Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Travel Document Requirements - Admin & Techs and Consular Employees

Circular Note NO. XDC-2684 of October 30, 2008

Most recent date of change: February 13, 2012

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (Office of Protocol) presents its compliments to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and Chargés d’affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada and has the honour to advise of a change in the Department's travel document requirements for Members of the Administrative and Technical staff and Consular Employees.

Effective immediately, official (“J”) acceptances will no longer be inserted into the ordinary passport of a Member of the Administrative and Technical staff or Consular Employee. Accreditation will only be granted to holders of a diplomatic, official, special or service passport. This policy applies to members of the Administrative and Technical staff and Consular Employees currently on posting in Canada and to all persons travelling to Canada to assume their official functions at diplomatic missions and consular posts. This policy does not apply to family members eligible for accreditation.

In the event that the sending State is unable to meet the above criteria or for general questions or queries about this administrative policy change, diplomatic missions can contact the designated Accreditation Processing Officer, as follows:

  • Countries Afghanistan to China; France (613-996-8687)
  • Countries Colombia to Haiti; Holy See (613-944-1745)
  • Countries Honduras to Mauritius; Russia (613-944-2394)
  • Countries Mexico to Serbia (613-995-5957)
  • Countries Seychelles to Zimbabwe (613-943-1076)

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (Office of Protocol) avails itself of this opportunity to renew to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and Chargés d’affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada the assurances of its highest consideration.

OTTAWA, October 30, 2008

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-10-02

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Exigences de documents de voyage - membres du personnel admin. et technique et employés consulaires

Note circulaire NO XDC-2684 du 30 octobre 2008

Date plus récente des changements : le 13 février 2012

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Bureau du Protocole) présente ses compliments à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de Mission diplomatique et Chargés d’affaires a.i. accrédités auprès du Canada, et a l’honneur de les informer d’un changement apporté aux exigences du Ministère concernant les documents de voyage des membres du personnel administratif et technique, ainsi que des employés consulaires.

À compter de ce jour, les acceptations officielles (« J ») ne seront plus insérées dans le passeport ordinaire des membres du personnel administratif et technique, ainsi que des employés consulaires. L’accréditation ne sera accordée qu’aux titulaires d’un passeport diplomatique, officiel, spécial ou de service. Cette politique s’applique aux membres du personnel administratif et technique ainsi qu’aux employés consulaires actuellement en poste au Canada, ainsi qu’à toute personne venant au Canada pour y assumer des fonctions officielles dans une mission diplomatique ou un poste consulaire. Elle ne s’applique pas aux  « membres de la famille faisant partie du ménage ».

Dans l’éventualité où l’État accréditant ne serait pas en mesure de respecter le critère énoncé ci-dessus, ou pour toute question générale ou demande de renseignement concernant ce changement à la politique administrative, les missions diplomatiques peuvent communiquer avec l’agent chargé du processus d’accréditation, comme suit :

  • Pays Afghanistan jusqu’à Chine; France (613-996-8687)
  • Pays Colombie jusqu'à Haïti; Saint-Siège (613-944-1745)
  • Pays Honduras jusqu'à Maurice; Russie (613-944-2394)
  • Pays Mexique jusqu'à Serbie (613-995-5957)
  • Pays Seychelles jusqu'à Zimbabwe (613-943-1076)

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Bureau du Protocole) saisit cette occasion pour renouveler à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de Mission diplomatique et Chargés d’affaires a.i. accrédités auprès du Canada les assurances de sa plus haute considération.

OTTAWA, le 30 octobre 2008

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-10-02