Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Lieu of Personal Residences

Circular Note No. XDC-2157 of August 30, 2001

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade presents its compliments to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and notified Chargés d'Affaires a.i. accredited to Canada, and has the honour of referring to the matter of official residences and personal residences of other accredited staff members assigned to diplomatic missions.

The Department has the further honour of: (a) reminding the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and notified Chargés d'Affaires a.i. of the policy in effect regarding the location of official residences of heads of mission and the location of personal residences of other accredited staff members working at diplomatic missions; and (b) clarifying the scope of the said policy. According to this policy, the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and other accredited members of diplomatic missions can establish their official and personal residences in the “National Capital Region,” that is, the seat of the Government of Canada and the surrounding area, and more specifically the area that is part of the provinces of Ontario and Quebec.

In accordance with this policy, which remains unchanged, heads of diplomatic missions and other accredited staff members have always been and continue to be able to, without prejudice to their duties, establish their official and personal residences in the current area of the Communauté régionale de l'Outaouais, province of Quebec, including the cities of Hull, Aylmer and Gatineau, the borders of which will not be affected by the Quebec government's legislation on municipal amalgamations.

Notwithstanding the above and in view of the provisions in circular note XDC-2771 dated January 29, 2001, diplomatic missions must obtain the express prior consent of the Department regarding the location of official residences.

The Department would greatly appreciate the assistance of the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and notified Chargés d'Affaires a.i. in disseminating the content of this note to members of their representation.

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade avails itself of this opportunity to renew to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and notified Chargés d'Affaires a.i. accredited to Canada the assurances of its highest consideration.

OTTAWA, August 30, 2001

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-10-09

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Lieu des résidences personnelles

Note circulaire N0 XDC-2157 du 30 août 2001

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international présente ses compliments à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de Missions diplomatiques et les Chargés d'Affaires a.i. accrédités auprès du Canada et a l'honneur de se référer à la question des résidences officielles et des résidences personnelles des autres membres du personnel accrédité faisant partie de l'effectif des missions diplomatiques.

Le Ministère a en outre l'honneur de rappeler aux Chefs de missions diplomatiques et aux Chargés d'affaires a.i. la politique en vigueur en matière du lieu de la résidence officielle du chef de mission et celui des résidences personnelles des autres membres accrédités des missions diplomatiques, ainsi que de préciser l'étendue de son champ d'application. Au terme de cette politique, les Chefs de missions diplomatiques et les autres membres accrédités des missions diplomatiques peuvent installer leur résidences officielles et personnelles sur le territoire de la « région de la Capitale nationale », à savoir le siège du gouvernement du Canada et ses alentours, et plus particulièrement le territoire faisant partie des provinces de l'Ontario et de Québec.

En conséquence de cette politique qui demeure inchangée, les chefs de missions diplomatiques ainsi que les autres membres du personnel accrédité ont toujours pu et peuvent toujours, sans préjudice de leurs fonctions, établir leurs résidences officielles et personnelles sur l'actuel territoire de la Communauté régionale de l'Outaouais, province de Québec, notamment dans les villes de Hull, d'Aylmer et de Gatineau, lesquelles frontières ne seront pas affectées par le projet de loi sur les fusions municipales du gouvernement du Québec.

Nonobstant ce qui précède et eu égard aux dispositions précitées dans la note circulaire XDC-2771 du 29 janvier 2001, les missions diplomatiques ont l'obligation de solliciter le consentement exprès et préalable du Ministère pour l'emplacement des résidences officielles.

Le Ministère saurait gré aux Chefs de missions diplomatiques ainsi qu'aux Chargés d'affaires a.i. de bien vouloir informer les membres de leur personnel respectif du contenu de la présente note.

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international saisit cette occasion pour renouveler à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de missions diplomatiques et aux Chargés d'affaires a.i. accrédités auprès du Canada les assurances de sa très haute considération.

OTTAWA, le 30 août 2001

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-10-03