Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Approval of an Award of a Commonwealth and/or Foreign Order, Decoration or Medal to a Canadian Citizen

Circular Note NO. XDC-2046 of November 10, 2010

Canada's Policy and Application Form Award-Decoration-Medal

Request Form

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (Office of Protocol) presents its compliments to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and notified Chargés d’affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada and has the honour of reiterating the policy respecting the awarding of an order, decoration or medal by a Commonwealth or foreign government.

The Department would like to clarify that Commonwealth or foreign governments wishing to award an order, decoration or medal to a Canadian citizen must obtain the prior approval of the Canadian government through their diplomatic mission accredited to Canada.

In this regard, the Department wishes to emphasize the importance of submitting a clear and detailed description of the meritorious acts that have prompted the Head of State to seek to decorate a Canadian citizen. Furthermore, in the specific case of an award bestowed upon an individual in the employ of Her Majesty in Right of Canada or of a province, it is essential to clearly explain how the services rendered by the recipient rise above the normal performance of official duties. It should be noted, as an additional condition of bestowing the honour, that meritorious acts must have taken place during the five years immediately preceding the mission’s request.

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (Office of Protocol) takes this opportunity to renew to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and notified Chargés d’affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada the assurances of its highest consideration.

OTTAWA, November 10, 2010

Footer

Date Modified:
2013-01-22

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Demandes d'approbation en vue de l'attribution à un citoyen canadien d'une décoration ou d'une médaille par un gouvernement membre du Commonwealth ou étranger

Note circulaire NO XDC-2046 du 10 novembre 2010

Politique du Canada et le formulaire de demande de récompense-Décoration-Médaille

Formulaire d'approbation

Le Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Bureau du Protocole) présente ses compliments à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de Missions diplomatiques ainsi qu’à leurs Chargés d’affaires a.i. accrédités au Canada et a l’honneur de préciser derechef les lignes directrices relatives à l’attribution d’un ordre, d’une décoration ou d’une médaille par un gouvernement d’un État membre du Commonwealth ou étranger.

Le Ministère précise que les gouvernements des États membres du Commonwealth ou étrangers souhaitant attribuer un ordre, une décoration ou une médaille à un citoyen canadien doivent au préalable en demander l’autorisation au gouvernement canadien par l’entremise de leur mission diplomatique auprès du Canada.

À ce chapitre, le Ministère se doit de rappeler l’importance de soumettre une description claire et détaillée des actes méritoires et des motifs qui justifient l’attribution par le Chef d’État de la décoration. De plus, dans le cas particulier d’une récompense décernée à une personne au service de Sa Majesté du Chef du Canada ou d’une province, il est primordial que la mission explique en quoi les services rendus par le récipiendaire dépassent le cadre normal des fonctions officielles. Selon une autre condition, les actes méritoires doivent avoir eu lieu au cours des cinq dernières années précédant la demande d’attribution de la récompense.

Le Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Bureau du Protocole) saisit cette occasion pour renouveler à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de Missions diplomatiques et à leurs Chargés d’affaires a.i et accrédités au Canada les assurances de sa très haute considération.

OTTAWA, le 10 novembre 2010

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2013-01-22