Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Driving Practices and Traffic Infractions

Circular Note No. XDC-0821 of May 17, 2012

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (Office of Protocol) presents its compliments to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and notified Chargés d’affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada, the Permanent Representatives to the International Civil Aviation Organization, and the Heads of International Organizations and other offices established in Canada, and has the honour to provide Their Excellencies with a revised policy regarding traffic and vehicle related offences committed by accredited foreign representatives and their family members who enjoy diplomatic, consular, or other status in Canada1.

1. General:

The operation of a motor vehicle in by anyone in Canada, including persons with status under the Department, is not a right but a privilege. While the vast majority of foreign representatives and accredited family members observe traffic laws and regulations, those driving practices and violations of traffic laws which endanger public safety remain of serious concern to the Government of Canada. Guided by Article 41(1) of the Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations and Article 55(1) of the Vienna Convention on Consular Relations, this revised policy is intended to reinforce Canada’s expectations that all foreign representatives and their accredited family members will comply with local traffic laws and vehicle regulations, and that persons so accredited, whether entitled to full or functional immunity, will be responsible for any violations of these laws and regulations. It should be noted that the Government of Canada instructs its own representatives abroad to conduct themselves with the foregoing expectations in mind, and that they are explicitly advised that any immunities conferred on them will not prevent local authorities from issuing infractions where appropriate and supported by evidence.

It is important to note that the special licence plates issued to accredited foreign representatives do not prohibit a police officer from initiating a traffic stop in a manner consistent with normal police procedures. Accredited persons who have been signalled to stop their vehicle by a police officer should do so and be prepared to present identification to the attending officer, including a valid driver’s licence, proof of insurance, and the Office of Protocol Identity Card.

2. Major traffic offences:

Police forces are encouraged to lay charges where appropriate and inform the Department of instances of major traffic offences, including those covered by the Criminal Code of Canada, such as impaired driving, criminal negligence, and dangerous driving. For indictable offences where the alleged offender enjoys immunity from criminal jurisdiction, the Office of Protocol will request a waiver of immunity from the relevant authority (through the Head of Mission or Organization) to allow the accused individual to appear in a Canadian court of law and to be sentenced in the event that the individual is found guilty. For more information regarding the Department’s impaired driving policy, please refer to circular note XDC-0427 of March 14, 2001 (and any subsequent note on that subject). In the event that the requested waiver of immunity is declined, the Department will seek appropriate, alternative remedies to ensure public safety.

It should be noted that the Department will not intervene in cases where driving privileges have been suspended as a result of accumulated demerit points, for failing to pay a fine, or for other reasons where Canadian authorities have cause to temporarily or indefinitely revoke driving privileges. In keeping with the Department’s general expectations regarding respect for the laws of the receiving state, it is expected that accredited persons who are duly notified of such a suspension will abide by the terms of the notice.

Their Excellencies are asked to observe that none of the details in this note intend to limit or diminish the right of the Government of Canada to request the recall of the offender in the event of a grave offence, or to otherwise intervene in regard to the individual’s continued presence in Canada as an accredited foreign representative.

3. Minor traffic offences

Police and other officials are encouraged to issue fines for minor traffic and vehicle related offences where the officer has evidence to support such an action, including for moving violations and parking infractions.

As in the past, the Department will not normally intervene in matters of traffic or parking violations. Further, the Department will only review a request for intervention where it has been requested to do so by way of a diplomatic note, signed by the Head of Mission or Organization, which provides a full description of the incident and where there are clearly extenuating circumstances surrounding the infraction which compel the Department to intervene.

In cases where personal vehicles are registered to an official address, it is still important to respond appropriately to correspondence from the relevant Ministry of Transportation, as delays in responding to such notices may lead to the suspension of driving privileges or the invalidation of a licence plate. It should also be noted that the Department will not intervene in cases where such measures have been enacted due to outstanding or accumulated fines.

4. Treatment of Immunities:

The Department wishes to confirm that the Government of Canada distinguishes between the immunities conferred by diplomatic and consular status, as per the provisions of Article 43(1) of the Vienna Convention on Consular Relations. Therefore, persons enjoying a limited degree of immunity, such as consular officers and consular employees, may not be immune from prosecution where criminal charges are laid, or where administrative requirements compel the individual to appear before a court. Further, it is the judiciary in Canada which determines whether a specific act performed by a person with limited immunity and giving rise to legal action occurred in an official capacity.

In cases where an individual who is not subject to the local jurisdiction chooses to contest a ticket before a court or other tribunal, the Department must insist that the relevant mission provide the appropriate waiver of immunity from its Ministry of Foreign Affairs to the Department in writing. The Department does not consider it appropriate for individuals to make claims of immunity for themselves in such a venue.

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (Office of Protocol) avails itself of this opportunity to renew to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and notified Chargés d’affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada, the Permanent Representatives to the International Civil Aviation Organization, and the Heads of International Organizations and other offices established in Canada, the assurances of its highest consideration.

OTTAWA, May 17, 2012


1 This note updates the Department’s previous circular note XDC-2803 of December 21, 2007, as well as other communications on this subject. Impaired driving allegations will continue to be dealt with in accordance with the policy established in XDC-0427 of March 14, 2001.

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-10-15

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Les pratiques et les infractions en matière de  conduite automobile

Note circulaire No XDC-0821 du 17 mai 2012

Le Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Bureau du protocole) présente ses compliments à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de Mission diplomatique et Chargés d’affaires, a.i. accrédités auprès du Canada, les Représentants permanents auprès de l'Organisation de l'Aviation civile internationale, et aux Chefs d’organisations internationales et d’autres bureaux établis au Canada, et a l’honneur de leur communiquer une mise à jour de la politique concernant les infractions au code de la route et autres infractions liées à l’utilisation d’un véhicule automobile commises par les représentants étrangers accrédités et les membres de leur famille ayant un statut diplomatique, consulaire ou autre au Canada1.

1. Renseignements généraux

L’utilisation d’un véhicule automobile au Canada par toute personne, y compris les personnes jouissant d’un statut particulier auprès du Ministère, est un privilège et non un droit. La vaste majorité des représentants étrangers et les membres accrédités de leur famille respectent le code de la route, mais il s’en trouve aussi dont les habitudes de conduite et infractions constituent un danger pour la sécurité publique, ce qui préoccupe gravement le Gouvernement du Canada. Inspirée par l’article 41(1) de la Convention de Vienne sur les relations diplomatiques et l’article 55(1) de la Convention de Vienne sur les relations consulaires, cette politique révisée vise à renforcer la certitude que le code de la route et la réglementation relative aux véhicules seront respectés par les représentants étrangers et les membres accrédités de leur famille et que ces personnes, qu’elles jouissent d’une immunité complète ou fonctionnelle, seront responsables de toute infraction à ces lois et règlements. Il importe de souligner que le Gouvernement du Canada exige de ses représentants à l’étranger qu’ils se comportent selon les attentes susmentionnées. Ils sont en outre informés explicitement que toute immunité qui leur est conférée n’empêche pas les autorités locales d’émettre, le cas échéant, des infractions justifiées par des éléments de preuve.

Il importe de noter que les plaques d’immatriculation spéciales délivrées aux représentants étrangers ne confèrent au véhicule aucun statut qui empêcherait un policier d’en demander l’immobilisation d’une manière conforme aux procédures policières normales. Les personnes accréditées à qui il est demandé d’immobiliser leur véhicule doivent être prêtes à présenter au policier une pièce d’identité, notamment un permis de conduire valide, une preuve d’assurance et la carte d’identité émise par le Bureau du protocole.

2. Infractions majeures au code de la route

Les corps policiers sont encouragés à déposer des accusations, s’il y a lieu, et à informer le Ministère de toute infraction majeure au code de la route, y compris celles couvertes par le Code criminel du Canada, par exemple la conduite avec facultés affaiblies, la négligence criminelle et la conduite dangereuse. Dans le cas des infractions punissables où l’auteur présumé jouit de l’immunité de juridiction pénale, le Bureau du protocole demandera à l’État étranger concerné (par l’entremise du chef de mission ou de l’organisation) de lever l’immunité de cette personne, afin qu’elle puisse comparaître devant un tribunal canadien et y être condamnée si elle est trouvée coupable. En ce qui concerne plus particulièrement la politique du Ministère dans les cas de conduite avec facultés affaiblies, les missions voudront bien se reporter à la Note circulaire nXDC-0427 du 14 mars 2001 et à toute note ultérieure sur le sujet. Dans l’hypothèse où l’État étranger refuse de lever l’immunité, le Ministère veillera à trouver d’autres moyens appropriés pour assurer la sécurité du public.

Il convient de noter que le Ministère n’interviendra pas dans les cas où le permis de conduire a été suspendu pour accumulation de points de démérite, omission de payer une amende ou toute autre raison qui amènerait les autorités canadiennes à révoquer temporairement ou définitivement le permis en question. Compte tenu des attentes générales du Ministère sur le respect des lois de l’État de résidence, les personnes accréditées qui sont dûment avisées d’une révocation de leur permis devront donc se conformer aux dispositions de l’avis qui leur sera donné.

Leurs Excellences sont priés de noter que rien dans la présente Note ne limite ou ne diminue le droit du Gouvernement du Canada de demander le rappel du contrevenant dans le cas d’une infraction grave, ou de prendre des mesures en ce qui a trait à la présence de cette personne au Canada en tant que représentant étranger accrédité.

3. Infractions mineures au code de la route

Les policiers et autres représentants des autorités officielles sont encouragés à émettre une amende, lorsqu’il y a lieu, pour infractions mineures au code de la route et autres infractions liées à l’utilisation d’un véhicule automobile, y compris celles où le véhicule est en mouvement ainsi que les infractions de stationnement.

Comme par le passé, le Ministère n’interviendra normalement pas dans les cas d’infraction aux règlements de la circulation et d’infractions de stationnement. De plus, il ne prendra en considération que les demandes d’intervention présentées au moyen d’une note diplomatique signée par le chef de mission ou de l’organisation et donnant une description complète de l’incident, et uniquement si des circonstances atténuantes évidentes l’obligent à intervenir. 

4. Traitement des immunités

Le Ministère tient à confirmer que le Gouvernement du Canada fait la distinction entre les immunités conférées au personnel diplomatique et celles qui sont conférées au personnel consulaire, conformément aux dispositions de l’article 43(1) de la Convention de Vienne sur les relations consulaires. Par conséquent, les personnes qui jouissent d’une immunité limitée, tels les fonctionnaires consulaires et les employés consulaires, sont justiciables des autorités judiciaires lorsqu’ils font l’objet d’accusations criminelles, ou lorsqu’ils sont tenus de comparaître devant un tribunal pour des exigences administratives. Enfin, c’est le pouvoir judiciaire, au Canada, qui détermine si un acte précis commis par une personne jouissant d’une immunité limitée et faisant l’objet d’une poursuite légale a été accompli dans l’exercice de ses fonctions officielles.

Dans les cas où une personne non assujettie à la juridiction locale en matière d’infractions au code de la route décide de contester une contravention devant un tribunal idoine ou autre tribunal administratif, le Ministère insiste pour que la mission concernée lui transmette par écrit la levée de l’immunité décrétée par le ministère des Affaires étrangères de l’État d’envoi. Le Ministère estime qu’il n’est pas approprié, en pareil cas, pour un individu d’invoquer son immunité dans un tel cadre.

Le Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Bureau du Protocole) saisit cette occasion pour renouveler à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de Mission diplomatique et Chargés d’affaires, a.i. accrédités auprès du Canada, les Représentants permanents auprès de l'Organisation de l'Aviation civile internationale, et aux Chefs d’organisations internationales et d’autres bureaux établis au Canada, les assurances de sa plus haute considération.

OTTAWA, le 17 mai 2012


1 La présente note remplace la Note XDC-2803 du 21 décembre 2007 et toute note ultérieure sur le sujet. Les questions relatives à la conduite avec facultés affaiblies continuent d’être traitées conformément aux dispositions de la Note XDC-0427 du 14 mars 2001.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-10-15