Canada’s Office of Religious Freedom

The promotion and protection of human rights, including freedom of religion or belief, is an important part of Canada’s constructive leadership in the world. Discrimination against religious and belief communities, as with all forms of discrimination, causes human suffering, spreads division, and contributes to a climate of fear, intolerance, and stigmatization. Canada has made recognition of and respect for diversity a priority, both at home and abroad.

Mandate and Activities

The Office is led by a Canada-based Ambassador for Religious Freedom. The ambassador is supported by a team of officials, who together carry out the office’s international mandate, which is to:

  • protect, and advocate on behalf of, religious minorities under threat;
  • oppose religious hatred and intolerance; and
  • promote Canadian values of pluralism and tolerance abroad.

The Office's activities are focused on advocacy, analysis, policy development and programming related to protecting and advocating on behalf of religious communities under threat, no matter which faith they profess. For more information on the Office and the importance of religious freedom please see Background information on the Office of Religious Freedom.

Religious Freedom Fund

The Religious Freedom Fund supports projects outside Canada to help religious communities that are facing intolerance or persecution in their country. For more information see, The Religious Freedom Fund.

External Advisory Committee

The Office of Religious Freedom is advised by 23 prominent leaders from a wide variety of Canadian faith and belief communities representative of Canada’s diversity. For more information, see External Advisory Committee to the Office of Religious Freedom.

Bureau de la liberté de religion du Canada

La promotion et la protection des droits de la personne, notamment la liberté de religion ou de croyance constituent une partie importante du leadership constructif qu’exerce le Canada dans le monde. La discrimination à l’égard des communautés religieuses ou de croyance, comme toute forme de discrimination, entraîne des souffrances humaines inutiles, crée de la ségrégation, et contribue à un climat de peur, d’intolérance et de stigmatisation. Le Canada assure que le respect et de la reconnaissance de la diversité demeure une priorité national et à l’étranger.

Le mandat et les activités

Le Bureau est dirigé par un ambassadeur de la liberté de religion situé au Canada, qui est appuyé par une équipe de préposé, et ensemble, ils exécutent le mandat international du Bureau, soit :

  • protéger les minorités religieuses menacées et défendre leurs droits;
  • lutter contre la diffusion de la haine et de l’intolérance fondées sur la religion;
  • faire la promotion des valeurs canadiennes que sont le pluralisme et la tolérance.

Le Bureau met tout particulièrement l’accent sur la défense des intérêts, l’analyse, l’élaboration de politiques et l’exécution de programmes visant à protéger les communautés religieuses menacées et à défendre leurs intérêts, quelle que soit leur confession religieuse. Pour obtenir plus d’information au sujet du Bureau et de l'importance de la liberté de religion, veuillez consulter Renseignements généraux sur le Bureau de la liberté de religion.

Fonds pour la liberté de religion

Le Fonds pour la liberté de religion finance des projets à l’extérieur du Canada afin d’aider les communautés religieuses faisant face à l’intolérance ou des persécutions dans leurs pays. Pour en savoir plus, consultez Fonds pour la liberté de religion.

Comité consultatif externe

Le Bureau est conseillé par 23 éminents chefs spirituels provenant d’un large éventail de groupes religieux et de croyances représentatifs de la diversité canadienne. Pour en savoir plus, consultez Comité consultatif externe du Bureau de la liberté de religion.