Hiring a Domestic Worker & Related Accreditation Program

This policy, which superseded the Department's Circular Note XDC-2494 of December 29, 2009, is NOW REPEALED.

1. Accreditation Program Description

The Domestic Worker Accreditation Program allows certain foreign representatives to employ a domestic worker who will live and work in their private household during the posting period, and subsequently seek accreditation via the head of the diplomatic mission, international organization or special representative office (hereinafter referred to as “head of mission”). Employers must meet all legal, policy and program requirements, which includes the preparation of an employment contract that must be signed by both the employer and the employee.

As accredited domestic workers have the same labour rights, human rights and social protections as all Canadians and temporary foreign workers in Canada, it would not be appropriate for prospective employers to sign a contract when they are financially unable to pay the wages specified in the employment contract and otherwise meet all conditions of employment set in the contract. In this regard, the Department considers that it is the joint responsibility of the head of mission and individual employers to ensure compliance with the provisions of the accreditation program and the minimum provincial labour standards applicable to the domestic workers’ working conditions.

The exploitation of a domestic worker may violate Canadian law and human rights. The Government of Canada condemns all acts of labour exploitation, including human trafficking. Human trafficking is the most extreme form of exploitation, and a serious crime.

2. Who is Eligible to Hire a Domestic Worker and Limits

In order to hire a domestic worker, the foreign representative must be posted to Canada as:

  • an ambassador, high commissioner or head of an international organization or special representative office (a maximum of 2 domestic workers per household); or
  • a diplomatic agent or a person with a status equivalent to that which is afforded to diplomatic agent (a maximum of 1 domestic worker per household);
  • a career consular officer (a maximum of 1 domestic worker per household).

Accredited foreign representatives who hold a "J" Acceptance do not qualify.

3. Requirements — Employers

Prospective employers are strongly encouraged to make a reasonable effort to first fill the position with a Canadian citizen, a permanent resident or a live-in caregiver already in Canada.

In addition, prospective employers must:

  • have sufficient income to pay the domestic worker in accordance with the prevailing wage set in the province of residence and the method of payroll payment set by the Office of Protocol, and further agree to ensure complete, accurate and timely payroll;
  • ensure that the potential employee is at least 21 years old, has successfully completed the equivalent of Canadian high school education, has received at least six (6) months of training, and has worked as a domestic worker or caregiver or in a related occupation for at least 2 years during the past 4 years;
  • ensure that that potential employee has the ability to speak, read and understand English or French so that they can function on their own in an unsupervised setting;
  • pay up-front the transportation costs from the employee’s country of current residence to Canada;
  • pay the transportation costs from Canada at the end of the posting or upon termination of the employment, whichever comes first;
  • submit, through the head of mission, a written contract (called a Household Domestic Worker Employment Agreementor HDWEA) signed by the employer and employee, which includes a description of:
    1. wages, including overtime
    2. hours of work
    3. job duties
    4. suitable accommodation arrangements and workplace safety
    5. holiday and leave entitlements
    6. health insurance coverage
    7. termination, resignation, and repatriation terms.

The Department requests that all payments to the employee be done by either cheque or bank transfer. Cash payments are not permitted. In addition, the employee should receive a payroll statement. The Department may, at any time, request a copy of such statement as proof of payment from the employer.

Potential employers are encouraged to use the employment contract model developed by the Office of Protocol. If an employer chooses to develop his/her own contract, such contract does not have to look exactly like the Canadian model, but it must contain fair terms and conditions of employment, and information and clauses to ensure that domestic workers receive all the protections owed to them under Canadian laws and regulations, which include provincial labour standards. The use of an alternative contract format may delay processing as the Office of Protocol will be required to determine if the contract complies with statutory labour standards. The use of an alternative contract does not exempt the employer from the requirement to pay the employee by either cheque or bank transfer, as stated in the above paragraph.

The employer must not confiscate the passport, identity card, employment contract or other personal property from the domestic worker. A domestic worker has the right to keep his or her passport, identity card, employment contract and personal property in a safe and accessible place at all times.

A foreign representative who fails to respect the terms and conditions of the employment contract, including those relating to the method of payroll, will be prohibited to employ domestic workers in the future. Other restrictions may be imposed on the mission.

An employer may, however, substitute the domestic worker during the course of a normal posting if the previous domestic worker has completed his/her contract, transferred to a new employer or has effectively left Canada.

The Office of Protocol may request that certain countries demonstrate that they have developed and implemented an outreach and education program, or code of conduct, for their employees posted to Canada regarding the labour protections owed to domestic workers in Canada.

4. Requirements — Employees

The domestic worker cannot be a blood relative of the employer or the employer’s spouse. A blood relationship means a first degree relationship with the employer and/or the employer’s spouse (this includes grandparents, parents, brothers or sisters, nephews or nieces, sons or daughters or grandchildren).

Pre-arrival in Canada

Assuming that the Office of Protocol has accepted in principle the employment of the potential domestic worker in the household of the foreign representative and approves the related employment contract, he/she:

  • is strongly encouraged to obtain detailed information about labour protections and rights enjoyed by domestic workers in Canada;
  • must apply for and obtain a Temporary Resident Visa (TRV), even if his/her country is visa-exempt;
  • undergo a medical examination, as well as an interview with a Citizenship and Immigration Canada officer;
  • cannot be accompanied by dependents;
  • should keep a signed copy of his/her employment contract in a safe and accessible place.

A visa will not be issued to a domestic worker who is inadmissible to Canada for medical reasons.

Post-arrival in Canada

The domestic worker:

  • should not agree to sign another employment contract with terms and conditions that are less favourable without the express consent of the Office of Protocol.
  • cannot work for more than one employer at a time or care for individuals not forming part of the accredited employer’s household;
  • cannot transfer employer without the express consent of the Office of Protocol;
  • is required to leave Canada upon termination of the employment contract, at the end of the employer's posting or after seven years, whichever is earliest (a domestic worker who has been in Canada for the maximum period of seven years and who wishes to find a new employer and return to work in Canada under an official acceptance will be allowed to do so only after a stay abroad of at least six months and if the domestic worker has respected the terms and conditions of the HDWEA with the previous employer(s).

A domestic worker who violates the terms and conditions of the contract and of Canadian rules and policy will not be allowed to change employers.

A domestic worker should also take steps to improve his/her English and French skills before or after arrival in Canada. Even if a domestic worker can speak English or French, he/she may have difficulty understanding people and making himself/herself understood in Canada because of the different accents, the fast rate of speech, expressions used and communication conventions in Canadian society and workplaces.

5. How to apply and Checklist

When a potential employer wishes to hire a domestic worker, the head of mission must submit on his/her behalf an official request to the Office of Protocol of Foreign Affairs and International Trade with the following documents:

  1. A note verbale or letter signed by the head of mission, which contains a statement that the potential employer has the financial ability to pay the wages and the ability to otherwise meet the working conditions required in the province of employment.
  2. The HDWEA (PDF Version, 140 KB)* or employment contract signed by both the employer and employee.
  3. Details regarding the awareness training or outreach program undergone by the employer regarding the labour protections owed to domestic workers in Canada, if specifically required by the Office of Protocol.

6. Next Steps

The Office of Protocol will assess the employment application submitted by the head of mission and related documentation to ensure that the employer and employee meet the program requirements.

Once the assessment is complete, the Office of Protocol will notify the head of mission of the final decision and further relay such decision to Citizenship and Immigration Canada.

If the assessment is positive, the potential employee must submit a Temporary Resident Visa (TRV) application through the Canadian mission abroad. The mission responsible for the issuance of the Temporary Resident Visa (TRV) will subsequently:

  • Interview the potential employee, namely to evaluate the applicant's expertise and/or a possible blood relationship with the employer, and to ensure that he/she has been properly informed about workplace rights in Canada and understands the terms and conditions of the employment contract;
  • Ensure that a medical examination is done.

The Canadian mission will inform the Office of Protocol of the results. If there is no adverse information, the Office of Protocol will provide a no objection to the Canadian mission for the issuance of the appropriate Temporary Resident Visa (TRV).

7. Arrival in Canada of a Domestic Worker

Upon arrival in Canada, the domestic worker will be granted admission as a temporary resident. The mission should quickly seek the domestic worker’s accreditation following the same procedures as those applicable to all foreign representatives. The Office of Protocol will then issue the official acceptance and matching identity card to the domestic worker as a reliable proof of status in Canada.

8. Employment Standards by Province

The employer must agree to review and adjust the domestic worker’s prevailing wage to ensure it meets or exceeds, at all times, the requirements as outlined on the following table: Live-in Caregiver Program Wages, Working Conditions and Occupation.

9. Privacy Protection

See the Department's Circular Note XDC-0406 of April 2, 2004.

Footnotes

Footnote *

If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page.

Return to footnote * referrer

Embauche d’un domestique privé et programme d’accréditation connexe

Cette directive, qui remplaçait la Note circulaire XDC-2494 du 29 décembre 2009, est maintenant annulée. Voir la politique révisée.

1. Description du programme d’accréditation

Le Programme d’accréditation des domestiques privés permet à certains représentants étrangers d’employer des domestiques privés qui travailleront et résideront à leur domicile au cours de la période d’affectation. Ces représentants doivent faire une demande d’accréditation pour les domestiques privés par l’entremise du chef de la mission diplomatique, de l’organisation internationale ou du bureau de représentation spéciale (ci-après appelé « chef de mission »). De plus, les employeurs doivent respecter toutes les exigences juridiques et les exigences des politiques et des programmes, y compris la préparation d’un contrat de travail qui doit être signé par l’employeur et l’employé.

Étant donné que les domestiques privés accrédités disposent des mêmes droits en matière d’emploi, des mêmes droits de la personne et des mêmes protections sociales que les Canadiens et les employés étrangers temporaires au Canada, il ne serait pas convenable pour des employeurs potentiels de signer un contrat s’ils n’ont pas les moyens de payer le salaire précisé dans le contrat de travail et de respecter toutes les modalités d’emploi énoncées dans le document. À cet égard, le Ministère considère qu’il est de la responsabilité du chef de mission et des employeurs individuels à veiller au respect des dispositions du programme d’accréditation et des normes provinciales minimales en matière d’emploi applicables aux conditions de travail des domestiques privés.

L’exploitation d’un domestique privé pourrait aller à l’encontre de lois canadiennes et des droits de la personne. Le gouvernement du Canada condamne tous les gestes d’exploitation de la main-d’œuvre, y compris le trafic de personnes. Le trafic de personnes est la pire forme d’exploitation de la main-d’œuvre et il constitue un crime grave.

2. Admissibilité pour l’embauche d’un domestique privé et limites

Pour embaucher un domestique privé, le représentant étranger doit être en affectation au Canada dans l’un des postes suivants :

  • ambassadeur, haut-commissaire ou chef d’une organisation internationale ou d’un bureau de représentation spéciale (limite de deux domestiques privés par ménage);
  • agent diplomatique ou personne disposant d’un statut équivalent à celui qui est accordé à un agent diplomatique (limite d’un seul domestique privé par ménage);
  • fonctionnaire consulaire de carrière (limite d’un seul domestique privé par ménage).

Ne sont pas admissibles les personnes accréditées détenant une Acceptation en série « J ».

3. Exigences pour les employeurs

On encourage fortement les employeurs éventuels à faire un effort raisonnable pour embaucher d’abord un Canadien, un résident permanent ou un domestique privé qui est déjà au Canada.

De plus, les employeurs éventuels doivent :

  • disposer d’un revenu suffisant pour payer le domestique conformément au taux courant établi dans la province de résidence et au mode de paiement fixé par le Bureau du Protocole, et garantir que le registre de paie sera complet, exact et opportun;
  • s’assurer que l’employé éventuel est âgé d’au moins 21 ans, qu’il a terminé avec succès des études équivalentes au cours secondaire au Canada, qu’il a suivi au moins six (6) mois de formation et qu’il a travaillé comme domestique ou aide familial, ou encore occupé un poste semblable, durant au moins deux des quatre dernières années;
  • vérifier que l’employé éventuel peut parler, lire et comprendre le français ou l’anglais suffisamment pour se débrouiller seul dans un environnement non supervisé;
  • payer, à l’avance, les frais de transport de l’employé au Canada à partir de son pays de résidence;
  • payer les frais de transport à partir du Canada à la fin de l’affectation ou au moment de la cessation d’emploi, selon la première éventualité;
  • présenter, par l’entremise du chef de mission, un contrat écrit (appelé Entente d’emploi comme domestique privé ou EEDP) signé par l’employeur et l’employé, comprenant une description des éléments suivants :
    1. traitement, y compris la rémunération des heures supplémentaires
    2. horaire de travail
    3. tâches liées à l’emploi
    4. logement convenable et sécurité en milieu de travail
    5. droit aux jours fériés et aux congés
    6. couverture d’assurance-maladie
    7. modalités de cessation d’emploi, de démission et de rapatriement

Le Ministère exige que tous les paiements à l'employé soient effectués par chèque ou virement bancaire. Les paiements en espèces ne sont pas autorisés. De plus, l'employé doit recevoir un relevé de paie. Le Ministère peut, à tout moment, demander une copie de ce relevé comme preuve de paiement par l'employeur.

Le Ministère encourage les employeurs potentiels à utiliser le modèle d’Entente d’emploi élaboré par le Bureau du Protocole. Si un employeur décide de rédiger sa propre entente, le document n’a pas à être identique au modèle canadien, mais il doit contenir des modalités d’emploi équitables, ainsi que des renseignements et des clauses pour assurer que le domestique privé reçoive toutes les protections que lui confèrent les lois et règlements canadiens, y compris les normes de travail provinciales. L’utilisation d’un format de contrat alternatif peut allonger le temps de traitement parce que le Bureau du Protocole devra déterminer si l’entente est conforme aux normes de travail. L’utilisation d’une Entente de remplacement n’exempte pas l’employeur de l’obligation de payer le salaire de l’employé sous forme de chèque ou de virement bancaire, comme il est indiqué au paragraphe précédent.

L’employeur ne doit pas confisquer le passeport, la carte d’identité, le contrat de travail ou d’autres biens personnels de l’employé. Le domestique privé a le droit de conserver son passeport, sa carte d’identité, son contrat de travail et ses biens personnels dans un endroit sécuritaire et accessible en tout temps.

Un représentant étranger qui ne respecte pas les modalités du contrat de travail, notamment celles relatives au mode de paiement, se verra interdire d’embaucher des domestiques privés à l’avenir. D’autres restrictions pourront être imposées à la mission.

Un employeur peut, par contre, changer de domestique privé durant son affectation si l’employé précédent a terminé son contrat, a changé d’employeur ou a quitté le pays.

Le Bureau du Protocole peut demander à certains pays de prouver qu’ils ont élaboré et mis en œuvre un programme de sensibilisation et d’apprentissage, ou un code de conduite, à l’endroit de leurs employés en affectation au Canada au sujet des protections en matière d’emploi que possèdent les domestiques privés au Canada.

4. Exigences pour les employés

Nul domestique privé ne peut pas avoir un lien de sang avec l’employeur ou avec son conjoint. Un lien de sang signifie une relation de premier degré avec l’employeur et/ou avec son conjoint, ce qui inclut les grands-parents, les parents, les frères et sœurs, les neveux et nièces, les enfants et petits-enfants).

Avant l’arrivée au Canada

Si le Bureau du Protocole accepte en principe l’emploi éventuel du domestique privé dans le ménage du représentant étranger et approuve le contrat de travail connexe, l’employé :

  • devrait obtenir des renseignements détails sur les droits ouvriers ainsi que les protections consentis aux domestiques privés au Canada;
  • devra demander et obtenir un visa de résident temporaire, même si son pays fait l'objet d'une exemption de visa;
  • subir un examen médical, ainsi que passer une entrevue avec un agent de Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada
  • ne peut être accompagné de personnes à charge;
  • devrait garder son Entente d’emploi dans un endroit sécuritaire et accessible.

II ne sera pas délivré de visa à un domestique privé qui ne peut pas entrer au Canada pour des raisons médicales.

Après l’arrivée au Canada

Le domestique privé :

  • ne devrait pas signer un autre contrat d'emploi dont les modalités sont moins avantageuses sans le consentement exprès du Bureau du Protocole;
  • ne pourra pas travailler pour plus d’un employeur à la fois ou s’occuper de personnes extérieures au ménage de l’employeur accrédité;
  • ne changera pas d’employeur sans le consentement exprès du Bureau du Protocole;
  • devra quitter le Canada à la fin du contrat de travail, à la fin de l’affectation de l’employeur ou après un maximum de sept ans, selon la première éventualité (un domestique privé qui a demeuré au Canada durant la période maximum permise de sept ans, et qui désire se trouver un nouvel employeur et travailler au Canada à nouveau dans le cadre du programme d’accréditation est autorisé à le faire après un séjour d’au moins six mois à l’étranger et à condition d’avoir respecté les modalités d’EEDP auprès des employeurs précédents).

Un domestique privé qui déroge aux modalités du contrat et aux règles et politiques du Canada ne sera pas autorisé à changer d'employeur.

Un domestique privé devrait également prendre des mesures en vue d’améliorer ses compétences en anglais et en français avant son arrivée au Canada et durant son séjour. Même si un domestique personnel parle français ou anglais, il pourrait avoir de la difficulté à comprendre les gens ou à se faire comprendre en raison des différents accents, des débits de parole rapides, des expressions utilisées et des conventions de communication dans la société et dans les milieux de travail du Canada.

5. Procédure de présentation d’une demande et liste de vérification

Quand un employeur veut embaucher un domestique privé, le chef de mission doit, au nom de l’employeur éventuel, présenter au Bureau du Protocole d’Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada une demande officielle et les documents suivants :

  1. Une note verbale ou une lettre signée par le chef de mission, comportant une déclaration voulant que l’employeur éventuel dispose des moyens financiers nécessaires pour assumer le salaire de l’employé ainsi que de la capacité de respecter les autres modalités d’emploi de la province de travail.
  2. L’EEDP (Version PDF, 135 ko)* ou le contrat de travail signés par l’employeur et l’employé.
  3. Les détails concernant la formation et le programme en sensibilisation suivis par l’employé au sujet des protections en matière d’emploi accordées aux domestiques privés au Canada, si le document est expressément exigé par le Bureau du Protocole.

6. Étapes suivantes

Le Bureau du Protocole évaluera la demande d’accréditation présentée par le chef de mission et les documents d’accompagnement afin de veiller à ce que l’employé et l’employeur respectent les exigences du programme.

Une fois l’évaluation terminée, le Bureau du Protocole avisera le chef de mission de la décision finale et fera parvenir sa décision à Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada.

Si le résultat de l’évaluation est positif, l’employé potentiel devra présenter une demande de visa de résident temporaire (VRT) par l’entremise de la mission canadienne à l’étranger. La mission chargée d’accorder le VRT suivra les étapes suivantes :

  • Interviewer l’employé potentiel, notamment en vue d’évaluer son expertise et/ou si un lien de sang l’unit à l’employeur, et de veiller à ce qu’il soit correctement informé de ses droits en milieu de travail au Canada et à ce qu’il comprenne bien les modalités du contrat de travail;
  • Veiller à ce qu’un examen médical soit effectué.

La mission du Canada informera le Bureau du Protocole des résultats. S’il n’y a aucun renseignement défavorable, le Bureau du Protocole ne formulera aucune objection à la délivrance du VRT approprié par la mission canadienne.

7. Arrivée au Canada du domestique privé

À son arrivée au Canada, le domestique privé est admis comme résident temporaire. La mission devra promptement demander l’accréditation du domestique privé en suivant les mêmes procédures que celles applicables aux représentants étrangers. Le Bureau du Protocole accordera ensuite au domestique privé l’acceptation officielle et lui fournira la carte d’identité correspondante à titre de preuve fiable de statut au Canada.

8. Normes relatives à l’emploi ventilées par province

L’employeur doit consentir à réviser et à ajuster le salaire courant du domestique privé de sorte qu’il respecte ou dépasse, à tout moment, les exigences présentées à la page Web suivante : Programme des aides familiaux résidants Salaires, conditions de travail et profession.

9. Protection des renseignements personnels

Voir la Note circulaire XDC-0406 du 2 avril 2004 du Ministère.

Notes de bas de page

Notes de bas de page *

Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page *