Canadian Sanctions Related to Democratic Republic of the Congo

Sanctions related to Democratic Republic of the Congo include:


Arms Embargo


Asset Freeze


Technical Assistance Prohibition

Prohibitions

Sanctions related to Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) were enacted under the United Nations Act to give effect to United Nations Security Council resolutions. Subject to certain exceptions, the measures imposed against the DRC include:

  • a prohibition on the export of arms and related materiel to any person in the territory of the DRC;
  • a prohibition on the provision, to any person in the DRC, of technical assistance related to military activities;
  • an assets freeze against persons designated by the UN committee established by Resolution 1533 (2004) to oversee the sanctions against the DRC (the 1533 Committee); and
  • a travel ban against persons designated by the 1533 Committee.

Exceptions

There are some exceptions, including for the following:

  • non-lethal military equipment intended solely for humanitarian or protective use; and
  • arms and related material and technical assistance intended solely for support of, or use by, the United Nations Organization Mission in the DRC (MONUC).

Background

On July 28, 2003, acting under Chapter VII of the Charter of the United Nations, the United Nations Security Council adopted Resolution 1493 imposing sanctions against the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) in response to continuing hostilities in the eastern part of the DRC which were threatening the peace process. The sanctions regime was subsequently modified and strengthened with the adoption of a number of resolutions, including Resolutions 1533 (2004), 1552 (2004) and 1596 (2005).

The United Nations Democratic Republic of the Congo Regulations, as amended, implement the decisions of the Security Council in Canadian domestic law. Implementation of the travel ban imposed by Resolution 1596 (2005) is ensured in Canada under existing provisions of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act.

Selected Documents

Regulations and Orders made under the United Nations Act:

Related Links

Legal Advice

Please be advised that Global Affairs Canada cannot provide legal advice to members of the public. For this reason, we cannot deliver an opinion as to whether or not a specific activity or transaction would contravene sanctions legislation. You should consider seeking legal advice in relation to an activity that may contravene a Canadian sanction law.

Les sanctions canadiennes liées à la République démocratique du Congo

Les sanctions liées à la République démocratique du Congo inclure :


Embargo sur les armes


Gel des avoirs


Interdiction en matière d'aide techniques

Interdictions

Les sanctions liées à la République démocratique du Congo (RDC) étaient adoptées dans le cadre de la Loi sur les Nations Unies afin de donner effet aux résolutions du Conseil de sécurité de l'Organisation des Nations Unies.Sous réserve de certaines exceptions, les mesures imposées à l’encontre de la RDC comprennent les suivantes :

  • l'interdiction d’exporter des armes et du matériel connexe à toute personne en RDC;
  • l'interdiction de fournir à toute personne en RDC une aide technique liée à des activités militaires;
  • l'imposition d'un gel des avoirs à l’encontre des personnes désignées par le Comité des sanctions des Nations Unies mis sur pied aux termes de la Résolution 1533 (2004) pour surveiller les sanctions imposées contre la RDC (le Comité 1533);
  • l'interdiction de voyager visant les personnes désignées par le Comité 1533.

Exceptions

Certaines exceptions sont prévues, dont les suivantes :

  • le matériel militaire non meurtrier destiné exclusivement à des fins humanitaires ou de protection;
  • les armes, le matériel connexe et l’aide technique destinés exclusivement au soutien ou à l’usage de la Mission de l’Organisation des Nations Unies pour la stabilisation en République Démocratique du Congo (MONUSCO).

Renseignements contextuels

Le 28 juillet 2003, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a adopté la résolution 1493, en vertu du Chapitre VII de la Charte de l’Organisation des Nations Unies, imposant des sanctions à la République démocratique du Congo (RDC) en réponse à la poursuite des hostilités dans l’est de la RDC, lesquelles menacent le processus de paix. Le régime de sanctions a par la suite été modifié et renforcé avec l’adoption de plusieurs résolutions, y compris les résolutions 1533 (2004), 1552 (2004) et 1596 (2005).

Le Règlement d’application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur la République du Congo, tel que modifié, met en œuvre les décisions du Conseil de sécurité en droit canadien. La mise en œuvre de l’interdiction de voyager imposée par la résolution 1596 (2005) est assurée au Canada par les dispositions existantes de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés.

Documents sélectionnés

Les règlements et décrets adoptés en vertu de la Loi sur les Nations Unies :

Liens connexes

Avis juridiques

Veuillez noter qu’Affaires mondiales Canada ne peut donner des avis juridiques au public. En conséquence, le ministère ne peut émettre aucun avis à propos des activités, ainsi que les transactions spécifiques, qui contreviennent ou contreviendront aux lois sur les sanctions. Il est également conseillé de solliciter des avis juridiques en ce qui a trait à une activité qui pourrait contrevenir à une loi canadienne portant sur les sanctions.