Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Impaired Driving Policy

Circular Note No. XDC-0427 of March 14, 2001

Most recent date of change: August 1, 2010

Update to this Note

Table of Contents

  1. Background
  2. Blood Alcohol Concentration
  3. Policy Relating to Impaired Driving or Other Serious Traffic Offences
  4. Subsequent Actions
  5. Criminal Charges and Court Process
  6. Repeated Incidents or Other Serious Traffic Offences
  7. Other Considerations

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade presents its compliments to Their Excellencies the Heads of Missions accredited to Canada and to the international organizations established in Canada, and has the honour to inform them of the Department’s revised policy with respect to instances where persons with diplomatic, consular or equivalent status in Canada are alleged to be driving while impaired, or to have committed other serious traffic offences.

1. Background

The Department reminds Heads of Missions that, pursuant to Article 41 (1) of the and Article 55 (1) of the Vienna Convention on Consular Relations, it is the duty1 of all persons enjoying privileges and immunities to respect the laws and regulations of the receiving State, without prejudice to their privileges and immunities. The Department’s revised policy is based upon that principle, as well as the position that the operation of a motor vehicle by persons enjoying privileges and immunities in Canada is not a right but a privilege. In implementing the policy, the Department will be guided by the paramount importance of ensuring the protection and safety of Canadians and others in Canada including members of the diplomatic community. At the same time, the Department reiterates the importance it attaches to the Vienna Conventions and its commitment to respect the obligations contained therein.

2. Blood Alcohol Concentration

In Canada, the maximum legal blood alcohol concentration for fully licensed drivers is 80 milligrams of alcohol in 100 millilitres of blood (0.08). Driving with a blood alcohol concentration in excess of 0.08 is a criminal offence.

A more detailed look at the Province of Ontario

Notwithstanding the above, every novice driver and young driver must, as a condition of his or her driver's licence, maintain a blood alcohol concentration level of zero while driving in Ontario. The expression "young driver" means a driver who is under 22 years old, whether or not he or she resides in Ontario. Every novice driver or young driver who gets behind the wheel with a blood alcohol concentration in excess of zero contravenes Ontario law and is liable to a fine of not less than $60 and not more than $500. In addition, the novice driver faces the suspension, cancellation or change of his or her driver's licence, while the young driver faces a 30-day licence suspension.

Also, in Ontario, fully licensed drivers who are caught driving with a blood alcohol concentration from 0.05 to 0.08 ("warn range"), face a 3-day licence suspension for a first occurrence, a 7-day suspension for a second occurrence and a 30-day suspension for subsequent occurrences.

To know more about blood alcohol concentration levels under the laws of Ontario or of other provinces, consult the relevant provincial ministry of transportation.

3. Policy Relating to Impaired Driving or Other Serious Traffic Offences

Stopping of Vehicles with Diplomatic Licence Plates

On reasonable suspicion that the driver of a vehicle bearing diplomatic or consular licence plates has consumed alcohol or is otherwise impaired, police forces may stop the vehicle and request the driver to present identification2. Persons enjoying consular immunity3 are covered by the policy set out in the Department’s Note No. XDC-4146 and may be required to submit to roadside screening and breathalyser tests. Notwithstanding the privileges and immunities the driver may enjoy, police forces may take such reasonable measures as are necessary to ensure that the driver is not a threat to public safety or to himself or herself. Such measures may include requests to establish whether the person’s co-ordination or faculties are affected by alcohol or other substances. In the event that a police officer assesses that the driver is impaired, the officer will so inform the driver and may request that he or she take a roadside screening test or a breathalyser test. Persons enjoying diplomatic immunity are not obligated to submit to such tests, but may nevertheless wish to agree to the request in order to establish that they are not driving while impaired. If the police officer continues to have a reasonable suspicion that the driver is impaired, he or she will take all reasonable measures to prevent the driver from operating the vehicle. Such measures may include removal of the keys and preventing the driver from re-entering the vehicle. The police will offer assistance to the driver to find an alternative means to continue his or her journey by, inter alia, contacting the Mission or a member of the driver’s family, or arranging for public transportation. The police will not permit a driver, for his or her own safety, to leave the area where the vehicle has been stopped unless that person is in the care of another person willing and able to assume that responsibility. For public safety reasons and the protection of the vehicle, the police may arrange for the vehicle to be moved to a safe location. The Department will not intervene in cases where police forces have prevented a person with diplomatic status from driving, where the police have acted in accordance with this policy and to protect public safety.

4. Subsequent Actions

In every case where the Department receives a police report on an incident where police forces have intervened to prevent a person enjoying diplomatic immunity4 from driving in the interests of public safety, the Department will contact the relevant Head of Mission in writing and inform him or her of the incident and the allegations of the police. The Department will inform the Head of Mission that police forces or other authorities may lay criminal charges. The Department will request in writing that the sending State waive administrative immunity so that the Department may hold the licence of the individual concerned and contact the relevant authorities to seek the suspension of that licence for a period of up to one year. If the sending State agrees to waive immunity for this purpose, a note will be required from the Mission to the Department confirming the waiver of immunity. Alternatively, the Department may accept a written undertaking by the Head of Mission that he or she will ensure that the person concerned will not drive in Canada for a period of up to one year. In the event that a person, whose privilege to drive in Canada has been suspended, fails to respect this condition of his or her continued assignment in Canada, the Department will immediately request that person’s recall.

5. Criminal Charges and Court Process

In cases of impaired driving or other major traffic offences, police forces have been encouraged by the Department to lay charges under the Criminal Code of Canada, regardless of the immunity of the person concerned. In accordance with the Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations5, police forces shall not detain or arrest a person with diplomatic status6.

Should a person enjoying diplomatic immunity7 be charged with impaired driving or another major traffic offence, the Department will contact the Head of Mission to formally request the sending State to waive immunity8. In the event that the sending State waives immunity, the Department will notify the appropriate local authorities. The Department expects that the person charged will comply with the decision of the court where the matter is adjudicated, including the payment of any fines and the completion of any mandatory education or treatment programs.

Should the sending State decide not to waive the immunity, the Department may accept a written undertaking by the Head of Mission that he or she will ensure that the person charged will not drive in Canada for a period of at least one year.

In the event that a person, whose privilege to drive in Canada has been suspended, fails to respect this condition of his or her continued assignment to Canada, the Department will immediately request his or her recall.

In the absence of an acceptance of one of the aforementioned options, the Department will request the recall of the individual.

6. Repeated Incidents or Other Serious Traffic Offences

If a person enjoying diplomatic privileges and immunities9 is involved in a second instance of impaired driving, or is charged with a traffic offence involving death or injury, the Department will request the relevant Mission to waive immunity. If the sending State decides not to waive immunity, the Department will require the person concerned to leave Canada. In some exceptional circumstances, the Department may require the individual to leave Canada even in cases where the sending State agrees to waive immunity.

7. Other Considerations

The Department recognizes that the vast majority of persons enjoying privileges and immunities in Canada comply with their duty to respect local laws. However, the failure of even a small minority of persons to respect Canadian laws can lead to tragic consequences for Canadians and the persons involved. For this reason, the Department is determined to work closely with police forces to implement rigorously the policy on impaired driving. In this regard, the police will be informed in writing of any action taken by the Department pursuant to a report received by the Office of Protocol related to impaired driving or other serious traffic offences. The Department requests that Missions review the revised policy with their personnel across Canada to ensure that the policy is clearly understood. The Department wishes to inform Heads of Missions that their co-operation in ensuring that this policy is fully respected is both appreciated and expected. The Department will consider transgressions of this policy by persons accredited to Canada, including failures to respect undertakings made pursuant to this policy, as the responsibility of the Head of Mission. The Office of Protocol would be pleased to provide any further clarification of this policy.

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade avails itself of this opportunity to renew to Their Excellencies the Heads of Missions accredited to Canada and to the international organizations established in Canada the assurances of its highest consideration.

Ottawa, March 14, 2001


1 This duty is also referenced in headquarters agreements between the Government of Canada and the various international organizations.

2 Identification includes a valid driver's licence and the federal Identity Card issued by the Office of Protocol.

3 In Canada, consular officers, including consuls generals, as well as certain designated officials of international organizations enjoy limited or functional immunity, restricted to those actions arising from their official functions.

4 In instances where the person enjoys limited immunity and is amenable to the jurisdiction of the Canadian judicial and/or administrative authorities, the Department will request in writing that the sending State return the licence of the individual concerned so that the Department may hold it and contact the relevant authorities to seek the suspension of that licence for a period of up to one year. Alternatively, the Department may accept a written undertaking by the Head of Mission or Head of Inernational Organization that he or she will ensure that the person concerned will not drive in Canada for a period of up to one year. In the event that a person, whose privilege to drive in Canada has been suspended, fails to respect this condition during his or her continued assignment in Canada, the Department will immediately request that person’s recall.

5 Or other applicable treaties, such as headquarters agreements, in the case of international organizations.

6 As for consular officers, and in keeping with the terms of the Vienna Convention on Consular Relations, such persons cannot be arrested or detained pending trial unless a judicial warrant has been obtained in advance and the charge is for a “grave crime”.

7 Should a person enjoying limited or functional immunity (i.e. all those who cannot claim as a right the immunity from local tribunals generally accorded to diplomatic agents) be charged with impaired driving or another major traffic offence, the Department will contact the Head of Mission or Head of International Organization. The Department, while of the view that most instances of driving, including the journey to and from work, are not considered as “official acts” to which immunity applies, recognizes that the determination as to whether such act was indeed performed in pursuance of official functions rests with the appropriate judicial authority, thus opening the door to immunity being affirmed in court. Notwithstanding, the Department expects that the person charged will appear before the court (to the extent that the court has determined that it holds jurisdiction to adjudicate the case), and comply with the decision of the court where the matter is adjudicated, including the payment of any fines and the completion of any mandatory education or treatment programs. In rare cases where the court has determined that immunity applies to the act, the Department will follow the course of action comparable to that which is described for diplomatic immunity and request a waiver of such immunity.

8 The Canadian practice, when requesting the waiver of diplomatic immunity, is to request a waiver for the purpose of both court appearance and execution of the sentence.

9 Where a person enjoying more limited or functional immunity is involved in a second instance of impaired driving, or is charged with a traffic offence involving death or injury, the Department expects that the person charged will appear before the competent authorities and comply with the decision of the court where the matter is adjudicated, including the payment of any fines and the completion of any mandatory education or treatment programs. The Department may also require the individual to leave Canada.

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-10-19

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Politique sur la conduite d’un véhicule avec facultés affaiblies

Note circulaire No XDC-0427 du 14 mars 2001

Date plus récente des changements : le 1 août 2010

Mise à jour de cette Note

Table des matières

  1. Contexte
  2. Le taux d'alcoolémie
  3. Politique sur la conduite automobile avec facultés affaiblies et autres délits graves de conduite automobile
  4. Mesures subséquentes
  5. Inculpation au criminel et procédures judiciaire
  6. Récidive ou perpétration de délits de conduite automobile graves
  7. Autres considérations

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international présente ses compliments à Leurs Excellences les chefs des missions accréditées au Canada et aux organisations internationales établies au Canada; il a l’honneur de les informer de sa nouvelle politique envers le personnel diplomatique et consulaire, et envers tous ceux et celles ayant un statut équivalent au Canada, qui seraient présumés avoir conduit un véhicule avec facultés affaiblies ou d’avoir commis d’autres délits graves de conduite d’un véhicule.

1. Contexte

Le Ministère rappelle aux chefs des missions qu’en vertu de l’article 41 (1) et de l’article 55 (1) de la Convention de Vienne sur les relations consulaires, toutes les personnes qui bénéficient de privilèges et d’immunités ont le devoir1 de respecter les lois et les règlements de l’État accréditaire, sans préjudice de ces privilèges et immunités. La nouvelle politique du Ministère se fonde sur ce principe, mais elle rappelle aussi que la conduite automobile par celles et ceux qui jouissent de privilèges et d’immunités au Canada n’est pas un droit mais un privilège. Dans la mise en oeuvre de cette politique, l’importance primordiale d’assurer la protection et la sécurité des Canadiens et de toute personne se trouvant au Canada, y compris celles des membres du corps diplomatique, guidera le Ministère. Le Ministère n’en réitère pas moins qu’il accorde la plus haute importance aux conventions de Vienne et qu’il respectera, conformément aux engagements pris, les obligations qui y sont stipulées.

2. Le taux d'alcoolémie

Partout au Canada, le taux d'alcoolémie maximum légal pour un conducteur jouissant de tous les privilèges associés au permis de conduire est de 80 milligrammes d'alcool dans 100 millilitres de sang, sans un taux de 0,08. Quiconque conduit un véhicule lorsque son taux d'alcoolémie est supérieur à 0,08 comment un délit criminel.

Quelques précisions pour l'Ontario

Nonobstant ce qui précède, le permis de conduire d'un conducteur débutant et d'un jeune conducteur en Ontario est automatiquement assujetti à la condition que celui-ci ait un taux d'alcoolémie de zéro lors de la conduite automobile. L'expression « jeune conducteur » veut dire un conducteur âgé de moins de 22 ans, ayant résidence en Ontario ou hors cette province. Commet une infraction à la législation ontarienne un conducteur débutant ou un jeune conducteur au volant ayant un taux d'alcoolémie supérieur à zéro, passible d'une amende d'au moins 60 $ et d'au plus 500 $. En plus, le permis de conduire du conducteur débutant peut être suspendu, annulé ou modifié quant à sa catégorie et celui du jeune conducteur peut être suspendu pendant 30 jours.

Aussi, en Ontario, les conducteurs jouissant de tous les privilèges associés au permis de conduire qui sont pris avec un taux d'alcoolémie entre 0,05 et 0,08 (« fourchette d'avertissement ») sont passibles d'une suspension du permis pour une période de 3 jours en cas de première infraction, pendant 7 jours pour une seconde infraction, et pendant 30 jours en cas de troisième infraction ou d'infraction ultérieure.

Pour en savoir davantage sur le taux d'alcoolémie aux termes des lois ontariennes ou celles d'une autre province, il faut joinde le ministère provincial des transports compétent.

3. Politique sur la conduite automobile avec facultés affaiblies et autres délits graves de conduite automobile

Contrôle routier des véhicules portant des plaques d’immatriculation diplomatiques

Dans le cas où il est raisonnable de soupçonner que le conducteur d’un véhicule portant une plaque diplomatique ou consulaire a consommé de l’alcool ou que, pour quelque autre raison, ses facultés sont affaiblies, les autorités policières peuvent intimer au conducteur l’ordre d’arrêter le véhicule et lui demander de s’identifier2. Les titulaires de l’immunité consulaire3 sont régis par la politique établie par la Note du Ministère no XDC-4146; ils peuvent être requis de se soumettre à un examen de dépistage et à passer l’alcootest, sur place. Quels que soient les privilèges et les immunités dont jouit un conducteur, les autorités policières sont en droit de prendre les mesures raisonnables nécessaires pour l’empêcher de devenir un danger pour la sécurité des autres ou pour lui ou elle-même. Ces mesures peuvent aller jusqu’à exiger d’une personne qu’elle démontre que sa coordination ou ses facultés ne sont pas affectées par l’alcool ou d’autres substances. Dans le cas où un agent de police serait d’avis que les facultés d’un conducteur sont affaiblies, il peut l’en informer et le prier de se soumettre à un examen de dépistage ou de passer l’alcootest, sur place. Les titulaires de l’immunité diplomatique ne sont pas obligés de se soumettre à ces examens et tests, mais ils peuvent accepter de les subir, afin d’établir qu’ils ne conduisaient pas en état de facultés affaiblies. Si, néanmoins, il est raisonnable, pour l’agent de police, de continuer à penser que les facultés du conducteur sont affaiblies, il peut prendre toutes les mesures raisonnables pour empêcher ce conducteur de conduire son véhicule, y compris lui enlever ses clés et l’empêcher de remonter dans son véhicule. Le policier offrira son concours au conducteur, pour l’aider à poursuivre sa route par d’autres moyens, soit, par exemple, en communiquant avec sa mission, ou avec un membre de sa famille, soit en prenant les arrangements nécessaires pour lui permettre de profiter d’un moyen de transport public. Les autorités policières n’autoriseront pas un conducteur, pour sa propre sécurité, à quitter les lieux où son véhicule a été intercepté sans qu’il ne soit sous l’autorité d’un tiers ayant accepté et étant en mesure d’assumer la responsabilité de sa personne. Pour des raisons de sécurité publique et de protection du véhicule, les autorités policières peuvent prendre des arrangements pour faire remorquer le véhicule en lieu sûr. Le Ministère n’interviendra pas dans les cas où les autorités policières n’auront pas laissé conduire une personne possédant un statut diplomatique si les policiers se sont conformés à la présente politique et n’ont agi que pour la protection de la sécurité publique.

4. Mesures subséquentes

Dans tous les cas où le Ministère reçoit un rapport de police au sujet d’un incident où des autorités policières sont intervenues au nom de la sécurité publique pour empêcher de conduire une personne jouissant d’une immunité diplomatique4, le Ministère communiquera avec le Chef de la mission en cause par écrit afin de l’informer de l’incident et des allégations de la police. Le Ministère informera également le Chef de la mission que les autorités policières ou d’autres autorités pourraient vouloir porter des accusations au criminel. Le Ministère demandera par écrit à l’État accréditant de lever son immunité administrative, afin que le Ministère puisse retenir le permis de conduire de l’intéressé, communiquer avec les autorités compétentes et requérir la suspension du permis pour une période maximale d’un an. Si l’État accréditant accepte de lever l’immunité à cette fin, la Mission devra faire parvenir au Ministère une note confirmant la levée de l’immunité. Ou encore, le Ministère pourra accepter l’engagement, pris par écrit, du Chef de mission qu’il s’assurera que l’intéressé ne conduira pas un véhicule au Canada pour une période maximale d’un an. Dans les cas où l’intéressé, dont le privilège de conduire au Canada aura été suspendu, ne se conformera pas à cette condition du maintien de son affectation au Canada, le Ministère demandera le rappel immédiat de l’intéressé.

5. Inculpation au criminel et procédures judiciaire

Dans les cas de conduite avec facultés affaiblies, ou de perpétration d’autres délits majeurs de conduite d’un véhicule, le Ministère recommande aux autorités policières de porter des accusations en vertu du Code criminel du Canada, sans égard aux immunités que possède l’intéressé. Conformément à la Convention de Vienne sur les relations diplomatiques5, les forces de police ne gardent à vue ni n’arrêtent aucune personne ayant un statut diplomatique6.

Dans le cas où une personne possédant l’immunité diplomatique7 sera inculpée de conduite d’un véhicule avec facultés affaiblies, ou de quelque autre délit majeur de conduite d’un véhicule, le Ministère communiquera avec le Chef de sa mission et demandera officiellement que l’État accréditant lève son immunité8. Si l’État accréditant lève l’immunité, le Ministère en informe les autorités locales compétentes. Le Ministère s’attend à ce que l’inculpé se conforme alors à la décision du tribunal saisi et, éventuellement, à toute condamnation au paiement d’une amende ou à suivre obligatoirement quelque programme éducatif ou un traitement.

Dans le cas où l’État accréditant décidera de ne pas lever l’immunité, le Ministère pourra accepter un engagement, pris par écrit, du Chef de la mission déclarant qu’il s’assurera que l’inculpé ne conduira pas au Canada pour une période maximale d’un an.

Dans le cas où une personne dont le privilège de conducteur aura été suspendu au Canada ne se conformera pas à cette condition du maintien de son affectation au Canada, le Ministère demandera son rappel immédiat.

Dans les cas où aucune des options précitées ne sera acceptée, le Ministère demandera le rappel immédiat de l’intéressé.

6. Récidive ou perpétration de délits de conduite automobile graves

Dans le cas où une personne titulaire de privilèges et d’immunités diplomatiques9 sera interpelée une seconde fois pour conduite avec facultés affaiblies, ou si elle est inculpée d’un délit de conduite automobile ayant causé la mort ou des lésions corporelles, le Ministère demandera à la Mission en cause la levée de l’immunité. Si l’État accréditant refuse de lever l’immunité, le Ministère demandera le départ de cette personne. Dans des cas exceptionnels, le Ministère pourra demander le départ de l’intéressé même si l’État accréditant a accepté de lever l’immunité.

7. Autres considérations

Le Ministère reconnaît que la vaste majorité de celles et de ceux qui jouissent de privilèges et d’immunités au Canada se conforment, comme c’est leur devoir, aux lois locales. Mais qu’une petite minorité ne respecte pas les lois canadiennes et de graves conséquences peuvent s’ensuivre, aux dépens de Canadiens et de toutes les personnes impliquées. Aussi le Ministère est-il décidé à travailler en étroite collaboration avec les autorités policières, afin que sa politique sur la conduite automobile avec facultés affaiblies soit rigoureusement suivie. Les autorités policières seront tenus informés par écrit de toute mesure prise par le Ministère pour donner suite aux rapports qu’aura reçus le Bureau du protocole au sujet d’un délit de conduite d’un véhicule avec facultés affaiblies ou de tout autre délit grave de conduite automobile. Les missions sont priées de revoir la nouvelle politique avec leur personnel, partout au Canada, afin de s’assurer qu’elle est bien comprise. Le Ministère tient à informer les chefs des missions que leur coopération est à la fois attendue et appréciée : ils voudront bien veiller à ce que cette politique soit pleinement respectée. Le Ministère considérera que les transgressions de cette politique par tous ceux et celles qui sont accrédités au Canada, y compris l’inobservation des engagements qui pourraient être pris sur son fondement, comme étant de la responsabilité du Chef de la mission. Le Bureau du protocole, par ailleurs, se fera un plaisir de répondre à toute demande d’éclaircissement de cette politique.

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international saisit cette occasion pour renouveler à Leurs Excellences les chefs des missions accréditées au Canada et aux organisations internationales établies au Canada les assurances de sa plus haute considération.

Ottawa, le 14 mars 2001


1 Les accords de siège entre le gouvernement du Canada et les diverses organisations internationales comportent également une référence à ce devoir.

2 Les pièces d'identité comprennent un permis de conduire valide et la carte d'identité fédérale émise par le Bureau du protocole.

3 Au Canada, les fonctionnaires consulaires, y compris les consuls généraux, ainsi que certains membres désignés des organisations internationales, jouissent d'immunité fonctionnelle ou limitée, celle-ci étant rattachée au seuls actes accomplis dans l'exercice des fonctions officielles.

4 Advenant qu'une personne ne jouisse que d'immunité limitée ou fonctionnelle et soit donc justiciable des autorités judiciaires et administratives canadienne, le Ministère demandera par écrit à ce que l'État d'envoi lui retourne le permis de conduire pour une période maximale d'un an. Ou encore, le Ministère pourra accepter l’engagement, pris par écrit, du Chef de mission qu’il s’assurera que l’intéressé ne conduira pas un véhicule au Canada pour une période maximale d’un an. Dans l'éventualité où l’intéressé, dont le privilège de conduire au Canada aura été suspendu, ne se conformera pas à cette condition du maintien de son affectation au Canada, le Ministère demandera le rappel immédiat de l’intéressé.

5 Ou en vertu d'autres traités comme les accords de siège dans le cas des organisations internationales.

6 S'agissant des fonctionnaires consulaires, et considérant les dispositions de la Convention de Vienne sur les Relations consulaires, ceux-ci ne peuvent être mis en état d’arrestation ou de détention qu'en cas de crime grave et qu'à la suite d’une décision de l’autorité judiciaire compétente.

7 Advenant qu'une personne ne jouisse que d'immunité limitée ou fonctionnelle (et soit donc judiciable des autorités judiciaires locales, contrairement aux agents diplomatiques) soit inculpée de conduite d’un véhicule avec facultés affaiblies, ou de quelque autre délit majeur de conduite d’un véhicule, le Ministère communiquera avec le Chef de sa mission. Le Ministère, bien que d'avis que l'immunité fonctionnelle ne joue pas dans la plupart des cas de circulation routière, y compris lors de la navette pour le travail, reconnaît néanmoins qu'il appartient aux autorités judiciaires compétentes de trancher en la matière et, le cas échéant, d'accepter que l'immunité soit évoquée. Nonobstant, le Ministère s'attend à ce que l’inculpé comparaisse devant le tribunal saisi et se conforme alors à sa décision et, éventuellement, à toute condamnation au paiement d’une amende ou à suivre obligatoirement quelque programme éducatif ou un traitement. Dans le cas rare où le tribunal détermine que l'immunité prévue pour les personnes bénéficiant d'immunité fonctionnelle s'étend au cas d'infraction en question, le Ministère demandera une levée d'immunité au même titre qu'il le fait dans le cas des personnes jouissant d'immunité diplomatique.

8 Conformément à la pratique canadienne, une demande de levée d'immunité, le cas échéant, comprendra la levée pour les fins de comparution en cour et celle pour l'exécution de la sentence.

9 Advenant qu'une personne ne jouisse que d'immunité limitée ou fonctionnelle soit interpelée une seconde fois pour conduite avec facultés affaiblies, ou si elle est inculpée d’un délit de conduite automobile ayant causé la mort ou des lésions corporelles, le Ministère s'attend à ce que l'inculpé comparaisse devant les autorités locales compétentes et se conforme alors à la décision du tribunal saisi, et, éventuellement, à toute condamnation au paiement d’une amende ou à suivre obligatoirement quelque programme éducatif ou un traitement. Le Ministère pourrait également demander le rappel de la personne.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-10-19