What Are Human Rights?

“All human beings are born free and equal in dignity and rights. They are endowed with reason and conscience and should act towards one another in a spirit of brotherhood.”

Article 1, The Universal Declaration of Human Rights

The Charter of the United Nations requires that all member states “promote and encourage respect for human rights and for fundamental freedoms for all without distinction as to race, sex, language, or religion”. In order to provide a common understanding of these rights, the Universal Declaration of Human Rights was adopted by the General Assembly of the United Nations on December 10, 1948. In simple language, it describes the rights shared by all human beings, and sets “a common standard of achievement for all peoples and all nations”.

In the years since, the principles of the Universal Declaration have been elaborated and given greater legal force through the negotiation of a series of international treaties, notably the:

However, there remained a number of disagreements between countries, notably about the relative importance of different types of rights.

In 1993, the nations of the world came together in Vienna to reaffirm their commitment to human rights, and to find more effective ways of working together to put the principles of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights into practice. One of the major achievements of the Vienna Declaration was that it managed to move the international debate beyond this impasse and renew the focus on realising the ideals of the Universal Declaration.

The Vienna Declaration affirmed the equal importance of all human rights, declaring them to be universal, indivisible and interdependent and interrelated.

Universal: It is the duty of States, regardless of their political, economic and cultural systems, to promote and protect all human rights and fundamental freedoms.

Indivisible: All rights are considered equal and as such there is no hierarchy of rights. Economic, social, cultural, political and civil rights are all equally important.

Interdependent and interrelated: The enjoyment of one human right often depends on the ability to freely exercise other human rights. For example, the right to education cannot be fully realised if gender, racial or other forms of discrimination limit access to education. Equally, the right to food or the right to the highest attainable standard of health depend to a large extent on the capacity of affected communities to organise themselves (freedom of association) and to call attention to inefficiency, corruption or discriminatory practices in the provision of services (freedom of expression).

Les droits de la personne

« Tous les êtres humains naissent libres et égaux en dignité et en droits. Ils sont doués de raison et de conscience et doivent agir les uns envers les autres dans un esprit de fraternité. »

Article premier, Déclaration universelle des droits de l’homme

Aux termes de la Charte des Nations Unies, tous les États membres doivent développer et encourager « le respect des droits de l’homme et des libertés fondamentales pour tous, sans distinction de race, de sexe, de langue ou de religion ». Afin d’assurer une conception commune de ces droits et libertés, l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies a adopté la Déclaration universelle des droits de l’homme le 10 décembre 1948. Écrite dans un langage simple, la Déclaration énonce les droits de tous les êtres humains et proclame un « idéal commun à atteindre par tous les peuples et toutes les nations ».

Depuis, les principes de la Déclaration universelle ont été développés et ont pris force de loi par voie de négociation d’une série de traités internationaux, notamment le :

Cependant, des désaccords persistaient entre les pays, surtout au sujet de l’importance relative des différents types de droits.

En 1993, les nations du monde entier se sont réunies à Vienne pour réaffirmer leur attachement aux droits de l’homme et trouver de meilleures solutions pour appliquer les principes de la Déclaration universelle des droits de l’homme. À l’origine de grandes réalisations, la Déclaration de Vienne a notamment réussi à sortir le débat international de l’impasse et contribué au regain des efforts de concrétisation des idéaux de la Déclaration universelle.

La Déclaration de Vienne (Format PDF, 280 Ko) affirme l’importance égale de tous les droits de l’homme, les proclamant universels, indissociables, interdépendants et intimement liés.

Universels : Il est du devoir des États, quel qu’en soit le système politique, économique et culturel, de promouvoir et de protéger tous les droits de l’homme et toutes les libertés fondamentales.

Indissociables : Tous les droits sont considérés comme égaux, sans hiérarchie. Les droits économiques, sociaux, culturels, politiques et civils sont d’importance égale.

Interdépendants et intimement liés : La jouissance d’un droit dépend souvent de la possibilité d’exercer librement d’autres droits. Par exemple, le droit à l’éducation ne peut être pleinement réalisé si des discriminations fondées sur le sexe, la race ou autres limitent l’accès à l’éducation. De même, le droit à la nourriture ou le droit à la santé dépend en grande partie de la capacité des collectivités touchées à s’organiser (liberté d’association) et à attirer l’attention sur l’inefficacité, la corruption ou les pratiques discriminatoires dans la prestation des services (liberté d’expression).