Canadian Sanctions Related to Egypt

Under the Freezing Assets of Corrupt Foreign Officials Act, and at the written request of Egypt, Canada enacted a freeze of the assets of certain politically exposed foreign persons.

Prohibitions

The measures imposed concerning Egypt have been repealed.

Background

On March 23, 2011, the Governor in Council made, pursuant to the Freezing Assets of Corrupt Foreign Officials Act, the Freezing Assets of Corrupt Foreign Officials (Tunisia and Egypt) Regulations.

The Freezing Assets of Corrupt Foreign Officials (Tunisia and Egypt) Regulations give effect to written requests from Tunisia and Egypt, which have recently experienced political upheaval, to freeze assets of their former leaders and senior officials or their associates and family members suspected of having misappropriated state funds, or obtained property inappropriately as a result of their office or family, business or personal connections.

On 10 march 2016, the Governor in Council made the Regulations Amending the Freezing Assets of Corrupt Foreign Officials (Tunisia and Egypt) Regulations that repealed provisions concerning Egypt in the Regulations.

Selected Documents

The Act and Regulations are available through the following links:

Related Links

Legal Advice

Please be advised that Global Affairs Canada cannot provide legal advice to members of the public. For this reason, we cannot deliver an opinion as to whether or not a specific activity or transaction would contravene sanctions legislation. You should consider seeking legal advice in relation to an activity that may contravene a Canadian sanction law.

Les sanctions canadiennes liées à l'Égypte

Dans le cadre de la Loi sur le blocage des biens de dirigeants étrangers corrompus, ainsi qu'à la demande écrite de l’Égypte, le Canada a mis en vigueur un gel des biens de certains étrangers politiquement vulnérables.

Interdictions

Les mesures imposées concernant l’Égypte ont été abrogées.

Renseignements contextuels

Le 23 mars 2011, le gouverneur en conseil a pris, en vertu de la Loi sur le blocage des biens de dirigeants étrangers corrompus, le Règlement sur le blocage des biens de dirigeants étrangers corrompus (Tunisie et Égypte).

Le Règlement sur le blocage des biens de dirigeants étrangers corrompus (Tunisie et Égypte) vise à donner suite aux demandes d'aide écrites de la Tunisie et de l’Égypte. Ces pays viennent de connaître un bouleversement politique. Les demandes d'aide cherchent à bloquer les biens d'anciens dirigeants et hauts fonctionnaires ou de leurs associés et membres de leur famille qui sont soupçonnés d'avoir détourné des fonds de l'État ou obtenu des biens de manière inappropriée en profitant de leurs fonctions ou de leurs relations familiales, commerciales ou personnelles.

Le 10 mars 2016, le Gouverneur général en conseil a pris le Règlement modifiant le Règlement sur le blocage des biens des dirigeants étrangers corrompus (Tunisie et Égypte) qui a abrogé les dispositions relatives à l’Égypte du Règlement.

Documents sélectionnés

La Loi et le Règlement sont disponibles aux liens suivants :

Liens connexes

Avis juridiques

Veuillez noter qu’Affaires mondiales Canada ne peut donner des avis juridiques au public. En conséquence, le ministère ne peut émettre aucun avis à propos des activités, ainsi que les transactions spécifiques, qui contreviennent ou contreviendront aux lois sur les sanctions. Il est également conseillé de solliciter des avis juridiques en ce qui a trait à une activité qui pourrait contrevenir à une loi canadienne portant sur les sanctions.