Update on the Goods and Services Tax/Harmonized Sales Tax Rebate Application Process

Circular Note No. XDC-1310-2 of March 16, 2015

The Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development (Office of Protocol) presents its compliments to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and notified Chargés d’affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada, and the Heads of International Organizations and Other Offices established in Canada, and has the honour to inform them of recent changes to the process of submitting rebate claims for the federal Goods and Services Tax (GST) and the Harmonized Sales Tax (HST).

The Department particularly asks that diplomatic missions transmit the content of this Note, along with a copy of Circular Note XDC-1433 of July 8, 2008, to all consular posts established in Canada, including those headed by an honorary consular officer.

Province of Québec

Province of Québec

All eligible consular posts, international organizations and permanent Member State Missions to international organizations based in Québec, as well as accredited foreign representatives whose personal residence is located in Québec are asked to use form FPZ-2498-V(2014-12) (available on-line) in order to claim the rebate for the Goods and Services Tax (GST), the Québec Sales Tax (QST) and all other taxes or duties arising from Quebec law. The completed form must be submitted directly to Revenu Québec at the following address:

  3800, rue de Marly
  Québec, Québec
  G1X 4A5

All eligible diplomatic missions, consular posts, international organisations and permanent Member State Missions to international organizations based outside of Québec, as well as foreign representatives whose personal residence is located outside of Québec but who make purchases in the province of Québec are asked to submit two separate claims. Claims for a rebate of the federal Goods and Services Tax (GST) must be made in accordance with the section All Other Provinces (below). Claims for a rebate of the Québec sales tax (QST) and any other taxes or duties arising from Quebec law must be made using form FPZ-2498-V(2014-12) (available on-line). The completed form must be submitted directly to Revenu Québec at the following address:

  3800, rue de Marly
  Québec, Québec
  G1X 4A5

All Other Provinces

The Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) Summerside Tax Centre, Prince Edward Island, is now only processing rebate claims received from addresses where the postal code begins with the letter “K”. If the claimant’s address has a postal code that does not begin with a “K”, he/she must send the application to the Sudbury Tax Centre at 1050 Notre Dame Avenue, Sudbury, Ontario, P3A 5C1.

Whether claiming the GST/HST rebate via the Summerside Tax Centre or the Sudbury Tax Centre, claimants must use the GST498 Form available online in both PDF and PDF fillable/saveable formats.

All GST/HST claimants are strongly encouraged to carefully read the “General Information and Instructions” section of the 498 GST/HST form, as this is the best way to avoid errors and processing delays. Claimants will note that the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) no longer requires original invoices but instead will accept copies of invoices, receipts and other supporting documents to substantiate all claims. Original documents, if submitted, will not be returned to the Mission or requestor.

Also, when completing the forms, the claim period “from” date that is required is the date of the earliest receipt that is being submitted and not the date that the claimant arrived in Canada. This is a common error that causes delays in processing claims.

Once processing is completed, the Canada Revenue Agency will continue the practice of sending a notice of assessment describing the remittance in detail to the claimant.

Questions regarding this note should be addressed to the Manager, Privileges and Immunities, Office of Protocol at (343) 203-3013.

The Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development (Office of Protocol) avails itself of this opportunity to renew to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and notified Chargés d’affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada, and to the Heads of International Organizations and Other Offices established in Canada, the assurances of its highest consideration.

OTTAWA, March 16, 2015

Mise à jour du processus de présentation des demandes de remboursement de la taxe sur les produits et services/taxe de vente harmonisée (TPS/TVH)

Note circulaire XDC-1310-2 du 16 mars 2015

Le Ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement (Bureau du Protocole) présente ses compliments à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de Mission diplomatique et aux Chargés d’affaires ad intérim accrédités au Canada ainsi qu’aux Chefs d’organisations internationales et d’autres bureaux établis au Canada, et a l’honneur de les informer de changements qui ont été apportés récemment au processus de présentation des demandes de remboursement de la taxe fédérale sur les biens et services (TPS) et de la taxe de vente harmonisée (TVH).

Le Ministère s’attend tout particulièrement à ce que les Missions diplomatiques communiquent le contenu de la présente Note, accompagné d’une copie de la Note circulaire XDC-1433 du 3 juillet 2008, à tous les postes consulaires établis au Canada, y compris ceux qui sont dirigés par un fonctionnaire consulaire honoraire.

Province de Québec

Les postes consulaires, les organisations internationales et les missions permanentes d’États membres auprès d’organisations internationales établis au Québec, ainsi que les représentants étrangers éligibles ayant leur résidence personnelle au Québec sont priés de présenter leurs demandes de remboursement de la taxe sur les produits et services (TPS), de la taxe de vente du Québec (TVQ) et d’autres taxes et droits découlant d’une loi québécoise au moyen du formulaire FPZ-2498(2014-12), disponible sur la toile et de le faire parvenir directement à Revenu Québec aux coordonnées suivantes :

  3800, rue de MarlyQuébec,
  Québec
  G1X 4A5

Les missions diplomatiques, les postes consulaires, les organisations internationales et les missions permanentes d’États membres auprès d’organisations internationales établis hors Québec ainsi que les représentants étrangers éligibles ayant leur résidence personnelle à l’extérieur du Québec mais effectuant des achats dans la province de Québec, doivent procéder à deux réclamations distinctes. Ils peuvent réclamer le remboursement de la taxe sur les produits en services (TPS) conformément à la section Toutes les autres provinces (ci-dessous), et celui de la taxe de vente du Québec (TVQ) et d’autres taxes et droits découlant d’une loi québécoise au moyen du formulaire FPZ-2498(2014-12), disponible sur la toile. Le formulaire doit être envoyé directement à Revenu Québec aux coordonnées suivantes :

  3800, rue de Marly
  Québec, Québec
  G1X 4A5

Toutes les autres provinces

Le Centre fiscal de Summerside de l’agence du Revenu du Canada (ARC) à l’Île du Prince Édouard ne traite maintenant uniquement que les demandes de remboursement provenant des adresses dont le code postal commence par la lettre « K ». Les demandeurs dont l’adresse ne commence pas par la lettre « K » doivent plutôt envoyer leur demande au Centre fiscal de Sudbury, à l’adresse suivante : 1050, avenue Notre Dame, Sudbury (Ontario) P3A 5C1.

S’agissant du formulaire TPS498 à utiliser dans les deux cas susmentionnés, les demandeurs peuvent le récupérer sur la toile en format soit PDF ou «PDF à remplir et sauvegarder en direct ».

En outre, toutes les personnes qui envisagent réclamer un remboursement de la TPS/TVH ont intérêt à lire attentivement la section « Renseignements généraux et instructions » du formulaire TPS498, car c’est le meilleur moyen d’éviter les erreurs et les retards dans le traitement de leur demande. Il convient de noter que l’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) n’exige plus les documents originaux et accepte des copies des factures, reçus et autres documents à l’appui des demandes de remboursement. Il est à noter que si les documents originaux sont soumis, l'ARC ne les renverra pas à la Mission ou au demandeur.

Il convient de noter également que la date du début de la période couverte par la demande est celle du reçu le plus ancien et non celle à laquelle le demandeur est arrivé au Canada. Il s’agit d’une erreur courante qui cause des retards dans le traitement des demandes.

Comme par le passé, une fois le traitement complété, l’Agence du revenu du Canada envoie au demandeur un avis d’évaluation décrivant en détail le remboursement accordé.

Le gestionnaire, Privilèges et immunités, Bureau du Protocole (téléphone au 343-203-3013), est disponible pour répondre aux questions concernant cette note circulaire.

Le Ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement (Bureau du Protocole) saisit cette occasion pour renouveler à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de Mission diplomatique et aux Chargés d’affaires ad intérim accrédités au Canada, ainsi qu’aux Chefs d’organisations internationales et d’autres bureaux établis au Canada, les assurances de sa très haute considération.

OTTAWA, le 16 mars 2015