International Women’s Day

Every year on March 8th Canada and the world celebrate International Women’s Day. It is a day to recognize the achievements of women and the contributions women make to their societies, countries, and to the global community. It is also a time to reflect on the work that must still be done to achieve equal rights, responsibilities and opportunities for women and men, girls and boys.

The United Nations has declared this year’s theme for International Women’s Day to be: “Equal access to education, training and science and technology: Pathway to decent work for women”.

Canada recognizes education is a powerful force for advancement of women and that there are strong links between education, employment and economic security. Canada actively participated in the 55th session of the UN Commission on the Status of Women in February and March 2011 where women’s and girls's access to education, training and science and technology was the priority theme.

Education is a human right. In Canada and globally, progress has been made in increasing women’s and girls’ access to education. Around the world progress has been made in improving girls’ access to basic education and attention is increasingly being paid to improving the quality of education. In Canada, more women are being educated than ever before and in 2009, women made up the majority of paid employees in Canada.

Canada remains committed to equality between women and men and continues to work to help strengthen women’s rights, including women’s access to education. Canada is proud to be a supporter of UN Women, which became operational on January 1st, 2011 and will provide a strong voice for women and help advance gender equality within the United Nations and globally.

For more information on International Women’s Day:

Journée internationale de la femme

Chaque année, le 8 mars, le Canada et le monde entier célèbrent la Journée internationale de la femme. On s’arrête alors pour souligner les réalisations et la contribution des femmes dans leur société, leur pays et la communauté mondiale. C’est aussi l’occasion de réfléchir à ce qu’il reste à accomplir pour atteindre l’égalité entre femmes, hommes, filles et garçons sur le plan des droits, des responsabilités et des possibilités.

Le thème choisi par les Nations Unies pour la Journée internationale de la femme de 2011 est : « L’égalité d’accès à l’éducation, de formation et de la science et la technologie : vers un travail décent pour les femmes ».

Le Canada voit l’éducation comme un puissant outil d’avancement pour la femme et reconnaît qu’il existe des liens étroits entre l’éducation, l’emploi et la sécurité économique. En février et mars 2011, il a participé activement à la 55e session de la Commission de l’ONU sur la condition de la femme, où l’accès à l’éducation, à la formation et aux sciences et technologies pour les femmes et les filles était le thème prioritaire.

L’éducation est un droit universel. Au Canada et dans le monde, les femmes et les filles ont de plus en plus accès à l’éducation. Dans le monde, l’accès à l’éducation de base pour les filles gagne du terrain et l’on accorde une importance croissante à l’amélioration de la qualité de l’éducation. Les Canadiennes n’ont jamais été si nombreuses sur les bancs d’école et, en 2009, elles constituaient la majorité des salariés au pays.

Le Canada continue de prôner l’égalité des sexes et d’aider à faire progresser les droits des femmes, dont l’accès à l’éducation. Notre pays est fier de soutenir ONU Femmes, entité active depuis le 1er janvier 2011, qui donne une voix forte aux femmes au sein des Nations Unies et partout dans le monde, et qui lutte pour l’égalité des sexes.

Aussi à voir sur la Journée internationale de la femme :