound of the vehicle may be restricted due to the immunities afforded to the vehicle’s owner.

Official Motor Vehicles

The Department wishes to advise Their Excellencies that those vehicles that are registered to a diplomatic mission or a consular post will be exempted from the impound process, as per international legislation covering official property.

Private Motor Vehicles of Diplomatic Agents and Their Dependents

Vehicles registered to diplomatic agents or their family members will also be exempted from the impound process by virtue of those immunities afforded under the Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations which apply to their personal property.

Private Motor Vehicles of Persons with Limited or no Administrative Immunity

Privately owned vehicles involved in an incident that results in a charge under the above mentioned legislation may not be exempt from impound in those cases where the registered owner’s immunities are limited to actions undertaken in the course of official duties.

General Considerations

The Department advises that it will seek to ensure that all applicable rights and immunities are observed by the authorities in these cases. However, it is hoped that Their Excellencies will agree with the Department’s view that excessive speeding, in any circumstance, is unacceptable behaviour for foreign representatives and their dependents. As such, the Department will respond immediately to reports of such incidents by employing all available means to assist police in ensuring the safety of the public.

The Department requests that Their Excellencies review this document with their staff across Ontario to ensure that the policy is clearly understood. It should be noted that the Department’s policies will apply in the event that similar incidents are reported from other provinces, even in the absence of legislation specifically targeting excessive speeding.

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (Office of Protocol) avails itself of this opportunity to renew to the Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and Chargés d’Affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada the assurances of its highest consideration.

OTTAWA, February 8, 2008

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-10-02

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Législation ontarienne sur la mise en fourrière des véhicules

Note circulaire No XDC-0224 du 8 février 2008

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Bureau du Protocole) présente ses compliments à Leurs Excellences les chefs de mission diplomatique et Chargés d’affaires a.i. accrédités auprès du Canada et a l’honneur de les informer des récents changements apportés au Code de la route de l’Ontario, lesquels concernent tous les représentants étrangers et les membres de leurs familles qui utilisent un véhicule automobile dans cette province.

La nouvelle version du Code de la route autorise les policiers à mettre en fourrière pendant sept (7) jours tout véhicule ayant dépassé de 50 km/h et plus la limite de vitesse affichée. Le permis de conduire du conducteur fautif sera également suspendu pendant une période de sept (7) jours, peu importe que l’agent puisse ou non saisir le permis sur place. Dans certains cas toutefois, la mise en fourrière d’un véhicule peut être restreinte en raison des immunités dont jouit le propriétaire dudit véhicule.

Voitures officielles

Le Ministère désire également informer Leurs Excellences que les voitures immatriculées au nom d’une mission diplomatique ou d’un poste consulaire seront exemptées de la mise en fourrière, conformément au droit international concernant les biens officiels.

Voitures personnelles des agents diplomatiques et de leurs personnes à charge

Les voitures immatriculées au nom d’un agent diplomatique ou d’un membre de sa famille seront aussi exemptées de la mise en fourrière, en vertu des immunités accordées par la Convention de Vienne sur les relations diplomatiques relativement aux biens personnels.

Voitures appartenant à des personnes jouissant d’une immunité limitée ou sans immunité administrative

Les voitures personnelles impliquées dans un incident donnant lieu à des accusations aux termes du Code de la route pourraient ne pas être exemptées de la mise en fourrière si les immunités du propriétaire sont limitées aux actions accomplies dans le cadre de ses fonctions officielles.

Considérations générales

En l’occurrence, le Ministère veillera à ce que les autorités concernées respectent tous les droits et immunités applicables. Il espère toutefois que Leurs Excellences conviendront avec lui que les excès de vitesse constituent, en toutes circonstances, un comportement inacceptable de la part des représentants étrangers et des membres de leurs familles. Le Ministère réagira donc immédiatement à tout rapport faisant état de tels incidents, et usera de tous les moyens à sa disposition pour aider la police à assurer la sécurité du public.

Le Ministère saurait gré à Leurs Excellences de revoir ce document en compagnie de leur personnel affecté en Ontario, de manière à ce que la politique soit clairement comprise. Il est à noter que cette politique s’appliquera aussi dans les cas où des incidents semblables seront signalés dans les autres provinces, même si aucune loi n’y vise expressément les excès de vitesse.

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Bureau du Protocole) saisit cette occasion pour renouveler à Leurs Excellences les chefs de mission diplomatique et Chargés d’affaires a.i. accrédités auprès du Canada les assurances de sa plus haute considération.

OTTAWA, le 8 février 2008

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-10-02