John Diefenbaker Defender of Human Rights and Freedom Awards

2014 John Diefenbaker Award

On December 1, 2014, Foreign Affairs Minister John Baird presented the John Diefenbaker Defender of Human Rights and Freedom Award to William Hague, the U.K.'s Special Representative on Preventing Sexual Violence in Conflict and former U.K. foreign secretary, for his work on the prevention of sexual violence in conflict.

"With this award, Canada pays tribute to Mr. Hague's unwavering commitment to the empowerment and well-being of women and girls around the world—a commitment that Canada is proud to share," said Baird.

For more information, please consult Baird Presents William Hague with Diefenbaker Award for Efforts to End Sexual Violence in Conflict. This was the final event of the 2014 John Diefenbaker Award, following presentations on the theme of child, early and forced marriage and on protecting Internet freedom.

On November 25, 2014, Foreign Affairs Minister John Baird presented Carl Bildt, former prime minister and foreign minister of Sweden, with the John Diefenbaker Defender of Human Rights and Freedom Award, on the occasion of the Global Commission for Internet Governance meeting in Ottawa. For more information, please see Diefenbaker Award Given to Carl Bildt for Work on Internet Freedom.

On November 18, 2014, Foreign Affairs Minister John Baird presented the 2014 John Diefenbaker Defender of Human Rights and Freedom Award to Girls Not Brides: The Global Partnership to End Child Marriage during a ceremony in Ottawa. For more information, please consult Baird Honours Girls Not Brides, Partners in Ending Child, Early and Forced Marriage.

Previous Awards

2013 - Retired Cardinal Joseph Zen, SDB, Bishop Emeritus of Hong Kong (China). For more information, please see 2013 John Diefenbaker Defender of Human Rights and Freedom Awards.

2012 – Shahbaz Bhatti (in memoriam), former federal minister for minorities (Pakistan) & Susana Trimarco, activist and founder of the Fundacion Maria de los Angeles (Argentina). For more information, please see 2012 John Diefenbaker Defender of Human Rights and Freedom Awards.

2011 – Asma Jahangir (Pakistan) and the Citizens’ Alliance for North Korean Human Rights (South Korea). For more information, please see 2011 John Diefenbaker Defender of Human Rights and Freedom Awards.

Background

The John Diefenbaker Defender of Human Rights and Freedom Award, presented annually by the Minister of Foreign Affairs on behalf of the Government of Canada, recognizes individuals or groups who show exceptional courage and leadership in defending human rights and freedom internationally.

This non-monetary award is presented as part of Canada’s larger commitment to promoting freedom around the world.

The Diefenbaker Award was created in 2010 by then foreign affairs minister Lawrence Cannon. The award was named in recognition of former prime minister John Diefenbaker, who, during his time in office, championed human rights both in Canada and internationally. His determination to secure rights for all led to the passage of the Canadian Bill of Rights in 1960.

Nominees are identified by Canada’s global network of diplomatic missions and through consultations with key government partners. Candidates are considered on the basis of their human rights contributions, and shortlisted candidates are recommended to the Minister of Foreign Affairs who makes the final selection.

News Room

Le prix John Diefenbaker pour la défense de la liberté et des droits de la personne

Le prix John Diefenbaker de 2014

Le 1er décembre 2014, le ministre des Affaires étrangères John Baird a présenté le prix John Diefenbaker pour la défense des droits de la personne et de la liberté au représentant spécial du Royaume-Uni pour la prévention de la violence sexuelle dans les conflits et ancien ministre des Affaires étrangères du Royaume-Uni, M. William Hague, pour son travail lié à la prévention de la violence sexuelle dans les zones de conflits.

« En lui remettant ce prix, a déclaré le ministre Baird, le Canada souligne l'engagement indéfectible de M. Hague à l'égard de l'autonomisation et du bien-être des femmes et des filles partout dans le monde, un engagement auquel le Canada souscrit également avec fierté. »

Pour plus de renseignements, prière de consulter Le ministre Baird présente le prix John Diefenbaker à William Hague pour ses efforts visant à éliminer la violence sexuelle dans les conflits. Il s'agit de la dernière remise des Prix John Diefenbaker de 2014, suivant les attributions récentes pour la lutte contre les mariages précoces et forcés ainsi que pour la défense de la liberté sur Internet.

Le 25 novembre 2014, le ministre des Affaires étrangères John Baird a présenté à l’ancien premier ministre et ministre des Affaires étrangères de la Suède, M. Carl Bildt, le prix John Diefenbaker pour la défense des droits de la personne et de la liberté à l’occasion de la réunion de la Commission mondiale sur la gouvernance d’Internet, à Ottawa. Pour plus de renseignements, prière de consulter Carl Bildt reçoit le prix Diefenbaker pour son travail concernant la liberté sur Internet.

Le 18 novembre 2014, le ministre des Affaires étrangères John Baird a présenté le Prix John Diefenbaker pour la défense des droits de la personne et de la liberté 2014 à Filles, pas épouses : Le Partenariat mondial pour la fin du mariage des enfants, lors d’une cérémonie à Ottawa. Pour plus de renseignements, prière de consulter Le ministre Baird rend hommage à Filles, pas épouses et à des partenaires pour mettre fin aux mariages d’enfants, précoces et forcés.

Les lauréats précédents

2013 - Le cardinal Joseph Zen, évêque émérite de Hong Kong (la Chine). Pour en savoir plus, prière de consulter Le prix John Diefenbaker pour la défense de la liberté et des droits de la personne de 2013.

2012 – M. Shahbaz Bhatti, à titre posthume, ancien ministre fédéral des Minorités (le Pakistan), ainsi qu’à Mme Susana Trimarco, militante ayant fondé la Fundación María de los Ángeles (l'Argentine). Pour en savoir plus, prière de consulter Le prix John Diefenbaker pour la défense de la liberté et des droits de la personne de 2012.

2011 – Asma Jahangir (le Pakistan), ainsi qu’à l’Alliance des citoyens pour les droits de la personne en Corée du Nord (Corée du Sud). Pour en savoir plus, prière de consulter Le prix John Diefenbaker pour la défense de la liberté et des droits de la personne de 2011.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Le prix John Diefenbaker pour la défense de la liberté et des droits de la personne est décerné annuellement pour rendre hommage à des personnes ou à des groupes qui font preuve d’un courage et d’un esprit d’initiative exceptionnels dans la défense de la liberté et des droits de la personne dans le monde entier.

Le prix, qui ne comporte aucune récompense pécuniaire, est décerné dans le cadre de l’engagement global du Canada à promouvoir et à défendre les droits de la personne au pays et à l’étranger.

Le prix Diefenbaker a été créé en 2010 par Lawrence Cannon, alors ministre des Affaires étrangères. Le prix a été nommé en reconnaissance de l’ancien premier ministre John Diefenbaker, qui, alors qu’il était en fonction, a défendu les droits de l’homme à la fois au Canada et sur la scène internationale. Sa détermination à garantir les droits pour tous a conduit à l’adoption de la Déclaration canadienne des droits en 1960.

Le réseau mondial des missions diplomatiques du Canada, en collaboration avec les principaux partenaires du gouvernement, dresse une liste de candidats provenant des quatre coins du monde. Chaque candidature est évaluée soigneusement en fonction des contributions des candidats au respect des droits de la personne. La liste des candidats présélectionnés est présentée ensuite au ministre des Affaires étrangères pour sélection finale.

Salle de presse