Elimination of Violence against Women

Violence against women is pervasive, taking many forms and affecting every society. Whether the context is rape used as a tool of war, sexual slavery, domestic abuse, or female genital mutilation, in all cases, violence against women violates and impairs or nullifies the women’s human rights and is an obstacle to the achievement of the objectives of equality, development and peace.

Photo of a women smiling

This was explicitly recognised at the Fourth World Conference on Women in 1995 in Beijing, where delegates from 189 countries identified violence against women as one of the critical areas of concern that must be addressed world-wide in order for women to achieve equality with men.

At the UN Commission on the Status of Women, the Commission on Human Rights and in other fora, Canada supports resolutions calling for the elimination of violence against women (including with respect to the girls, honour crimes, and the elimination of traditional or customary practices affecting the health of women and girls, including female genital mutilation). Canada was also instrumental in ensuring sexual and gender-based crimes were included in the draft Statute for the International Criminal Court.

Canada’s work at the UN has contributed to the development of a strong Declaration on the Elimination of Violence against Women and the establishment and renewal, via the annual Canadian-led Resolution on the elimination of violence against women, of the mandate for a UN Special Rapporteur on Violence against Women, its Causes and Consequences. The Special Rapporteur’s role is to seek and receive information on violations and develop recommendations on eliminating violence against women and remedying its consequences.

For more information:

Éliminer la violence contre les femmes

La violence contre les femmes est omniprésente; elle prend plusieurs formes et touche toutes les sociétés. Peu importe ses circonstances - viol utilisé comme arme de guerre, esclavage sexuel, violence conjugale ou excision –, la violence contre les femmes est une violation des droits de la personne et un obstacle à la réalisation des idéaux d’égalité, de développement et de paix.

Photo d’une femme souriante

Ce principe a été reconnu expressément lors de la Quatrième Conférence mondiale sur les femmes (en anglais seulement) tenue à Pékin en 1995. Les déléguées de 189 pays ont inscrit la violence contre les femmes au nombre des sujets de préoccupation qui exigent une action mondiale si l’on veut parvenir à l’égalité hommes-femmes.

Au sein de la Commission de la condition de la femme de l’ONU, de la Conseil des droits de l’homme et d’autres instances multilatérales, le Canada appuie les résolutions qui réclament l’élimination de la violence contre les femmes et les fillettes (y compris les crimes d’honneur et l’élimination des pratiques traditionnelles ou coutumières qui portent atteinte à la santé des femmes et des filles, dont l’excision). Le Canada a également joué un rôle déterminant dans l’inclusion des crimes fondés sur le sexe de la victime dans le Statut de Rome de la Cour pénale internationale.

Les travaux du Canada à l’ONU ont servi à élaborer la Déclaration sur l’élimination de la violence contre les femmes et à mettre en œuvre et à renouveler, par le biais de la Résolution pilotée par le Canada sur l’élimination de la violence contre les femmes, le mandat du Rapporteur spécial de l’ONU sur la violence contre les femmes, ses causes et ses conséquences. Le rapporteur spécial a pour mission de chercher et d’obtenir l’information sur les violations et de formuler des recommandations sur l’élimination de la violence contre les femmes et la réparation de ses conséquences.

Pour tout complément d’information: