Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Marriages Performed on Diplomatic and Consular Premises

Circular Note No. XDC-0874 of December 30, 2010

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (Office of Protocol) presents its compliments to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and Chargés d’affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada and has the honour to raise the issue of marriages performed on diplomatic and consular premises.

The Department requests the assistance of Diplomatic Missions in relaying the content of this Note to all heads of consular posts in Canada.

When a foreign mission or consular post allows for the solemnization of marriages on its premises with the intent of having these marriages officially registered or recorded in Canada, it is the duty of the head of mission or post to first ensure compliance with the conditions and formalities prescribed by Canadian laws for the formation of marriages and observance of the aforementioned conditions and formalities.

In order for a marriage performed in Canada to be considered valid under Canadian law, it must comply with the acts and regulations in force in the province in which the marriage is performed. In Canada, the solemnization of marriages falls within the constitutional jurisdiction of the provinces. Before the marriage, the couple may have to obtain a marriage license from their province of residence or publish a notice of marriage. The provinces set out the list of persons who are legally authorized to perform, register or record marriages in that province, which in most cases does not include foreign diplomatic agents and consular officers. A marriage performed in Canada by a foreign diplomatic agent or consular officer will generally not be considered a legally valid marriage, even if it is legally recognized under the laws of the sending State of the officiating diplomatic agent or consular officer.

For greater certainty as to the validity of marriages performed within diplomatic missions and consular posts under current provincial law, diplomatic missions and consular posts should contact the relevant provincial authority and inform the individuals concerned that their marriage may not be considered valid under Canadian law.

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (Office of Protocol) avails itself of this opportunity to renew to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and Chargés d’affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada, the assurances of its highest consideration.

OTTAWA, December 30, 2010

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-10-02

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Les mariages célébrés dans les locaux diplomatiques et consulaires

Note circulaire No XDC-0874 du 30 décembre 2010

Le Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Bureau du Protocole) présente ses compliments à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de Mission diplomatique et Chargés d’affaires a.i. accrédités au Canada et a l’honneur d’évoquer la question des mariages célébrés dans les locaux diplomatiques et consulaires.

Le Ministère prie les Missions diplomatiques de bien vouloir transmettre la teneur de la présente Note à tous les Chefs de postes consulaires au Canada.

Lorsqu’une mission étrangère ou un poste consulaire autorise la célébration de mariages à l’intérieur de ses locaux dans l’intention de faire enregistrer ou inscrire ces mariages officiellement au Canada, il est du devoir du Chef de mission ou de poste de veiller au préalable au respect des conditions et formalités prescrites par les lois canadiennes pour la formation des mariages et de l’observation desdites conditions et  formalités.

Pour qu’un mariage célébré au Canada soit réputé valide en droit canadien, il doit suivre les lois et règlements en vigueur dans la province où le mariage est célébré. Au Canada, la célébration des mariages relève de la compétence constitutionnelle des provinces. Avant la célébration du mariage, les futurs époux peuvent devoir obtenir une licence de mariage de leur province de résidence, ou publier un avis de mariage, le cas échéant. Les provinces dressent la liste des personnes légalement habilitées à célébrer, à enregistrer ou à inscrire les mariages sur leur territoire, laquelle ne comprend pas, dans la plupart des cas, les agents diplomatiques et les fonctionnaires consulaires étrangers. Un mariage célébré au Canada par un agent diplomatique ou un fonctionnaire consulaire étranger n’est généralement pas réputé valide et ce, même si la loi de l’État d’envoi de l’agent diplomatique ou du fonctionnaire consulaire célébrant donne effet juridique à ce même mariage en vertu du droit dudit État d’envoi.  

Pour bien s’assurer de la validité des mariages célébrés dans leurs locaux selon le droit provincial en vigueur, les missions diplomatiques et postes consulaires feront bien de s’adresser aux autorités provinciales compétentes et d’aviser les personnes intéressées de la possibilité que leur mariage ne soit pas réputé valide en droit canadien.

Le Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Bureau du Protocole) saisit cette occasion pour renouveler à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de Mission diplomatique et Chargés d’affaires a.i. accrédités au Canada les assurances de sa haute considération.

OTTAWA, le 30 décembre 2010

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-10-02