Human Rights

Canadians expect their government to be a leader in the human rights field by reflecting and promoting Canadian values on the international stage. The promotion and protection of human rights is an integral part of Canadian foreign policy.

Canada’s International Human Rights Policy

Canada has been a consistently strong voice for the protection of human rights and the advancement of democratic values. Canada takes principled positions on important issues to ensure that freedom, democracy, human rights and the rule of law, values that define this country, are enjoyed around the world. For more information, see Canada’s International Human Rights Policy.

Gender Equality

Canada is a world leader in the promotion and protection of women’s rights and gender equality. These issues are central to Canada’s foreign and domestic policies. For more information, see Canada’s commitment to gender equality and the advancement of women’s rights internationally.

Children’s Rights

It is because of the unique vulnerability of children that their rights are of priority concern within Canada’s foreign policy. For more information, see Children’s Human Rights.

Universal Periodic Review

Canada was a leading proponent of the initiative to review the human rights performance of every UN member state on a regular basis. For more information, see Universal Periodic Review.

Indigenous Affairs

Aboriginal people in Canada are taking an increasingly active role on the world stage, in fields such as human rights, respect of cultural and linguistic diversity, environmental protection and more. For more information, see Canada and International Indigenous Affairs.

A Free Internet

Canada believes individuals’ rights and freedoms should be protected online just as they are offline. For more information, see Internet Foreign Policy Issues.

“All human beings are born free and equal in dignity and rights. They are endowed with reason and conscience and should act towards one another in a spirit of brotherhood.”

Article 1, The Universal Declaration of Human Rights

Photo Gallery

Droits de la personne

Les Canadiens s’attendent à ce que leur gouvernement soit un chef de file dans le domaine des droits de la personne, par le jeu de la représentation et de la promotion des valeurs canadiennes sur la scène internationale. La promotion et la protection des droits de la personne font partie intégrante de la politique étrangère canadienne.

Politique internationale du Canada relative aux droits de la personne

Le Canada a toujours été un ardent défenseur de la protection des droits de la personne et de l’avancement des valeurs démocratiques. Le Canada opte pour une position de principe voulant que le respect de la liberté, de la démocratie, des droits de la personne et de la primauté du droit, valeurs qui définissent notre pays, puissent profiter au reste du monde. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter Politique internationale du Canada relative aux droits de la personne.

Égalité des sexes

Le Canada est un chef de file mondial dans la promotion et la protection des droits des femmes et de l’égalité entre les sexes. Ces enjeux sont au cœur de la politique intérieure et étrangère du Canada. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter L’engagement du Canada à l’égard de l’égalité entre les sexes et de la promotion des droits des femmes dans le monde.

Les droits des enfants

Compte tenu de la vulnérabilité unique des enfants, la politique étrangère du Canada accorde une grande importance au respect de leurs droits. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter Les droits des enfants.

Examen périodique universel

Le Canada a été l’un des principaux promoteurs d’une initiative visant à examiner régulièrement le bilan en matière des droits de la personne de tous les États membres de l’ONU. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter Examen périodique universel.

Affaires autochtones

Les peuples autochtones au Canada jouent un rôle de plus en plus actif sur la scène internationale, dans des domaines tels que les droits de la personne, le respect des diversités culturelles et linguistiques et la protection de l’environnement. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter Le Canada et les Affaires autochtones internationales.

Un Internet libre

Le Canada est d’avis qu’Internet devrait demeurer un endroit où les droits et les libertés de chacun sont protégés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter Questions de politique étrangère liées à Internet.