Sexual Exploitation of Children

Our commitment is clear and strong: commercial sexual exploitation of children is wrong. It is an offence. It is a gross abuse of the rights of the child. And it will not be tolerated.”
– Hon. Ethel Blondin-Andrew (Secretary of State, Children and Youth).

The commercial sexual exploitation of children is a heinous form of child abuse which takes many forms, including child prostitution, child pornography and trafficking in children. International attention was focussed on the issue at the World Congress on the Commercial Sexual Exploitation of Children in Stockholm in 1996, at a follow-up conference in Yokohoma, Japan, in 2001, and at the Third Congress in Brazil in 2008. Governments and NGOs assessed progress achieved, exchanged information on lessons learned and addressed ongoing challenges.

Canada is committed to ending the commercial sexual exploitation of children. In addition to a number of measures to combat the sexual exploitation of children within Canada, legislation has come into force which allows for the prosecution of Canadian citizens and permanent residents who engage in commercial sexual activities with children while abroad.

Canada was instrumental in the drafting of an Optional Protocol to the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child on the Sale of Children, Child Prostitution and Child Pornography. This instrument strengthens the Convention by requiring states to criminalize these activities, making prosecution of offenders easier, and instituting measures for the protection of child victims. Canada signed the Optional Protocol in November 2001.

Canada has ratified the Hague Convention on Protection of Children and Co-operation in Respect of Intercountry Adoption, which strengthens international cooperation towards the prevention of the abduction, sale or trafficking of children, as well as the Transnational Organized Crime Convention and both of its protocols including the Optional Protocol Against Migrant Smuggling and Trafficking.

The Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development supports a variety of local initiatives in the developing world to attack the roots of sexual exploitation by promoting children's rights, providing protection and education, and assisting the victims of the sex trade, in order to provide families with viable alternatives. Many Canadian non-governmental organizations are also actively involved in efforts to end child sexual exploitation.

For more information:

Exploitation sexuelle des enfants

« Notre position est claire et ferme : l’exploitation sexuelle des enfants à des fins commerciales est inacceptable. Il s’agit d’une infraction, d’une violation flagrante des droits de l’enfant, que nous ne saurions tolérer. »
- Ethel Blondin-Andrew (secrétaire d’État - Enfance et jeunesse)

L’exploitation sexuelle des enfants à des fins commerciales est une manifestation abominable des maltraitances infantiles dont il existe maintes formes, entre autres la prostitution des enfants, la pédopornographie et le trafic des enfants. Cette question a attiré l’attention de la communauté internationale lors du Congrès mondial contre l’exploitation sexuelle des enfants, à des fins commerciales, tenu à Stockholm en 1996, du congrès consécutif à Yokohoma, au Japon, en 2001, et le Troisième Congrès au Brésil en 2008. Les gouvernements et les ONG ont répertorié les progrès accomplis, échangé de l’information sur les enseignements tirés et cherché des solutions aux problèmes actuels.

Le Canada s’est engagé à éliminer l’exploitation sexuelle des enfants à des fins commerciales. Outre les diverses mesures visant à combattre l’exploitation sexuelle des enfants au Canada, on a adopté des lois qui permettent de poursuivre les citoyens canadiens et les résidents permanents du Canada qui se livrent à des activités sexuelles illicites avec des enfants à l’étranger.

Le Canada a contribué pour beaucoup dans la rédaction du Protocole facultatif se rapportant à la Convention des Nations Unies relative aux droits de l’enfant, concernant la vente d’enfants, la prostitution des enfants et la pornographie mettant en scène des enfants. Cet instrument renforce la Convention en ce qu’il contraint les États à criminaliser ces activités, à faciliter la poursuite des coupables et à instaurer des mesures de protection des enfants qui en sont victimes. Le Canada a signé le Protocole facultatif en novembre 2001.

Le Canada a ratifié la Convention de La Haye sur la protection des enfants et la coopération en matière d’adoption internationale, qui renforce la coopération internationale en faveur de la prévention de l’enlèvement, de la vente ou du trafic des enfants, ainsi que la Convention sur la criminalité transnationale organisée (en anglais seulement) et ses deux protocoles, dont le Protocole facultatif contre la contrebande des migrants (en anglais seulement).

L’Agence canadienne de développement international appuie une foule de mesures locales dans les pays en développement qui s’attaquent aux origines de l’exploitation sexuelle, par le jeu de la promotion des droits de l’enfant, de la protection et de l’éducation, et de l’aide aux victimes du commerce sexuel, afin d’offrir aux familles des solutions viables. Maintes organisations non gouvermentales canadiennes participent également aux efforts visant à éliminer l’exploitation sexuelle des enfants.

Pour tout complément d’information