Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Linguistic Duality in Canada: Successful Initiatives by Foreign Missions in Communicating with a Larger Audience

Circular Note NO. XDC-1027 of June 11, 2010

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada (Office of Protocol) presents its compliments to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and notified Chargés d’affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada and has the honour to draw their attention, for information purposes, to volume 1 of the annual report of the Commissioner of Official Languages recently submitted to Parliament and available on the website of the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages.

The Department takes the opportunity of the publication of this report and subsequently, of the work of the Standing Senate Committee for Official Languages to congratulate foreign missions in Canada that choose to implement initiatives promoting Canada’s linguistic duality. Moreover, the Department is convinced that the commitment by the foreign missions to support and strengthen the equality of status and use of French and English in their outreach activities directed at the general public and their communications products, including exterior signage at the chanceries, best reaches all Canadians. Further, these efforts support a fundamental core value of Canadian society necessary for the development of its official language communities.

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (Office of Protocol) avails itself of this opportunity to renew to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and notified Chargés d’affaires, a.i., accredited to Canada, the assurances of its highest consideration.

OTTAWA, June 11, 2010

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-10-02

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

La dualité linguistique au Canada : réussites des missions étrangères à communiquer avec un plus large public

Note circulaire No XDC-1027 du 11 juin 2010

 Le Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Bureau du Protocole) présente ses compliments à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de Mission diplomatique et les Chargés d’affaires a.i. accrédités auprès du Canada et a l’honneur d’attirer, à titre d’intérêt, leur attention au volume 1 du rapport annuel du commissaire aux langues officielles récemment déposé au Parlement et dont copie est disponible moyennant le site Web du Commissariat aux langues officielles.

Le Ministère, à l’occasion de la publication de ce rapport ainsi que des travaux du Comité permanent des langues officielles du Sénat qui ont suivi, en profite pour féliciter les missions étrangères au Canada qui choisissent de mettre en œuvre des initiatives valorisant la dualité linguistique du Canada. Le Ministère est d’ailleurs lui-même persuadé que l’engagement des missions étrangères à privilégier et à renforcer l’égalité de statut et d’usage du français et de l’anglais dans leurs activités de rayonnement destinées au grand public et leurs produits de communication, y compris sur les panneaux extérieurs des chancelleries, contribuent à mieux rejoindre tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes. Qui plus est, ces efforts appuient une valeur fondamentale au cœur de la société canadienne nécessaire à l’épanouissement de ses communautés de langue officielle.

Le Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Bureau du Protocole) saisit cette occasion de renouveler à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de Mission diplomatique et les Chargés d’affaires a.i. accrédités auprès du Canada les assurances de sa très haute considération.

OTTAWA, le 11 juin 2010

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-10-02