Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Procedures for the Replacement of Lost or Stolen Identity Cards

Circular Note No. XDC-1404 of June 26, 2000

Report of Lost of Identiy Card and Appliction for Replacement Form EXT-12 (PDF Version, 1 MB) *

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (Office of Protocol) presents its compliments to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and notified Chargés d’Affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada, Heads of International Organizations and other Offices established in Canada and has the honour to inform them of the procedures which must be followed when an identity card has been lost or stolen.

The Department wishes to advise Missions, Organizations and Offices that accredited personnel are required to report the loss or theft of an identity card to the local police as soon as the disappearance has been discovered. The identity card issued by the Department is the matching document to the acceptance which is placed in the passport.  The card is used as official identification and may provide provincial sales tax exemption to eligible personnel therefore it is very important that the loss or theft is reported immediately. When the loss or theft is reported to the local police, an officer will provide a report number to the individual.

Following this, an application for the replacement of the identity card must be sent as soon as possible to the Department by submitting the following documents:

  • A note from the Mission/letter from the Organization or Office requesting replacement of the lost or stolen identity card.
  • Report of Lost of Identity Card (Form EXT-12) completed and signed by the Head of Mission/Organization/Office.

Processing of an application may take up to 15 working days at which time the Department will issue the individual a new acceptance and matching identity card.

Moreover, the Department is required to report the loss or theft of all identity cards to Canada Customs and Revenue Agency.

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (Office of Protocol) avails itself of this opportunity to renew to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and notified Chargés d’affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada, and to the Heads of International Organizations and other offices established in Canada, the assurances of its highest consideration.

OTTAWA, June 26, 2000


* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page.

Footer

Date Modified:
2013-04-23

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Formalités pour le remplacement d’une carte d’identité perdue ou volée

Note Circulaire No XDC-1404 du 26 juin 2000

Rapport de perte de carte d’identitéet demande de remplacement formulaire EXT-12 (Version PDF, 1 mo) *

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Bureau du Protocole) présente ses compliments à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de Mission diplomatique et Chargés d’affaires a.i. accrédités auprès du Canada, ainsi qu’aux Chefs d’organisations internationales et autres bureaux établis au Canada, et a l’honneur de  les informer des procédures à suivre en cas de perte ou de vol d’une carte d’identité.

Le Ministère souhaite informer les Missions, les Organisations et autres Bureaux que le personnel accrédité doive signaler à la police locale la perte ou le vol d’une carte d’identité, dès qu’il en constate la disparition.  La carte d’identité délivrée par le Ministère est le document accompagnant l’acceptation, qui est placé dans le passeport. La carte sert de pièce d’identité officielle et peut permettre aux individus qui y sont admissibles de bénéficier de l’exemption de taxes provinciales.  Il est donc très important d’en signaler immédiatement la perte ou le vol.  Lorsque l’intéressé déclare la perte ou le vol de sa carte à la police locale, un  agent lui remettra un numéro de rapport.

Par la suite, une demande de remplacement de carte d’identité doit alors être présentée dès que possible au Ministère, accompagnée des documents suivants :

  • une note de la Mission ou une lettre de l’Organisation ou du Bureau sollicitant le remplacement de la carte d’identité perdue ou volée;
  • un rapport de perte de carte d’identité (formulaire EXT-12) rempli et signé par le Chef de Mission, d’Organisation ou du Bureau.

Le traitement d’une demande peut prendre jusqu’à quinze jours ouvrables, après quoi le Ministère délivrera à l’individu une nouvelle acceptation et la carte d’identité correspondante.

De plus, le Ministère est tenu de signaler la perte ou le vol de toute carte d’identité à l’Agence Canadienne des Douanes et du Revenu.

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Bureau du Protocole) saisit cette occasion pour renouveler à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de Mission diplomatique et Chargés d’affaires a.i. accrédités auprès du Canada, ainsi qu’aux chefs d’organisations internationales et autres bureaux établis au Canada, les assurances de sa plus haute considération.

OTTAWA, le 26 juin 2000


* Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2013-04-23