Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Members of the Family Forming Part of the Household: The Case of Spouses and Unmarried Partners

Circular Note NO. XDC-3196 of November 12, 2004

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade presents its compliments to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and Chargés d’affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada and has the honour to clarify Canadian policy on the processing of requests for accreditation relating to spouses and common-law partners. This action, which constitutes an extension of Circular Note XDC-1309 (PDF Version, 265 KB) * dated August 12, 1992, is designed not only to harmonize departmental policy with Canada’s immigration policies but also to facilitate as far as possible the reunification in Canada of foreign representatives and the immediate members of their families during the period of accreditation.

1. Definitions and administrative requirements relating to accreditation

1.1 Meaning of “spouse”

In future, when requests for accreditation of “members of his family forming part of his household” are processed, the Department will use the term “spouse” only in the case of a married person (in accordance with Canadian law governing marriage) who in fact physically resides in the home of the foreign representative.

Although a marriage that is legally recognized in the country in which it was contracted is usually recognized in Canada, the Department does not exclude the possibility of requesting proof of the legitimacy of the marriage1, especially in the case of a marriage contracted in Canada during the period of accreditation.

1.2 Meaning of “common-law partner”

Unless reciprocal measures are in effect, the Department recognizes common-law partners as “members of the family forming part of his household”. A “common-law partner” is a person who cohabits with the foreign representative, whether he or she is of the opposite or the same sex, in a conjugal relation with the foreign representative and has cohabited in this manner for a period of at least one year. It is the responsibility of Diplomatic Missions seeking accreditation of common-law partners to provide, in respect of each couple and in accordance with the facts, proof that the persons in question live in a conjugal relationship and that they cohabit2.

Henceforth, the Department will cease considering opposite-sex common-law partners to be "spouses" and same-sex common-law partners to be “dependants”. Instead, the term "partner" will be used for all common-law partners, whether same sex or opposite sex, who are eligible for accreditation. This fact will be reflected on the acceptance and the identity card. Furthermore, privileges and immunities shall be applied in a manner that extends to common-law partners the treatment normally afforded to spouses in similar circumstances, unless there are limitations due to reciprocity3.

2. Refusal and end of status

Unless obligations arising under bilateral or multilateral treaties apply, the Department reserves the right to refuse accreditation facilities to spouses and common-law partners who are inadmissible to Canada without having to give reasons for such refusal.

Also, under paragraph (b) of article 10 and paragraph (b) of article 24 of the Vienna Convention on Consular Relations, the Heads of Diplomatic Missions have a duty to inform the Department as soon as possible in the event that the conditions governing a spouse’s residence in Canada cease to comply with the foregoing, including definitive departures and cases of breakdown of relationships by separation or divorce.

3. Employment of spouses and common-law partners

Spouses and common-law partners wishing to join the labour force during the period of accreditation may be authorized to do so only if a reciprocal agreement concerning employment is in effect and a note of non-objection (from the Department’s Office of Protocol) has first been obtained. Any person who, in the absence of a reciprocal agreement and consent of the Department, nevertheless obtains an authorization of employment from Citizenship and Immigration Canada or works without a permit will have his or her diplomatic or official status withdrawn.

The Department is not able to facilitate employment in Canada of spouses and common-law partners who have been refused accreditation or whose accreditation has been withdrawn.

4. Other consideration

Official requests to include as spouses and common-law partners persons who must reside outside the employee’s home in order to carry on professional activities will be considered only if a framework of understanding between Canada and the sending State is in place.

The Department of Foreign Affairs and takes this opportunity to renew to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and Chargés d’affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada the assurances of its highest consideration.

Ottawa, November 12, 2004


1 A spouse wishing to join a foreign representative who is already in Canada is responsible for proving that their marriage is recognized as legitimate when the application for a diplomatic or official Temporary Resident Visa (TRV) is made.

2 As in the case of spouses, the Department is not able to grant accreditation to a common-law spouse if the spouse does not in fact live in the home of the foreign representative.

3 When processing accreditation requests for common-law partners, the Department will seek written assurance of reciprocity if uncertainty exists.


* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page.

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-10-16

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Membres de la famille faisant partie du ménage : le cas des époux et des conjoints non-mariés

Note circulaire NO XDC-3196 du 12 novembre 2004

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international présente ses compliments à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de Missions diplomatiques et Chargés d’affaires a.i. accrédités auprès du Canada et a l’honneur de clarifier la politique canadienne concernant le traitement des demandes d’accréditation relativement aux époux et aux conjoints de fait. Cette démarche, qui s’inscrit dans le prolongement de la note circulaire XDC-1309 (Version PDF, 300 ko) * du 12 août 1992, vise non seulement à adapter l’approche ministérielle aux politiques d’immigration actuelles du Canada, mais à faciliter autant que possible la réunification au Canada des représentants étrangers et des membres immédiats de leur famille durant la période d’accréditation.

1. Définitions et exigences administratives liées à l’accréditation

1.1 Sens à donner à l’expression « époux »

Dorénavant, lors du traitement des demandes d’accréditation des « membres de la famille faisant partie du ménage », le Ministère ne retiendra l’expression « époux » que dans le cas d’une personne mariée (selon la loi canadienne sur le mariage) qui réside dans les faits au domicile du représentant étranger.

Même si un mariage qui est légalement reconnu dans le pays où il a été contracté est habituellement reconnu au Canada, le Ministère n’exclut pas la possibilité de demander une preuve attestée légitimant le mariage1, avant tout dans le cas d’un mariage contracté au Canada au cours de la période d’accréditation.

1.2 Sens à donner à l’expression « conjoint de fait »

Le Ministère, à moins de mesures de réciprocité, reconnaît les conjoints de fait comme « membres de la famille faisant partie du ménage ». Un « conjoint de fait » s’entend d’une personne qui cohabite avec le représentant étranger, qu’il soit de sexe opposé ou de même sexe, qui vit une relation conjugale avec ce dernier et qui a cohabité de cette façon pendant une période d’au moins une année. Il incombe aux Missions diplomatiques sollicitant l’accréditation des conjoints de fait de prouver, pour chaque couple et selon les faits, que les personnes concernées vivent une relation conjugale et qu’elles cohabitent2.

Le Ministère cessera, en date de cette note circulaire, de considérer à la fois les conjoints de fait de sexe opposé comme « époux » et les conjoints de fait de même sexe comme « dépendants ». Plutôt, le Ministère privilégiera l’expression « conjoint » pour tous les conjoints de fait éligibles à l’accréditation, ce qui sera reflété sur l’acceptation et la carte d’identité. De plus, les conjoints de fait accrédités se verront octroyés les mêmes privilèges et immunités normalement accordés aux époux dans des circonstances similaires, à moins de limitations en matière de réciprocité3.

2. Refus et fin de statut

Le Ministère pourrait, à moins d’obligations découlant de traités bilatéraux ou multilatéraux, refuser d’accorder les facilités d’accréditation aux époux et conjoints de fait qui sont interdits de séjour au Canada, sans avoir à donner les motifs de ce refus.

Aussi, en vertu de l’alinéa (b) de l’article 10 et l’alinéa (b) de l’article 24 de la Convention de Vienne sur les Relations consulaires, les Chefs de Missions diplomatiques ont le devoir d’informer le plus rapidement possible le Ministère dans l’éventualité que les conditions de séjour au Canada de l’époux ne respectent plus ce qui précède, y compris les départs définitifs et les cas de rupture par séparation ou divorce.

3. emploi des époux et des conjoints de fait

Les époux et les conjoints de fait qui aspirent à accéder au marché de travail au cours de la période d’accréditation ne peuvent y être autorisés que si une entente de réciprocité en matière d’emploi est en vigueur et qu’une note de non objection (du Bureau du Protocole du Ministère) a été obtenue au préalable. Le Ministère prévient que toute personne qui, en l’absence d’une entente de réciprocité et du consentement du Ministère, obtient néanmoins une autorisation d’emploi de Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada, ou travaille sans permis, s’expose au retrait de son statut diplomatique ou officiel.

Par ailleurs, le Ministère n’est pas en mesure de faciliter l’emploi au Canada des époux et les conjoints de fait qui se sont vus refuser ou retirer l’accréditation.

4. Autre considération

Le Ministère favorisera la mise en vigueur d’ententes expresses entre le Canada et l’État d’envoi pouvant permettre l’accréditation des époux et conjoints de fait devant résider à l’extérieur du domicile de l’employé pour la poursuite d’activités professionnelles.

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international saisit cette occasion pour renouveler à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de Missions diplomatiques et Chargés d’affaires a.i. accrédités auprès du Canada les assurances de sa très haute considération.

Ottawa, le 12 novembre 2004


1 Il incombe aussi à un époux voulant rejoindre un représentant étranger déjà au Canada de prouver que son mariage est reconnu comme légitime au moment de la soumission de la demande visa de résident temporaire (VRT) diplomatique ou officiel.

2 Comme dans le cas des époux, le Ministère n’est pas en mesure d’accorder l’accréditation à un conjoint de fait si ce dernier ne réside pas dans les faits au domicile du représentant étranger.

3 Le Ministère pourrait demander une confirmation écrite de réciprocité dans les situations incertaines


* Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-10-16