Child Labour

The faces of hazardous work are disturbing and painful. The lives and bodies of these children are literally diminished by what they do. If adults need protection against hazardous work, think how much more imperative it is for us to save children in the same situation. We must do better for them.”
Juan Somavia, Director General of the International Labour Organization

There are few images more heart-rending than that of a child who is forced to work or is denied the opportunity to go to school. Yet, despite increasing global recognition of the rights of the child, there are currently approximately 153 million children between the ages 5 and 14 who are engaged in child labour, many in circumstances which jeopardise their safety, security and dignity.

In 1999, the International Labour Organization (ILO) adopted Convention 182 on the Prohibition and Elimination of the Worst Forms of Child Labour which include slavery, child prostitution, recruitment of child soldiers, child pornography, and other forms of work likely to harm the health, safety or morals of children. Canada participated in the drafting of this convention, ratified it in 2000 and encourages countries which have not yet done so to sign and ratify the agreement. Canada has also made substantial contributions to the ILO’s International Program for the Elimination of Child Labour (IPEC) and Statistical Information and Monitoring Program on Child Labour Program (SIMPOC).

Development cooperation and poverty reduction are central aspects of Canada’s child labour strategy. The Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) funds projects which promote affordable access to primary education, good governance, and improvements in the status of women - all of which reinforce the well-being of children.

In addition to ILO Convention No. 182, Canada is a party or signatory to a number of other international legal agreements that have child-labour prohibitions, including the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child, the UN Slavery Convention, the North American Agreement on Labour Cooperation, and the ILO’s Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Forced or Compulsory Labour (PDF Version, 259 KB)*.


* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page.

Travail des enfants

« Les visages du travail dangereux sont inquiétants et pénibles. La vie et le corps de ces enfants sont littéralement diminués par ce qu’ils font. Si les adultes ont besoin de protection contre le travail dangereux, imaginez à quel point il est impératif de sauver les enfants qui sont dans la même situation. Il faut en faire beaucoup plus pour eux. »
Juan Somavia, directeur général de l’Organisation internationale du Travail

Peu d’images sont plus déchirantes que celles d’un enfant forcé à travailler ou privé de scolarisation. Or, malgré la reconnaissance mondiale sans cesse croissante des droits de l’enfant, on estime qu’environ 153 millions d’enfants âgés de 5 à 14 ans travaillent, souvent dans des conditions portant atteinte à leur sûreté, à leur sécurité et à leur dignité.

En 1999, l’Organisation Internationale du Travail (OIT) a adopté la Convention no. 182 sur l’interdiction et l’éradication des pires formes de travail des enfants, qui comprennent l’esclavage, la prostitution, le recrutement à des fins militaires, la pornographie et d’autres formes de travail susceptibles de porter atteinte à la santé, à la sécurité et au développement moral des enfants. Partie à la rédaction de la Convention, le Canada l’a ratifiée en 2000 et il encourage les autres pays à faire de même. Le Canada a également fait des dons substantiels au Programme international pour l’élimination du travail des enfants (IPEC) et au Programme d’information statistique et de suivi sur le travail des enfants (SIMPOC) de l’OIT.

La coopération en matière de développement et la réduction de la pauvreté sont des éléments essentiels de la stratégie du Canada relative au travail des enfants. L’Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada (MAECD) finance des projets qui facilitent l’accès abordable à l’école primaire, la saine conduite des affaires publiques et l’amélioration de la condition de la femme – autant de facteurs qui contribuent au bien-être des enfants.

Outre la Convention no. 182 de l’OIT, le Canada est partie ou signataire de divers autres accords juridiques internationaux interdisant le travail des enfants, dont la Convention relative aux droits de l’enfant de l’ONU, la Convention relative à l’esclavage de l’ONU, l’Accord nord-américain de coopération dans le domaine du travail et la Convention de l’OIT concernant le travail forcé ou obligatoire (Format PDF, 259 Ko)* (en anglais seulement).


* Si vous avez besoin d’un plugiciel ou d’un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.