Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Births in Canada of Children of Foreign Representatives

Repealed on August 31, 2012

Circular Note No. XDC-0543 of March 22, 2010

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (Office of Protocol) presents its compliments to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and Chargés d'affaires, a.i., and Heads of International Organizations accredited to Canada, and has the honour to remind them of Canada's existing policy concerning the births of children of accredited foreign representatives on bilateral and multilateral postings in Canada. This Note supersedes all previous Circular Notes concerning this subject.

It would be greatly appreciated if the content of this note could be quickly brought to the attention of all personnel on assignment in Canada.

Mandatory Notification of Births

When a child of a foreign representative is born in Canada, the mission or international organization is required to notify his/her name to the Office of Protocol, along with a copy of the Live Statement of Birth or other relevant documentation. This should be done within thirty (30) days of the birth.

Missions and international organizations should also submit a request for the accreditation of the newborn as soon as possible, along with a copy of the Long Form Birth Certificate (Certified).

Are Children of Foreign Representatives, born in Canada, Canadian Citizens by Birth?

Children born in Canada of foreign representatives enjoying special status under the Foreign Missions and International Organizations Act (FMIOA) and covered by section 3(2) of the Citizenship Act do not acquire citizenship by virtue of their birth and thus are not entitled to a Canadian Passport. The text of the above section is found in Appendix A of this Note. While such children would normally hold a provincial birth certificate, it is important to note that a birth certificate does not confer any rights of citizenship and does no more than provide evidence of the circumstances of birth in Canada.

The Department reminds Heads of Mission and International Organizations that, as citizenship is not accorded to children born in Canada falling under subsection 3(2) of the Citizenship Act, they and/or their parents acting on their behalf must not apply for a Canadian Passport or a Canadian Citizenship Card, which would be considered unacceptable conduct.

However, like with other foreign nationals not holding Canadian citizenship, children born in Canada of foreign representatives who are not Canadians by birth and no longer accredited may eventually be naturalized Canadian citizens, subject to relevant provisions of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act and once the residency obligations as set out in section 5 of the Citizenship Act are met.

Contact Information

For inquiries about this Note, missions and international organizations can contact the Immigration and Citizenship Liaison Officer in the Department's Office of Protocol at 613-992-0889. Also, in the case of any child who has previously been issued a Canadian Passport and who is not a Canadian citizen by birth or was erroneously advised that he/she is a Canadian citizen by birth, missions and international organizations must contact the above liaison officer in order to discuss steps to surrender the Canadian Passport.

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (Office of Protocol) avails itself of this opportunity to renew to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and Chargés d'affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada, and Heads of International Organizations accredited to Canada, the assurances of its highest consideration.

Ottawa, March 22, 2010

PART I of the Citizenship Act

The Right to Citizenship

  • 3.

    • (1) Subject to this Act, a person is a citizen if

      • (a) the person was born in Canada after February 14, 1977;

      • (b) the person was born outside Canada after February 14, 1977 and at the time of his birth one of his parents, other than a parent who adopted him, was a citizen;

      • (c) the person has been granted or acquired citizenship pursuant to section 5 or 11 and, in the case of a person who is fourteen years of age or over on the day that he is granted citizenship, he has taken the oath of citizenship;

      • (d) the person was a citizen immediately before February 15, 1977; or

      • (e) the person was entitled, immediately before February 15, 1977, to become a citizen under paragraph 5(1)(b) of the former Act.

    • (2) Paragraph (1)(a) does not apply to a person if, at the time of his birth, neither of his parents was a citizen or lawfully admitted to Canada for permanent residence and either of his parents was

      • (a) a diplomatic or consular officer or other representative or employee in Canada of a foreign government;

      • (b) an employee in the service of a person referred to in paragraph (a); or

      • (c) an officer or employee in Canada of a specialized agency of the United Nations or an officer or employee in Canada of any other international organization to whom there are granted, by or under any Act of Parliament, diplomatic privileges and immunities certified by the Minister of Foreign Affairs to be equivalent to those granted to a person or persons referred to in paragraph (a).

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-08-31

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Naissances au Canada des enfants des représentants étrangers

Annulée le 31 août 2012

Note circulaire No XDC-0543 du 22 mars 2010

Le Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Bureau du Protocole) présente ses compliments à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de Mission diplomatique et les Chargés d'affaires a.i. accrédités auprès du Canada ainsi qu'aux Chefs d'organisations internationales accréditées auprès du Canada et a l'honneur de leur rappeler la politique en vigueur concernant les enfants nés de représentants étrangers accrédités à des postes bilatéraux ou multilatéraux au Canada. La présente remplace toutes les Notes circulaires antérieures à ce sujet.

Le Ministère serait très reconnaissant aux missions et organisations internationales de bien vouloir informer rapidement tout leur personnel en poste au Canada de la teneur de la présente Note.

Déclaration obligatoire des naissances

À la naissance au Canada d'un enfant d'un représentant étranger, la mission ou l'organisation internationale doit communiquer au Bureau du Protocole son nom ainsi qu'une copie de la Déclaration de naissance vivante ou autre document pertinent. Cette démarche doit être effectuée dans les trente (30) jours suivant la naissance.

Les missions et organisations internationales doivent aussi présenter le plus tôt possible une demande d'accréditation pour le nouveau-né, assortie d'une copie du certificat de naissance détaillé (authentifié).

Les enfants nés au Canada de représentants étrangers sont-ils citoyens canadiens de naissance?

Les enfants nés au Canada de représentants étrangers jouissant d'un statut spécial en vertu de la Loi sur les missions étrangères et les organisations internationales et visés par le paragraphe 3(2) de la Loi sur la citoyenneté n'acquièrent pas la citoyenneté du fait de leur naissance et n'ont donc pas droit au passeport canadien. Le texte du paragraphe en question est reproduit à l'appendice A de la présente Note. Bien que ces enfants soient normalement titulaires d'un certificat de naissance provincial, il est important de noter que celui-ci ne leur confère aucun droit à la citoyenneté, ne faisant qu'attester les circonstances de leur naissance au Canada.

Le Ministère rappelle aux chefs de mission et d'organisations internationales que, la citoyenneté n'étant pas accordée aux enfants nés au Canada qui sont visés par le paragraphe 3(2) de la Loi sur la citoyenneté, ces enfants ne doivent pas faire la demande d'un passeport canadien ni d'une carte de citoyenneté canadienne, et que leurs parents ne doivent pas la faire pour eux, ce qui serait considéré comme une conduite inacceptable.

Par ailleurs, comme tout ressortissant étranger ne possédant pas la citoyenneté canadienne, les enfants nés au Canada de représentants étrangers qui ne sont pas Canadiens de naissance peuvent, dès lors qu'ils ne sont plus accrédités, être naturalisés à terme, en vertu des dispositions pertinentes de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés et une fois remplies les obligations de résidence prescrites à l'article 5 de la Loi sur la citoyenneté.

Point de contact

Pour tous renseignements au sujet de la présente Note, les missions et les organisations internationales peuvent s'adresser à l'agent de liaison pour l'immigration et la citoyenneté au Bureau du Protocole du Ministère, au 613-992-0889. Dans le cas des enfants auxquels un passeport canadien a déjà été délivré et qui ne sont pas citoyens canadiens de naissance ou qui ont été avisés à tort qu'ils sont citoyens canadiens de naissance, les missions et organisations internationales doivent s'adresser à cet agent de liaison afin de s'informer des mesures à prendre pour rendre le passeport canadien.

Le Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Bureau du Protocole) saisit cette occasion de renouveler à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de Mission diplomatique et les Chargés d'affaires a.i. accrédités auprès du Canada, ainsi qu'aux Chefs d'organisations internationales accréditées auprès du Canada, les assurances de sa très haute considération.

OTTAWA, le 22 mars 2010 

PARTIE I de la Loi sur la citoyenneté

Le droit à la citoyenneté

  • 3.

    • (1) Sous réserve des autres dispositions de la présente loi, a qualité de citoyen toute personne :

      • a) née au Canada après le 14 février 1977;

      • b) née à l'étranger après le 14 février 1977 d'un père ou d'une mère ayant qualité de citoyen au moment de la naissance;

      • c) ayant obtenu la citoyenneté — par attribution ou acquisition — sous le régime des articles 5 ou 11 et ayant, si elle était âgée d'au moins quatorze ans, prêté le serment de citoyenneté; c.1) ayant obtenu la citoyenneté par attribution au titre de l'article 5.1;

      • d) ayant cette qualité au 14 février 1977;

      • e) habile, au 14 février 1977, à devenir citoyen aux termes de l'alinéa 5(1)b) de l'ancienne loi;

    • (2) L'alinéa (1)a) ne s'applique pas à la personne dont, au moment de la naissance, les parents n'avaient qualité ni de citoyens ni de résidents permanents et dont le père ou la mère était :

      • a) agent diplomatique ou consulaire, représentant à un autre titre ou au service au Canada d'un gouvernement étranger;

      • b) au service d'une personne mentionnée à l'alinéa a);

      • c) fonctionnaire ou au service, au Canada, d'une organisation internationale — notamment d'une institution spécialisée des Nations Unies — bénéficiant sous le régime d'une loi fédérale de privilèges et immunités diplomatiques que le ministre des Affaires étrangères certifie être équivalents à ceux dont jouissent les personnes visées à l'alinéa a).

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-08-31