Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Introduction of the Harmonized Sales Tax (HST) in Ontario - Update

Circular Note NO. XDC-0850 of May 3, 2010

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (Office of Protocol) presents its compliments to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and notified Chargés d’affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada, and the Heads of International Organizations and other Offices established in Canada, and has the honour to refer to its Circular Note No. XDC-0034 of January 20, 2010 regarding the introduction on the Harmonized Sales Tax (HST) on purchases made in the Province of Ontario.

The Department requests in particular that diplomatic missions transmit the content of this Note to all consular posts established in Ontario and consular officers whose consular district extends to that province.

Effective July 1, 2010, the Ontario Retail Sales Tax (RST) and the federal Goods and Services Tax (GST) will be replaced by a single value added sales tax, the HST. While a number of foreign representatives, spouses and common-law partners, are currently entitled to purchase taxable goods and services in Ontario exempt from RST by showing their Identity Card to the vendor, this measure will no longer be in effect starting July 1, 2010. Identity Cards issued by the Office of Protocol following the implementation of the HST will no longer indicate “ON” on the back.

The new HST will be administered by the federal government and will have the same tax base and structure as the federal GST, with a few exceptions. The HST will have a combined rate of 13% and the exemption will be extended by reimbursement only.

Missions and International Organizations should be aware that a transition period will be in effect from May to July during which the HST will be applied on a limited number of goods and services. In other instances, some retailers may start refusing to exempt individuals from the RST at point-of-purchase. In this specific regard, individuals may wish to keep their receipts and submit a rebate claim to the Ontario Ministry of Revenue, as per the Department’s Circular Note XDC-0346 of February 27, 2006. Sources: Ontario Ministry of Revenue website for the General Application form.

How to claim a reimbursement from the HST

To find out how to claim a reimbursement from the HST, please refer to the Department’s Circular Note NO. XDC-1433 of July 3, 2008. The Canada Revenue Agency will process reimbursement claims in accordance with existing bilateral arrangements and other statutory instruments.

Mission and International Organizations, as well as their accredited members, who are currently eligible for the GST rebate program will be eligible for the HST rebate program to the extent of current conditions and limitations, unless otherwise indicated by the Department. Missions and International Organizations should refer to their respective bilateral arrangement for details about their HST rebate eligibility.

Customs privileges unaffected

All persons entitled to the privilege of importing goods duty and tax free under the Foreign Missions and International Organizations Act will be relieved of the HST at the time of release. For details regarding importation privileges, missions and international organizations should refer to the following document: MEMORANDUM D21-1-1.

Additional information with regards to eligibility for the GST/HST rebate program and applicable restrictions should be addressed to the Office of Protocol’s Privileges and Immunities Unit at 613.944.1159.

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (Office of Protocol) avails itself of this opportunity to renew to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and notified Chargés d’affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada, and to the Heads of International Organizations and other Offices established in Canada, the assurances of its highest consideration.

Ottawa, May 3, 2010

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-10-03

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Introduction de la Taxe de vente harmonisée (TVH) en Ontario : dernières mises à jour

Note circulaire N° XDC-0850 du 3 mai 2010

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Bureau du protocole) présente ses compliments à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de Mission diplomatique et les Chargés d’affaires a. i. accrédités auprès du Canada, ainsi qu’aux Chefs des organisations internationales et autres bureaux établis au Canada, et a l’honneur de se référer à sa Note circulaire XDC-0034 datée du 20 janvier 2010 au sujet de l’introduction de la Taxe de vente harmonisée (TVH) sur les achats dans la province d’Ontario.

Le Ministère s’attend à ce que les Missions diplomatiques transmettent le contenu de cette note à tous les postes consulaires établis en Ontario ainsi qu’à ceux dont la circonscription consulaire s’étend à cette province.

À compter du 1er juillet 2010, la taxe de vente au détail (TVD) sera remplacée par une taxe de vente à valeur ajoutée qui sera combinée à la taxe de vente fédérale sur les produits et services (TPS). Bien qu’un certains nombres de représentants étrangers ainsi que leurs conjoints jouissent présentement de l’exonération au point d’achat en Ontario, notamment en vertu de leur Carte d’identité fédérale, il n’en sera plus ainsi à partir du 1 juillet 2010. Après cette date, toute nouvelle carte émise par le Bureau du protocole ne comportera plus la mention « ON » au verso.

La nouvelle TVH sera administrée par le gouvernement fédéral et aura la même base et structure que la TPS, avec quelques exceptions. La TVH s’élèvera à un taux combiné de 13% et l’exonération sera octroyée par voie de remboursement seulement.

Durant la période transitoire de mai à juillet, les missions et les organisations internationales doivent s’attendre à ce que la TVH soit prélevée sur un nombre limité de produits et services. Dans d’autres cas, certains commerçants pourraient ne pas honorer l’exonération de la TVD au point d’achat. À cet égard, les individus ayant droit à cette exonération peuvent choisir de retenir leurs reçus et soumettre une demande de remboursement au ministère du Revenu de l’Ontario selon la note circulaire XDC-0346 du 27 février 2006. Sources : Site Internet du ministère du Revenu de l’Ontario et formulaire de remboursement.

Comment demander le dégrèvement de la TVH

Pour obtenir un remboursement de la TVH, il faut se référer aux informations fournies dans la Note circulaire N0. XDC-1433 datée du 3 juillet 2008. L’Agence du revenu du Canada traitera les demandes de remboursement selon les arrangements bilatéraux et autres textes réglementaires en vigueur.

À moins d’indication contraire de la part du Ministère, il est entendu que les missions et les organisations internationales, ainsi que leur personnel accrédité, qui bénéficient déjà du remboursement de la TPS pourront se prévaloir du programme de remboursement de la TVH selon les mêmes conditions et limitations. Pour en savoir davantage sur l’étendue de l’admissibilité au programme de la TVH, chaque mission et organisation internationale doit se référer aux ententes conclues avec le gouvernement canadien.

Aucun changement aux privilèges douaniers

Toutes personnes bénéficiant des privilèges d’importation de marchandises exonérées de droits et de taxes en vertu de la Loi sur les Missions étrangères et les Organisations internationales seront exonérées de la TVH au moment du dédouanement. Pour plus d’information au sujet des privilèges à l’importation, les missions étrangères et les organisations internationales peuvent consulter le document suivant : MÉMORANDUM D21-1-1

Les questions entourant le programme de remboursement de la TPS/TVH et des restrictions en vigueur peuvent être adressées à l’Unité des Privilèges et Immunités du Bureau du Protocole au 613.944.1159.

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Bureau du Protocole) saisit cette occasion pour renouveler à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de Mission diplomatique et les Chargés d’affaires a. i. accrédités auprès du Canada, ainsi qu’aux Chefs des organisations internationales et autres bureaux établis au Canada, les assurances de sa plus haute considération.

Ottawa, 3 mai 2010

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-10-03