Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Policy on the Accreditation of Service Staff

Circular Note NO. XDC-0531 of April 27, 2005

Repealed on April 2, 2012

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade presents its compliments to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and Chargés d'affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada and has the honour to update and clarify its policy governing the accreditation of "members of the service staff" as referred to in Articles 1(g) of the Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations (VCDR) and 1(f) of the Vienna Convention on Consular Relations (VCCR).

This note supersedes Part I(1)(a) of the Department's circular note XDC-2482 of February 10, 1999 and should be read in conjunction with s. 3 of circular note XDC-1760 of October 30, 1997.

Members of the service staff are defined as either members of the staff of the mission in the domestic service of the mission, which includes the official residence, or those employed in the domestic service of a consular post. These persons are paid directly by, and considered as representatives of, the sending State, and should therefore not be presented as members of a particular household or suite for the purpose of accreditation. Further, given Articles 1(i) of the VCDR and 1(j) of the VCCR, the Department would like to emphasize that long-standing Canadian policy does not provide for the accreditation of members of the service staff who exercise their functions outside mission or consular premises and/or reside in the residence of a diplomatic agent or consular officer.

The Department of Foreign Affairs takes this opportunity to renew to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and Chargés d'affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada the assurances of its highest consideration.

OTTAWA, April 27, 2005

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-10-02

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Politique sur l'accréditation des membres du personnel de service

Note circulaire NO XDC-0531 du 27 avril 2005

Annulée le 2 avril 2012

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères présente ses compliments à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de Missions diplomatiques et les Chargés d'affaires a.i., accrédités auprès du Canada et a l'honneur d'actualiser et clarifier sa politique sur l'accréditation des « membres du personnel de service », auxquels réfèrent les Articles 1(g) de la Convention de Vienne sur les relations diplomatiques (CVRD) et 1(f) de la Convention de Vienne sur les relations consulaires (CVRC).

Cette note remplace la Partie I(1)(a) de la note circulaire du Ministère XDC-2482, du 10 février 1999, et fait suite à la s. 3 de la note circulaire XDC-1760 du 30 octobre 1997.

L'expression « membres du personnel de service » désigne soit les membres du personnel de la mission affectés au service domestique, incluant la résidence officielle, ou ceux employés au service domestique d'un poste consulaire. Ces personnes, payées directement par l'État d'envoi, sont considérées comme ses représentants et conséquemment ne peuvent être présentées comme membres particuliers de la famille ou de la maisonnée à des fins d'accréditation. De plus, en vertu des Articles 1(i) de la CVRD et 1(j) de la CVRC , le Ministère souhaiterait préciser que de longue date la politique canadienne a été de ne pas accorder l'accréditation aux membres du personnel de service qui exerçaient leurs fonctions hors des locaux de la mission ou du poste consulaire et/ou qui résidaient à la résidence d'un agent diplomatique ou d'un fonctionnaire consulaire.

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères saisit cette occasion pour renouveler à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de Missions diplomatiques et les Chargés d'affaires a.i. accrédités au Canada les assurances de sa très haute considération.

OTTAWA, le 27 avril 2005

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-10-02