Locally-engaged staff working in foreign bilateral missions in Canada: What missions must know and do

Circular Note No. XDC-0605 of September 11, 2013

Last update: June 2, 2017

The Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development (Office of Protocol) presents its compliments to their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and notified Chargés d’affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada and has the honour to update its policy and procedures concerning persons employed locally by diplomatic missions and consular posts who are not Canadians or Permanent Residents.

This note supersedes Circular Note XDC-0024 of January 16, 2007.

1. Policy statement

It is generally expected that locally-engaged staff of diplomatic missions or consular posts will be Canadian citizens or Permanent Residents of Canada. However, it is the policy of the Department to permit diplomatic missions and consular posts to employ, as members of the locally-engaged staff, nationals of the sending State who are in Canada temporarily. Temporary Residents must have come to Canada for a purpose other than employment at the mission. The above may be applied restrictively on the basis of reciprocity, for instance if the prevailing conditions of the Canadian Mission with respect to the employment of locally-engaged staff in the other country are less favourable.

Further, nothing in this note should be construed as allowing temporary residents from a third country to be hired as locally-engaged staff.

Finally, the Department expects that all employer/employee relationships entered into between a Mission and its locally-engaged employees should be entered into under applicable Canadian Federal and Provincial labour laws and comply with related standards. The Department is not in a position to provide information or guidance on Canadian legal frameworks related to the above subject matter. The Embassy may wish to retain a professional firm or legal counsel to conduct this research or to otherwise obtain information through publicly-available resources.

2. Procedure

As locally-engaged staff are not granted official status by the Department, their entry into, and continued presence in, Canada fall under Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC) jurisdiction. In this regard, s.199 of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Regulation states that a “foreign national may apply for a work permit after entering Canada if they…hold a written statement from the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade stating that it has no objection to the foreign national working at a foreign mission in Canada.”

Therefore, Diplomatic Missions desiring to employ a national of the sending State must request the Department’s prior permission by submitting a note along with the applicant’s passport. The note must specify whether the sending State would allow the Canadian Mission in that country to employ a Canadian in similar circumstances. Once the request has been approved, a process which takes between ten (10) to fifteen (15) days, a note will be issued to the Mission, following which he/she will, as a Temporary Resident in Canada, be required to apply for a work permit.

Extension of temporary resident status as a worker will have to be sought through CIC prior to the expiration of the existing temporary resident status. All requirements in regard to such extension will have to be met by the applicant. As this matter is again within the jurisdiction of CIC, the Department can give no assurance that an extension of status will be granted and under what conditions or restrictions.

3. Tax obligations

The Department has not instituted a policy requiring foreign missions to make tax deductions on the salary of their locally-engaged staff and corresponding remittances to the fiscal authorities. In spite of this, the Department understands that a number of foreign missions based in Canada have voluntarily entered into arrangements with Revenue Canada for deductions and remittances, such as those related to the Income Tax Act, the Employment Insurance Act and the Canada Pension Plan Act. This is one of the best ways of ensuring that the employment of locally-engaged staff is not only pensionable under the Canada Pension Plan, but also insurable under the various Employment Insurance benefit programs, including those related to maternity leave, cessation of work, illness, etc.

For more information on the Canada Pension Plan and the Employment Insurance Act, see section 4.

The Department, more generally, wishes to clarify that all locally-engaged staff are in no way exempted from their obligations to observe Canadian laws and regulations, including those obligations concerning salary taxation. The payment of such taxes is ultimately between the employees and the relevant governments. Although the Embassy bears no responsibility for ensuring that these obligations are met, locally-engaged staff should be reminded of the expectation that they meet all their responsibilities as required by Canadian laws.

4. Canada Pension Plan and Employment Insurance Act

Generally, with respect to the Canada Pension Plan (CPP) and the Employment Insurance Act (EIA), the employment of an employee working in Canada for a government other than Canada is not pensionable or insurable. However, for Embassies who wish to request coverage under the CPP and the EIA for their locally engaged employees, both legislations have regulations that may permit coverage under certain conditions.

It is important to note that foreign states that voluntarily participate in payroll deduction plans or schemes for locally-engaged staff should undertake to voluntarily comply with the provisions of those plans or schemes. This would be done without prejudice to the privileges and immunities in effect or to the inviolability of diplomatic and consular archives.

In order to cover locally-engaged employees under the CPP and EIA, the following steps must be taken:

Canada Pension Plan

Under the CPP, the foreign government needs to enter into an Agreement with the Minister of National Revenue or with the Department of Employment and Social Development Canada.

If a foreign government wishes to conclude an agreement with the Minister of National Revenue, in order to include the employment in Canada of their employees under the CPP, they must submit a request in writing to:

Canada Revenue Agency (Headquarters)
CPP/EI Rulings Division
320 Queen Street, Tower A
Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0L5

If a foreign government wishes to conclude an agreement with the Department of Employment and Social Development Canada, they will have to contact that Department directly for further instructions.

Employment Insurance Act

Under the EIA, the foreign government needs to obtain consent in order to insure the employment of their employees in Canada.

To obtain consent, the foreign government must submit a request in writing, stating that they agree to cover their employees working in Canada under the Employment Insurance Act to:

Manager, EI Operational Policy
EI Benefits Processing Directorate
Transformation and Integrated Service Management Branch
Service Canada
140 Promenade du Portage
Phase IV Mail Stop 233
Gatineau, QC, K1A 0J9

Further questions on these two program areas can be referred to the Canada Revenue Agency’s Technical Policy Advisor at 613-957-2072.

The Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development (Office of Protocol) avails itself of this opportunity to renew to their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and notified Chargés d’affaires, a.i. the assurances of its highest consideration.

Ottawa, September 11, 2013

Les employés recrutés sur place travaillant au sein des missions bilatérales au Canada : ce que les missions doivent savoir et faire

Note circulaire no XDC-0605 du 11 septembre 2013

Plus récente modification : 24 octobre 2017

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement (Bureau du Protocole) présente ses compliments à Leurs Excellences les chefs de mission diplomatique et chargés d’affaires ad interim accrédités auprès du Canada, et a l’honneur d’actualiser sa politique et ses procédures concernant les employés recrutés sur place par les missions diplomatiques et les postes consulaires, qui ne sont pas des Canadiens ni des résidents permanents.

La présente note remplace la note circulaire no XDC-0024 du 16 janvier 2007.

1. Énoncé de politique

De façon générale, il est attendu que les employés recrutés sur place par les missions diplomatiques et les postes consulaires soient des citoyens canadiens ou des résidents permanents du Canada. Toutefois, le Ministère a pour politique de permettre aux missions diplomatiques et aux postes consulaires d’engager, comme membres du personnel recruté sur place, des ressortissants de l’État d’envoi qui sont au Canada de façon temporaire. Les résidents temporaires doivent être venus au Canada pour un motif autre que leur embauche par la mission. La disposition précédente peut être appliquée de façon restrictive sur la base de la réciprocité, par exemple si les conditions qui prévalent dans le pays où se situe la mission relativement à l’emploi de personnel recruté sur place sont moins favorables.

Par ailleurs, aucune disposition de la présente note ne permet d’embaucher des résidents temporaires d’un pays tiers à titre d’employés recrutés sur place et ne saurait être interprétée comme tel.

Enfin, le Ministère s’attend à ce que toutes les relations employeur-employé établies entre une mission et son personnel recruté sur place respectent les lois sur le travail fédérales et provinciales ainsi que les normes connexes. Le Ministère n’est pas en mesure de fournir des renseignements ou des conseils sur les cadres juridiques en vigueur au Canada relativement à cette question. L’ambassade pourra souhaiter retenir les services d’un cabinet professionnel ou d’un conseiller juridique pour mener à bien cette recherche ou obtenir ces renseignements de ressources accessibles publiquement.

2. Procédure

Étant donné que le Ministère n’accorde aucun statut officiel aux employés recrutés sur place, l’entrée de ces derniers au Canada et leur présence continue au pays relèvent de la compétence de Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada (CIC). À cet égard, l’art. 199 du Règlement sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés stipule qu’un « étranger peut faire une demande de permis de travail après son entrée au Canada… [s’il]détient une déclaration écrite du ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international qui confirme que celui-ci n’a aucune objection à ce qu’il travaille à une mission étrangère au Canada ».

Par conséquent, les missions diplomatiques qui désirent embaucher un ressortissant du pays d’envoi doivent demander l’autorisation préalable du Ministère en présentant une note accompagnée du passeport du demandeur. Cette note doit préciser si l’État d’envoi permettrait à la mission canadienne dans ce pays d’embaucher un Canadien dans des circonstances similaires. Une fois que la demande aura été approuvée, un processus qui prend entre dix (10) et quinze (15) jours, une note sera envoyée à la mission, à la suite de quoi le demandeur, à titre de résident temporaire, devra demander un permis de travail.

La demande de prolongation du statut de résident temporaire à titre de travailleur devra être présentée à CIC avant l’expiration du statut en cours. Toutes les exigences relatives à une telle prolongation devront être satisfaites par le demandeur. Encore une fois, comme cette question relève de CIC, le Ministère ne peut garantir que la prolongation du statut sera accordée ni qu’aucune condition ou restriction ne sera imposée.

3. Obligations fiscales

Le Ministère n’a pas de politique qui obligerait les missions étrangères à effectuer des retenues d’impôt sur la paie des employés recrutés sur place et à verser les sommes correspondantes à l’administration fiscale. Néanmoins, le Ministère croit savoir que plusieurs missions étrangères établies au Canada ont conclu des ententes avec Revenu Canada concernant les retenues sur la paye et les versements, dont ceux qui découlent de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu, la Loi sur l’assurance-emploi et la Loi sur le régime de pensions du Canada. Cette pratique est l’une des meilleures façons de s’assurer que l’emploi du personnel recruté sur place ouvre droit à pension en vertu de la Loi sur le régime de pensions du Canada, mais aussi qu’il est assurable aux termes des différents programmes de prestations d’assurance-emploi, notamment pour les congés de maternité, les arrêts de travail et des raisons de santé.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le Régime de pensions du Canada et la Loi sur l'assurance-emploi, veuillez consulter la section 4 des présentes.

De manière générale, le Ministère tient à préciser que les employés recrutés sur place ne sont en aucun cas exemptés de leur obligation de respecter les lois et les règlements canadiens, y compris l’obligation de payer l’impôt sur leur salaire. Le paiement de ces impôts est une question entre les employés et les gouvernements concernés. Bien que l’ambassade ne soit aucunement responsable de s’assurer qu’ils remplissent leurs obligations, elle souhaite rappeler aux employés recrutés sur place qu’ils sont tenus de respecter les exigences de la législation canadienne.

4. Régime de pensions du Canada et la Loi sur l'assurance-emploi

De façon générale, en ce qui concerne le Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC) et la Loi sur l'assurance-emploi (LAE), l’emploi d’une personne au Canada employé par un gouvernement autre que celui du Canada n’ouvre pas droit à pension ou à l’assurance. Cependant, pour les ambassades qui souhaitent que leurs employés recrutés sur place soient couverts par le RPC et la LAE, les règlements d’application de ces lois prévoient cette possibilité dans certaines conditions.    

Il est important de mentionner que les États étrangers qui choisissent de participer à des programmes de retenue à la source destinés aux employés recrutés sur place devraient s’engager à respecter volontairement les dispositions de ces programmes. Cela sans porter préjudice aux privilèges et immunités en vigueur, ni même à l’inviolabilité des archives diplomatiques et consulaires.

Pour faire en sorte que les employés recrutés sur place soient couverts par le RPC et la LAE, il faut suivre les étapes indiquées ci-dessous.

Régime de pensions du Canada

En vertu du RPC, le gouvernement du pays étranger doit conclure un accord avec le ministre du Revenu national ou avec le ministère de l’Emploi et du Développement social.

Si le gouvernement d’un pays étranger souhaite conclure un accord avec le ministre du Revenu national dans le but de faire en sorte que les emplois de ses employés soient couverts par le RPC, il doit en faire la demande par écrit à l’adresse suivante :

Agence du revenu du Canada (administration centrale)
Section des décisions RPC/AE
320, rue Queen, tour A
Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0L5

Si le gouvernement d’un pays étranger souhaite conclure un accord avec le ministère de l’Emploi et du Développement social, il devra communiquer directement avec ce ministère pour se renseigner sur la procédure à suivre.

Loi sur l'assurance-emploi

En vertu de la LAE, le gouvernement étranger doit obtenir une autorisation pour assurer l’emploi de ses employés au Canada.

Pour obtenir cette autorisation, le gouvernement étranger doit en faire la demande par écrit et indiquer qu’il accepte que la Loi sur l’assurance-emploi s’applique à ses employés travaillant au Canada. Cette demande doit être transmise au :

Gestionnaire, politique opérationnelle en matière d’assurance-emploi
Direction de traitement des prestations d’assurance-emploi
Direction générale de la transformation et de la gestion intégrée des services
Service Canada
140, promenade du Portage
Phase IV, arrêt postal no 233
Gatineau, QC, K1A 0J9

Si vous avez d’autres questions sur ces deux programmes, veuillez communiquer avec le conseiller technique aux politiques de l’Agence du revenu du Canada au : 613-670-7397.

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement (Bureau du Protocole) saisit cette occasion pour renouveler à Leurs Excellences les chefs de mission diplomatique et chargé d’affaires a.i. les assurances de sa plus haute considération.

Ottawa, le 11 septembre 2013