Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Air Carrier Security Measures at Canadian Airports

Circular Note NO. XDC-0298 of February 27, 2002

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade presents its compliments to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and notified Chargés d'Affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada and has the honour to clarify the matter of air carrier security measures at Canadian airports.

Under the existing Canadian Aviation Security Regulations set fourth by Transport Canada, Heads of State, Heads of Government and accompanying members of their immediate family only may apply for exemption from airport pre-board passenger screening. Transport Canada will subsequently facilitate the exemption provided that the air carrier agrees. Exemption from passenger screening does not currently apply to members of their immediate entourage, members of diplomatic representation accredited to Canada, as well as to visitors, including those at the Ministerial level1.

Security measures have also been enhanced by Transport Canada so that passengers' footwear, including insoles, and electronic equipment may be subject to a thorough inspection, as well as any footwear in the carry-on baggage. For U.S. flights, similar searches may be conducted immediately prior to boarding. To expedite screening, passengers should be prepared to demonstrate that electronic devices in their possession operate when submitting themselves to security screening.

The Department would further like to inform the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and notified Chargés d'Affaires, a.i. that airports have enhanced restricted area access controls. At present, the area near Canada Customs is consequently no longer an area for VIP greeting. Further, kindly note that the authorities at Macdonald-Cartier Airport in Ottawa have reinstated the special parking area for the diplomatic corps.

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade avails itself of this opportunity to renew to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and notified Chargés d'Affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada the assurances of its highest consideration.

OTTAWA, February 27, 2002


1 The policy of random screening of passengers instituted at Canadian airports is part of the normal measures aimed at safeguarding the security of the public and the air transportation system. In this regard, members of diplomatic representations accredited to Canada are not generally exempt from such measures, nor can Canada obligate private air carriers to accept unscreened passengers on board their aircraft. It follows that the Department does not view the random search requirement as a violation of Canada's international obligation.

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-10-15

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Mesures de sûreté des transporteurs aériens dans les aéroports canadiens

Note circulaire NO XDC-0298 du 27 février 2002

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international présente ses compliments à Leurs Excellences les Chefs des Missions diplomatiques et les Chargés d'Affaires a.i. accrédités auprès du Canada et a l'honneur de se référer à la question des mesures de sûreté des transporteurs aériens dans les aéroports canadiens.

Le Ministère a en outre l'honneur de préciser aux Chefs des Missions diplomatiques et aux Chargés d'Affaires a.i. qu'au terme du Règlement canadien sur la sûreté aérienne émis par Transport Canada, seuls les Chefs d'État et de Gouvernement et les membres de leur famille immédiate les accompagnant peuvent prétendre à l'exemption d'une fouille avant l'embarquement. Transport Canada accorde toutefois cette exemption moyennant l'accord du transporteur aérien. Les membres de l'entourage immédiat des Chefs d'État et de Gouvernement, les membres des représentations diplomatiques au Canada ainsi que les visiteurs, y compris toute personne de rang ministériel, doivent se soumettre aux mesures de sécurité1.

En vertu des modifications apportées aux mesures de sûreté par Transport Canada, les fouilles comprennent aussi l'examen minutieux des équipements électroniques, des chaussures portées par les passagers ainsi que celles comprises dans leurs bagages à main, semelles intérieures inclues. Les transporteurs aériens des États-Unis d'Amérique peuvent effectuer des fouilles similaires au point d'embarquement. Les passagers pourraient donc être appelés à démontrer le bon fonctionnement des équipements électroniques.

Le Ministère tient à souligner aux Chefs des Missions diplomatiques et aux Chargés d'Affaires a.i. que les aéroports ont intensifié la sécurité autour des points de contrôle des passagers. Il convient de mentionner d'ailleurs que les aéroports ont restreint l'accès à la zone se trouvant à proximité du poste de contrôle douanier qui n'est plus destinée à l'accueil des dignitaires. Par ailleurs, les autorités de l'aéroport  Macdonald-Cartier ont à nouveau réservé un espace de stationnement pour le corps diplomatique.

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international saisit cette occasion pour renouveler à Leurs Excellences les Chefs des Missions diplomatiques et les Chargés d'Affaires a.i. accrédités auprès du Canada les assurances de sa très haute considération.

OTTAWA, le 27 février 2002


1 La politique portant sur les fouilles aléatoires en vigueur dans les aérogares canadiens font partie des mesures normales destinées à assurer la sûreté du public et du système de transport aérien. À cet égard, les membres des représentations étrangères au Canada ne peuvent pas se prévaloir d'une exemption de tels contrôles. Par ailleurs, le Canada ne peut obliger un transport aérien privé d'accepter à bord des passagers n'ayant pas été fouillés selon les mesures normales. Il en ressort que le Ministère ne considère pas que les fouilles aléatoires sont contraires aux obligations internationales du Canada.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-10-15