Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Accreditation: Non-Resident Foreign Repesentatives

Circular Note NO. XDC-0708 of August 1, 2008

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (Office of Protocol) presents its compliments to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and notified Charges d’affaires a.i, accredited to Canada, and has the honour to provide an updated policy relating to the accreditation of non-resident foreign representatives. The foregoing supersedes the Department’s Circular Note XDC-0490 of March 28, 2003.

Policy Statement

Canada may, by mutual consent with a sending State, allow the accreditation of non-resident representatives of that State. This policy finds its basis in Article 5(1) of the Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations which states, inter alia, that:

The sending State may, after it has given due notification to the receiving States concerned, accredit a head of mission or assign any member of the diplomatic staff as the case may be, to more than one State, unless there is express objection by any of the receiving States.

Canada may however limit the number of non-resident personnel that a foreign State can accredit. Also, where the non-resident personnel only enjoys consular (functional) immunity in the primary country of accreditation, such officer would not normally be entitled to greater immunity from jurisdiction in Canada. For example, a non-resident person based in New York who is accredited by the US Department of State as a consular officer would not be entitled to diplomatic status in Canada. Rather, the person would only be granted consular status.

Who is Entitled to Non-Resident Accreditation

Canada confers diplomatic status and related “D” Acceptances and matching Identity Cards to the following non-residents:

  1. Heads of Mission and their spouses, provided that agrément has been granted to the principal;
  2. Defence and Military Attaches and their spouses, provided that agrément has been granted to the principal;
  3. Diplomatic Agents, if such persons are carrying out their functions from a permanent mission of the sending State in the primary country of accreditation.

At times, Canada may also confer consular status and related “C” Acceptances and matching Identity Cards to non-residents who carry out their functions from a consular post of the sending State in the primary country of accreditation.

Effective immediately, in the case of non-resident Diplomatic Agents and Career Consular Officers, it is essential that such persons first obtain a single entry visa from a Canadian mission or post in the primary country of accreditation prior to the sending State submitting the accreditation request.

Related References

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International avails itself of this opportunity to renew to Their Excellencies and notified Charges d’affaires a.i. accredited to Canada the consideration.

Ottawa, August 1, 2008

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-10-02

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Accréditation : représentants étrangers non résidents

Note circulaire NO XDC-0708 du 1er août 2008

Le Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Bureau du Protocole) présente ses compliments à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de Mission diplomatique et aux Chargés d’affaires a.i. accrédités au Canada et a l’honneur de leur communiquer une politique actualisée concernant l’accréditation des représentants étrangers non résidents. La présente note remplace la Note circulaire no XDC-0490 du 28 mars 2003.

Énoncé de la politique

Le Canada peut, d’un commun accord avec un État d’envoi, permettre l’accréditation de représentants de cet État ne résidant pas au Canada. Cette politique se fonde sur l’alinéa 5(1) de la Convention de Vienne sur les relations diplomatiques, qui dispose :

L’État accréditant, après due notification aux États accréditaires intéressés, peut accréditer un chef de mission ou affecter un membre du personnel diplomatique, suivant le cas, auprès de plusieurs États, à moins que l’un des États accréditaires ne s’y oppose expressément.

Par ailleurs, le Canada peut limiter le nombre de membres de son personnel non résidents qu’un État étranger peut accréditer. En outre, un membre du personnel non résident qui ne jouit que de l’immunité consulaire (fonctionnelle) dans son principal pays d’accréditation n’a pas normalement droit à un degré d’immunité supérieur au Canada. Par exemple, un membre du personnel non résident basé à New York qui est accrédité auprès du département d’État des États-Unis en qualité de fonctionnaire consulaire n’a pas droit au statut diplomatique au Canada, mais seulement au statut consulaire.

Qui a droit à l’accréditation sans résidence?

Le Canada confère le statut diplomatique et l’acceptation « D » et délivre les cartes d’identité correspondantes aux non-résidents suivants :

  1. (i) Chefs de mission et leur conjoint, à condition que l’agrément ait été accordé au fonctionnaire;
  2. (ii) Attachés militaires et leur conjoint, à condition que l’agrément ait été accordé au fonctionnaire;
  3. (iii) Agents diplomatiques, s’il exercent leurs fonctions à une mission permanente de l’État accréditant dans leur principal pays d’accréditation.

À l’occasion, le Canada peut aussi conférer le statut consulaire et les acceptations « C » et délivrer les cartes d’identité correspondantes à des non-résidents qui exercent leurs fonctions à un poste consulaire de l’État accréditant dans leur principal pays d’accréditation.

Dorénavant, il est essentiel que les agents diplomatiques et consulaires non résidents obtiennent un visa pour un seul séjour d’une mission du Canada dans leur principal pays d’accréditation avant que l’État accréditant ne présente la demande d’accréditation.

Renvois

  • Politiques et lignes directrices administratives régissant l’accréditation des représentants étrangers (Mai 2010)
  • Note circulaire XDC-0764 du 18 octobre 2006 (Agrément - Chefs de mission)
  • Note circulaire XDC-2646 du 6 novembre 2001 (Agrément - Attachés militaires)

Le Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Bureau du protocole) saisit cette occasion pour renouveler à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de Mission diplomatique et Chargés d’affaires a.i. accrédités au Canada les assurances de sa très haute considération.

Ottawa le 1er août 2008

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-10-02