Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Residential Address of Foreign Representatives Based in Canada

Circular Note No. XDC-0005 of January 9, 2006

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (Office of Protocol) presents its compliments to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and Chargés d'affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada and has the honour to refer its circular note XDC-0141 of January 31, 2003, regarding the residential addresses for accredited foreign representatives based in Canada and members of their family.

The Department, in order to adequately discharge its obligations to ensure the protection and security of the diplomatic community, continues to largely depend on the support of Heads of Diplomatic Missions and notified Chargés d'affaires, a.i. in notifying the residential addresses and phone numbers of accredited persons, as well as updating this data when required. The Government of Canada's effectiveness in meeting its twofold commitment of responding to emergencies and reducing the risk that an accredited person's immunity will be violated is due in part to the collection of personal information of this nature which has been supplied voluntarily by the Diplomatic Missions.

It is therefore hoped that the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and notified Chargés d'affaires, a.i. will recognize a renewed interest in, or be pursuaded of the benefit of, disclosing and updating the personal addresses, which can now be forwarded by way of e-mail at xdc@international.gc.ca or by Note Verbale.

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (Office of Protocol) takes this opportunity to renew to Their Excellencies the Heads of Diplomatic Missions and Chargés d'affaires, a.i. accredited to Canada the assurances of its highest consideration.

Ottawa, January 9, 2006

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-10-18

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Adresses résidentielles des représentants étrangers résidant au Canada

Note circulaire No XDC-0005 du 9 janvier 2006

Le Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Bureau du protocole) présente ses compliments à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de Mission diplomatique et les Chargés d'affaires a.i. accrédités auprès du Canada et a l'honneur de se référer à sa note circulaire XDC-0141, du 31 janvier 2003, concernant les adresses résidentielles des représentants étrangers et des membres de leur famille accrédités au Canada.

Le Ministère, afin de s'acquitter adéquatement de son obligations d'assurer la protecton et la sécurité de la communauté diplomatique tant sur le plan international que national, continue de dépendre largement de la collaboration des Chefs de Mission diplomatique et des Chargé d'affaires, a.i. afin que lui soient communiqué les adresses résidentielles et les numéros de téléphone des personnes accréditées, ainsi que toute mise à jour de ces données. L'efficacité du Gouvernement du Canada à rencontrer son double engagement de répondre aux urgences et de réduire les risques de violation de l'immunité d'une personne accréditée repose en partie sur la cueillette d'informations personnelles de cette nature qui auront été librement communiqués par les Missions diplomatiques.

Il est donc à souhaiter que les Chefs de Mission diplomatique et les Chargés d'affaires, a.i. accrédités éprouveront un regain d'intérêt, ou se verront persuadés des avantages de la divulgation et de la mise à jour des adresses personnelles qui pourront être transmises par courrier électronique à l'adresse : xdc@international.gc.ca ou par note verbale.

Le Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Bureau du protocole) saisit cette occasion pour renouveler à Leurs Excellences les Chefs de mission diplomatique et aux Chargés d'affaires a.i. accrédités auprès du Canada les assurances de sa très haute considération.

Ottawa le 9 janvier 2006

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-10-18