Women, Peace and Security

Modern conflict no longer respects the line between the military and the civilian. Within conflict-affected communities, men and women, girls and boys, experience war differently. Gender describes the socially and culturally determined roles which govern relations between men and women; and in turn, influence the impact of armed conflict on each. Though women and children are often the majority of victims of today’s conflicts, women are also combatants, participants, leaders, negotiators, peacemakers, and activists.

Women at Security Council

With the Beijing Declaration and Platform for Action and UN Security Council Resolution 1325 (2000) on women (PDF Version, 35.6 KB) * peace and security, as its reference points, Canada, with other member states of the United Nations, including at the General Assembly, Commission on Human Rights, Security Council, Commission on the Status of Women, the G8, and other regional and international organizations, such as the OAS and the OSCE, has actively worked to integrate a gender-sensitive approach to peacebuilding and human security efforts within these organizations.

Canada is one of the countries leading the way towards an international agenda on women and conflict. Canada was on the Security Council when it unanimously adopted Council Resolution 1325 on Women, Peace and Security on October 31, 2000. The Resolution marks the culmination of years of intensive work on behalf of NGOs, governments and UN Agencies and is described as a landmark. The first Security Council resolution to deal exclusively with women in situations of armed conflict, it establishes a comprehensive agenda on women, peace, and security by addressing, inter alia, the need for full and equal participation of women in peace processes and peacebuilding activities, and gender-sensitive training for personnel involved in peace-support operations.

In particular, Security Council Resolution 1325 calls for:

  • participation of women in peace processes;
  • gender training in peacekeeping operations;
  • protection of and respect for the rights of women and girls;
  • gender mainstreaming in reporting and implementation systems of the UN relating to conflict, peace and security.

The Government of Canada submitted its response to the UN Secretary General’s request for information on the full implementation of Security Council Resolution 1325 (2000) on women, peace and security. This response fed into the Secretary General’s 2004 report to the Security Council on this issue.

Canada has also been a longtime advocate for the integration of a gender perspective (gender mainstreaming) in humanitarian, armed conflict and peacebuilding areas, including through our work in the context of the International Criminal Court (prosecution of gender-based crimes), Canada’s tenure on the Security Council (protection of civilians) and Canada’s more recent role in follow-up to the United Nations Security Council resolution 1325 on women, peace and security.

Recognizing the importance of integrating a gender perspective in Peace Support Operations (PSOs), Canada and the United Kingdom developed The Gender Training Initiative (GTI) for military and civilian personnel involved in PSOs. The GTI provides material for a three-day course on gender sensitive approaches to peace support operations which includes overviews of various thematic issues, such as violence against women and international humanitarian law, and geographic case studies. The GTI was piloted for a Canadian mixed military and civilian audience in Spring 2002 and has since been used by the UN in the development of their own standard training modules for peacekeepers.

Domestically, Canada created the Canadian Committee on Women, Peace and Security, which is comprised of parliamentarians, civil society representatives and government officials, and has to date focussed its work on advocacy, capacity-building, protection of rights of women and girls, and gender training. The Committee’s Third Annual Symposium was held in October, 2005, to discuss the Government of Canada’s recent initiative to develop a National Action Plan on the Implementation of Security Council Resolution 1325, and to help plan the future role, structure and activities of the Committee.

Canada also initiated and chairs the New York-based "Friends of Women, Peace and Security" group: a coalition of like-minded states, representatives of UN agencies and NGOs who discuss priorities for implementation of and build momentum for Security Council Resolution 1325.

For more information:

Related Statements:

  • Statement to the United Nations Security Council for the Open Debate on Sexual Violence in Armed Conflict, by Ambassador John McNee - New York - December 16, 2010

  • Statement to the United Nations Security Council for the Open Debate on Women,
    Peace and Security
    by Minister Beverley Oda - New York - October 26, 2010

  • Statement to “A 1325 Call to Action”, ministerial meeting in preparation for the 10th anniversary of Security Council Resolution 1325 by Minister Lawrence Cannon - New York - September 25, 2010 (PDF Version, 600 KB)*


* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page.

Les femmes, la paix et la sécurité

Les conflits modernes ne respectent plus la distinction entre le militaire et le civil. Dans les collectivités en conflit, les hommes et les femmes, et les filles et les garçons vivent la guerre différemment. Le terme sexo-spécifique définit le jeu de rôles sociaux et culturels qui gouverne les rapports entre les femmes et les hommes et qui, par contrecoup, fait en sorte que les conflits armés n’ont pas les mêmes effets sur les unes et les autres. Les femmes et les enfants constituent souvent la majorité des victimes des conflits actuels, mais les femmes sont aussi combattantes, participantes et dirigeantes; on les voit également négocier, faire la paix et militer en ce sens.

Femmes aux Nations Unies

S’appuyant sur le Plan d’action de Beijing (en anglais seulement) et sur la Résolution 1325 (2000) du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies sur les femmes (Format PDF, 39,8 ko) * la paix et la sécurité, le Canada, de concert avec d’autres États membres des Nations Unies, le G8 et d’autres organisations régionales et internationales, comme l’Organisation des États américains (OAE) et l’Organisation pour la sécurité et la coopération en Europe (OSCE), et comptant sur l’appui de l’Assemblée générale, de la Commission des droits de l’homme, du Conseil de sécurité et de la Commission sur la condition de la femme, s’est employé à intégrer l’approche sexo-spécifique dans les opérations de consolidation de la paix et de sécurité humaine au sein de ces mêmes instances.

Le Canada a été l’un des premiers pays à prôner l’adoption d’un programme international traitant des femmes et des conflits. Le Canada était membre du Conseil de sécurité lorsque celui-ci a adopté à l’unanimité la résolution 1325 sur les femmes, la paix et la sécurité le 31 octobre 2000, résolution historique qui marque l’aboutissement d’années d’efforts soutenus qu’ont menés les ONG, les gouvernements et les organismes des Nations Unies. Il s’agit de la première résolution du Conseil de sécurité qui traite exclusivement des femmes et des conflits armés; elle définit un programme complet pour les femmes, la paix et la sécurité, par la valorisation, entre autres choses, de la nécessité d’une participation entière et égale des femmes dans les processus et les activités de consolidation de la paix, et dans la formation sexo-spécifique du personnel prenant part aux opérations de soutien de la paix.

La résolution 1325 du Conseil de sécurité prône tout particulièrement :

  • la participation des femmes aux processus de paix;
  • la formation sexo-spécifique des casques bleus;
  • la protection et le respect des droits des femmes et des filles;
  • l’intégration de la dimension sexo-spécifique dans la facture des rapports et la mise en œuvre des systèmes des Nations Unies relatifs aux conflits, à la paix et à la sécurité.

Le gouvernement du Canada a soumis sa réponse à la demande d’information du Secrétaire Général des Nations Unies sur la pleine mise en œuvre de la résolution 1325 (2000) du Conseil de Sécurité sur les femmes, la paix et la sécurité. Cette réponse a été incorporée au rapport que le Secrétaire général a présenté au Conseil de sécurité (en anglais seulement) sur cette question.

Le Canada est depuis longtemps un ardent défenseur de l’intégration d’une approche sexo spécifique (intégration de la dimension de genre) dans les domaines humanitaires, des conflits armés et de la consolidation de la paix, y compris par l’intermédiaire du travail qu’il effectue dans le contexte de la Cour pénale internationale (poursuite contre des crimes sexo spécifiques), comme en font foi le mandat du Canada au Conseil de sécurité (protection des civils) et le rôle qu’il a récemment joué dans le suivi de la résolution 1325 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies sur les femmes, la paix et la sécurité.

Constatant l’importance d’intégrer la perspective sexo-spécifique dans les opérations de soutien de la paix, le Canada et le Royaume-Uni ont mis au point l’Initiative de formation sexo-spécifique qui s’adresse au personnel militaire et civil prenant part à de telles opérations. L’Initiative fournit le matériel didactique pour un cours de trois jours sur la sensibilisation sexo-spécifique dans les opérations de soutien de la paix, cours qui porte sur divers thèmes, par exemple la violence faite aux femmes et le droit humanitaire, ainsi que sur des études de cas géographiques. Les Nations Unies se sont inspirées de ce cours pour créer leurs propres modules de formation normalisée à l’intention des Casques bleus. Par ailleurs, nous évaluons les mesures prises par notre pays pour intégrer la formation sexospécifique à la préparation du personnel canadien qui participe aux opérations de soutien de la paix.

Au pays, le Canada a mis sur pied le Comité canadien sur les femmes, la paix et la sécurité. Il est composé de parlementaires, de représentants de la société civile et du gouvernement. Le Comité a jusqu’à maintenant concentré ses efforts sur la promotion, le renforcement des capacités et la protection des droits des femmes et des filles, et sur la formation sexospécifique. Le Comité a tenu son troisième symposium annuel en octobre 2005 pour discuter de l’initiative récente du gouvernement du Canada visant à élaborer un plan d’action national sur l’application de la résolution 1325 du Conseil de sécurité et pour aider à planifier le rôle, la structure et les activités du Comité dans l’avenir.

Le Canada a également créé et préside le groupe « Amis des femmes, de la paix et de la sécurité » dont le siège est à New York. Cette coalition d’États aux vues similaires, de représentants d’organismes des Nations Unies et d’ONG discute des priorités aux fins de la mise en œuvre et du dynamisme de la résolution 1325 du Conseil de sécurité.

Pour de plus amples renseignements

Déclarations connexes :


* Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.