Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Personal Income Tax, Capital Gains Tax and Other Taxes Arising from Sources Within Canada

Circular Note No. XDC-0346 of April 20, 2006

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (Office of Protocol) presents its compliments to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and Chargés d'affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada and has the honour to refer to the matter of liability for personal income tax, capital gains tax and other taxes arising from sources within Canada [Note 1].

The Department would like to clarify that the Foreign Missions and International Organizations Act does not contain any provision exempting foreign representatives from the taxation of income arising from sources within Canada. While salaries and emoluments having their source outside Canada that are paid by the sending State to accredited members of a Mission's representation are considered tax exempt, it is equally the case that income arising from the interest and dividends earned on bank and investment accounts personally held by a foreign representative in Canada, or made in commercial undertakings (i.e. rental income), or made as a result of the sale or disposition of real property, can be considered taxable non-resident income. This is specifically in accordance with Article 34 of the Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations and Article 49 of the Vienna Convention on Consular Relations.

As the type and rate of tax a foreign representative must pay and the requirements for filing an income tax return with the Canada Revenue Agency vary depending on both the type of income received in Canada and the application of existing tax treaties on the avoidance of double taxation, the Department encourages all those concerned to contact the International Tax Services Office for guidance at 1-800-959-8281 or visit Non-residents of Canada for guidelines.

With respect to the reporting of professional income, the Department believes it is timely to remind the Heads of Diplomatic Missions of Canada's general prohibition on the practice of private gainful employment by foreign representatives outside official functions, except in special cases where written approval has been granted.

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (Office of Protocol) avails itself of this opportunity to renew to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and Chargés d'affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada the assurances of its highest consideration.

OTTAWA, April 20, 2006


1 This note does not address taxation of Canadian citizens and permanent residents of Canada working in Diplomatic Missions as locally engaged staff or in accredited international organizations.

Footer

Date Modified:
2013-05-03

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

L'impôt sur le revenu des particuliers, à l'impôt sur les gains en capital et à d'autres impôts applicables à des revenus de source canadienne

Note Circulaire No XDC-0346 du 20 avril 2006

Le Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Bureau du protocole) présente ses compliments à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de Mission diplomatique et Chargés d'affaires a.i. accrédités au Canada et a l'honneur d'appeler leur attention sur les modalités de l'assujettissement à l'impôt sur le revenu des particuliers, à l'impôt sur les gains en capital et à d'autres impôts applicables à des revenus de source canadienne [Note 1].

Le Ministère souhaite rappeler, tout particulièrement, que la Loi sur les missions étrangères et les organisations internationales ne renferme aucune disposition ayant pour effet d'exempter d'impôt les revenus de source canadienne des représentants étrangers au Canada. Il est entendu que seuls sont exemptés d'impôt les salaires et traitements versés par l'État d'envoi aux membres dûment accrédités de la représentation d'une mission. Aussi, s'agissant des non-résidents, sont considérés comme imposables les revenus et dividendes prélevés sur des comptes bancaires et des investissements dont est titulaire un représentant étranger au Canada, ou les revenus d'entreprises commerciales (c.-à-d. revenus locatifs), ou ceux de la vente ou de la cession d'un bien immeuble. Ces prescriptions sont conformes à l'article 34 de la Convention de Vienne sur les relations diplomatiques et à l'article 49 de la Convention de Vienne sur les relations consulaires.

Le type et le montant de l'impôt auquel est assujetti un représentant étranger, comme l'obligation de déclarer des revenus à l'Agence du revenu du Canada, varient suivant la nature des revenus prélevés au Canada et l'application des traités existants visant à éliminer la double imposition. En conséquence, le Ministère invite tous les intéressés à prendre contact avec le Bureau international des services fiscaux (BISF) pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, 1-800-959-8281, ou visitez les non-résidents du Canada.

S'agissant de la déclaration des revenus tirés d'une activité professionnelle, le Ministère croit opportun de rappeler aux Chefs de Mission diplomatique que, en règle générale, il est interdit à un représentant étranger au Canada d'exercer une activité lucrative à titre particulier et en dehors de ses fonctions officielles, sauf dans des circonstances exceptionnelles, pour lesquelles une autorisation écrite aura été délivrée.

Le Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Bureau du protocole) saisit cette occasion pour renouveler aux Chefs de Mission diplomatique et Chargés d'affaires a.i. accrédités au Canada les assurances de sa très haute considération.

OTTAWA, le 20 avril 2006


1 La présente note ne s'applique pas aux citoyens canadiens ni aux résidents permanents au Canada qui travaillent dans des missions diplomatiques, en qualité d'employés recrutés sur place, ou pour des organisations internationales dûment accréditées.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2013-05-03