Discrimination

The fight against discrimination is far from over. Internationally, the focus of Canadian efforts is on the development of effective, forward-looking strategies to fight discrimination and ensure that past injustices are not repeated. Canada places emphasis on its work at the United Nations while recognising the important role regional and independent national institutions can play. In addition, Canada works in partnership with civil society, national human rights institutions, and other individuals and organizations to find ways to combat discrimination.

On November 19, 2001, Nelson Mandela became an honorary citizen of Canada, in recognition of the unique role he played in bringing about the dissolution of the apartheid regime in South Africa. The global support for this struggle, and its successful, peaceful conclusion, have given much-needed encouragement to others who are working towards a world more tolerant of diversity.

Canada strongly advocates a strategy of prevention, which focusses on education and public awareness. An integral aspect of this strategy is a life-long learning approach which promotes acceptance and respect of diversity among all age groups.

Canada has played a leading role in the broadening of international discussions on discrimination to include discrimination based on gender, age, sexual orientation, disability, and barriers based on social or economic status. Canada also works to ensure due consideration is given to new challenges posed by the Internet.

Domestic law and policy related to discrimination in Canada is the responsibility of a number of different government departments.

Discrimination

La lutte contre la discrimination est loin d’être terminée. Au niveau international, le Canada s’attache à élaborer des stratégies novatrices de lutte contre la discrimination et à faire en sorte que les injustices commises par le passé ne se reproduisent plus. Le Canada accorde beaucoup d’importance à ses activités au sein de l’ONU, mais il reconnaît aussi le rôle crucial que peuvent jouer les institutions régionales et les organisations nationales autonomes. En outre, le Canada collabore avec la société civile, des organisations nationales s’intéressant aux droits de la personne, des particuliers et d’autres organisations pour trouver des moyens de lutter contre la discrimination.

Le 19 novembre 2001, le Canada octroyait à Nelson Mandela le titre de citoyen d’honneur en reconnaissance de la contribution unique qu’il a apportée à la dissolution du régime d’apartheid en Afrique du Sud. L’appui de la communauté internationale et le dénouement pacifique de la lutte ont été une grande source d’encouragement pour toutes les personnes qui travaillent à la création d’un monde plus tolérant.

Le Canada est un ardent promoteur de la prévention fondée sur l’éducation et la sensibilisation du public. L’adoption d’une approche d’apprentissage permanent qui favorise l’acceptation et le respect de la diversité, tous groupes d’âge confondus, fait partie intégrante de cette stratégie.

Le Canada joue un rôle de premier plan dans l’élargissement du débat international sur la discrimination pour y inclure la discrimination fondée sur le sexe, l’âge, l’orientation sexuelle et le handicap, ainsi que les obstacles associés à la situation sociale ou économique. Le Canada s’attache aussi à faire en sorte qu’on accorde l’attention voulue aux nouveaux problèmes associés à Internet.

Les lois et politiques canadiennes en matière de discrimination relèvent de divers ministères.