Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Courtesy Calls on the Speakers of the Senate and of the House of Commons

Circular Note No. XDC-2109 of November 10, 2010

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada (Office of Protocol) presents its compliments to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and notified Chargés d’affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada and on behalf of the International and Interparliamentary Affairs Directorate (IIA) of the Parliament of Canada has the honour to refer to the matter of Courtesy Calls between Heads of Diplomatic Missions and the Speaker of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Commons, and ensuing security procedures to access Parliament Hill.

When a Head of Mission or Chargés d’affaires, a.i. wishes to schedule a courtesy call with the Speaker of the Senate and / or the Speaker of the House of Commons, it is requested that the IIA Directorate be notified by email at IIACourtesyCalls@parl.gc.ca or by telephone at 613-943-2741.

Requests should include the name of all participants and vehicle information. IIA will ensure that Security Officials are notified of the visit. It is important to note that Heads of Missions are exempt from security screening. When calling on the Speaker of the Senate, Heads of Mission are requested to present themselves at the Senate Entrance (East door), Centre Block, Parliament Hill where they will be greeted by a representative from the Speaker’s office. When calling on the Speaker of the House of Commons, Heads of Mission are requested to present themselves at the Peace Tower Entrance, Centre Block, Parliament Hill where they will be greeted by an IIA Officer.

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada (Office of Protocol) avails itself of this opportunity to renew to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and notified Chargés d’Affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada, the assurances of its highest consideration.

OTTAWA, November 10, 2010

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-10-15

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Visites de courtoisie auprès des Présidents du Sénat et de la Chambre des communes

Note circulaire No XDC-2109 du 10 novembre 2010

Le Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international du Canada (Bureau du Protocole) présente ses compliments à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de Mission diplomatique et à leurs Chargés d’affaires ad intérim dûment désignés et accrédités au Canada et, au nom de la Direction des affaires internationales et interparlementaires (AII) du Parlement du Canada, a l’honneur de se référer à la question des Visites de courtoisie entre les Chefs de Mission diplomatique et le Président du Sénat ainsi que le Président de la Chambre des communes, ainsi qu’aux procédures de sécurité en vigueur sur la colline du Parlement.

Lorsqu’un Chef de Mission ou Chargé d’affaires ad intérim désire rencontrer le Président du Sénat ou de la Chambre des communes dans le cadre d’une visite de courtoisie, la Direction des AII doit en être avisée par courriel à IIACourtesyCalls@parl.gc.ca ou en téléphonant au 613-943-2741.

Les demandes doivent inclure le nom de tous les participants ainsi que les renseignements concernant le véhicule. La Direction des AII veillera à aviser les agents de sécurité de la visite. Il est important de prendre note que les Chefs de Mission sont exemptés des fouilles de sécurité. Dans le cas d’une rencontre avec le Président du Sénat, ils doivent se présenter à l’entrée du Sénat (porte de l’Est), édifice du Centre, colline du Parlement, où ils seront accueillis par un représentant du bureau du Président. Dans le cas d’une rencontre avec le Président de la Chambre des communes, ils doivent se présenter à l’entrée de la Tour de la Paix, édifice du Centre, colline du Parlement, où ils seront accueillis par un agent de la Direction des AII.

Le Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international du Canada (Bureau du protocole) saisit cette occasion pour renouveler à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de mission diplomatique et à leurs Chargés d’Affaires ad intérim dûment désignés et accrédités au Canada les assurances de sa plus haute considération.

OTTAWA, le 10 novembre 2010

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-10-15