Office of Protocol of Canada

Diplomatic Gateway to Canada

The Office of Protocol contributes to shaping the international agenda to Canada’s benefit and advantage, in accordance with Canadian interests and values, at home and abroad through the management and oversight of:

  • Official/state visits (both in Canada and abroad)
  • Official events, summits management and international events
  • Diplomatic corps services and outreach programs

Chief of Protocol

The Chief of Protocol of Canada is responsible for the management of the Office of Protocol and is considered as the most senior protocol officer for high-level international visits to Canada and outgoing state, official and working visits, as well as overall issues relating to the entitlements and special status granted to the foreign diplomatic community in Canada, which includes a number of international organizations.

Diplomatic Corps Services

Being host country to close to some 8000 diplomatic agents stationed across 180 diplomatic missions, 465 consular posts and over a dozen international organizations while managing compliance with Canada’s related international/domestic obligations requires a significant program and service infrastructure and cross-jurisdictional coordination. The Diplomatic Corps Services Division is on the daily front-line of these operations, which includes administering the accreditation programs and delivery of special outreach and public diplomacy events for the diplomatic community.

Official Visits and Events

The Office of Protocol provides the coordination and operational aspects of state, official and working visits to Canada and official travel abroad by the Governor General, Prime Minister and portfolio ministers.

We also defines standards of treatment for state, official, working and private visits of heads of state, heads of governments, ministers and guests of government. We further ensure that the guidelines, standards and regulations for guests of Canada are upheld.

Our team also manages the Canada Reception Centres at the Macdonald Cartier International Airport and the administration of the National Airport Courtesy Program.  Key contacts:

  • National Airport Courtesy Program Coordinator, Official Visits Division of the Office of Protocol; Please call: 343-203-3032; Fax: 613-995-5661
  • Overflight Clearances (Civilian Flights), Services Trade Policy Division, Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada; Please call: 343-203-4473; Fax: 613-944-0058
  • Overflight Clearances (Military Flights), Defense and Security Relations Division, Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada; Please call: 343-203-3174; Fax: 613-992-2482

Summits Management and International Events

In addition to offering strategic planning and operational support to all government departments and agencies hosting international conferences and events in Canada, we provide advisory services on logistics and planning to foreign host countries that are organizing major international conferences and events abroad.

Contact Us

Office of Protocol of Canada
Address: Lester B. Pearson Building – Tower A
125 Sussex Drive, Ottawa, K1A 0G2
General Information: 343-203-3002 (Lucette Bertrand, Protocol Services Assistant)

Fax: 613-943-1075
Email Address: Office of Protocol
Web site: Office of Protocol
*After-hours operation number: 613-996-8885

Related Links

Note: Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada (Office of Protocol) is not responsible for the content of external links.

Le Bureau du protocole du Canada

Guide diplomatique du Canada

Le Bureau du Protocole contribue à modeler le programme international en fonction des bénéfices et des avantages du Canada, conformément aux valeurs et aux intérêts du pays, en sol canadien comme à l’étranger, parce qu’il assure la gestion et la supervision des éléments suivants :

  • Visites officielles et visites d’État (au Canada comme à l’étranger);
  • Événements officiels, sommets et événements internationaux;
  • Services au corps diplomatique et programmes de rayonnement

Chef du Protocole

Le Chef du Protocole du Canada est chargé de gérer le Bureau du Protocole et est considéré comme l’agent du Protocole au rang le plus élevé en ce qui a trait aux visites de dignitaires étrangers au Canada, aux visites d’État, aux visites officielles ou de travail à l’étranger, ainsi qu’aux questions liées aux droits et aux statuts spéciaux conférés aux diplomates étrangers au Canada, dont un certain nombre d’organisations internationales.

Services au Corps diplomatique

Le Canada compte quelque 8000 agents diplomatiques répartis dans 180 missions diplomatiques, 465 missions consulaires et plus d’une douzaine d’organisations internationales. Gérer la conformité aux obligations nationales et internationales du Canada en la matière nécessite la mise en place d’une importante infrastructure de programmes et de services ainsi qu’une bonne coordination pangouvernementale. Tous les jours, la Direction des services au corps diplomatique est à l’avant-plan de ces activités, qui comprennent l’administration des programmes d’accréditation et la prestation d’événements spéciaux de rayonnement et de diplomatie publique à l’intention de la communauté diplomatique.

Visites et événements officiels

Le Bureau du Protocole s’occupe de la coordination et des éléments opérationnels des visites d’État, des visites officielles et des visites de travail au Canada ainsi que des voyages officiels à l’étranger du gouverneur général, du premier ministre et des ministres des portefeuilles.

Il établit aussi les normes de traitement pour les visites d’État, les visites officielles, les visites de travail et les visites privées de chefs d’État, de chefs de gouvernement, de ministres et d’invités du gouvernement. Le Bureau du Protocole veille aussi au respect des lignes directrices, des normes et des règles relatives aux invités du Canada.

L’équipe gère aussi le Centre d’accueil du Canada à l’aéroport international Macdonald-Cartier et le Programme national de service de courtoisie dans les aéroports. Principales personnes-ressources :

  • Coordonnateur du Programme national de service de courtoisie dans les aéroports, Direction des visites officielles du Bureau du Protocole; Téléphone : 343-203-3032; Télécopieur : 613-995-5661
  • Autorisations de survol (vols civils), Direction de la politique commerciale sur les services, Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada; Téléphone : 343-203-4473; Télécopieur : 613-944-0058 
  • Autorisations de survol (vols militaires), Direction des relations de sécurité et de défense, Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada; Téléphone : 343-203-3174; Télécopieur : 613-992-2482

Gestion des sommets et événements internationaux

En plus d’offrir un soutien à l’égard de la planification stratégique et des opérations aux ministères et organismes gouvernementaux qui organisent des conférences et des événements internationaux au Canada, cette Direction propose aussi des services consultatifs liés à la planification logistique aux États qui organisent des événements semblables à l’étranger.

Communiquez avec nous

Bureau du Protocole du Canada
Édifice Lester B. Pearson – Tour A
125, promenade Sussex, Ottawa  K1A 0G2
Renseignements généraux : 343-203-3002 (Lucette Bertrand, adjointe des Services protocolaires)

Télécopieur : 613-943-1075
Courriel : Bureau du Protocole
Site Web : Bureau du Protocole
*Service après les heures : 613-996-8885

Liens connexes