Canadian Sanctions Related to Eritrea

Sanctions related to Eritrea include:


Arms Embargo


Asset Freeze


Financial Prohibitions


Technical Assistance Prohibition

Prohibitions

Sanctions related to Eritrea were enacted under the United Nations Act to give effect to United Nations Security Council resolutions. The measures imposed include:

  • a prohibition on the sale, supply or transfer of arms and related material to Eritrea and to persons designated by the UN committee established by Resolution 751 (1992) to oversee the sanctions against Somalia and Eritrea (the 751 Committee);
  • a prohibition on the provision to Eritrea and to persons designated by the 751 Committee of technical, training, financial or other assistance related to military activities or to the supply, sale, transfer, manufacture, maintenance or use of arms and related material of all types;
  • an assets freeze against persons designated by the 751 Committee; and
  • a travel ban against persons designated by the 751 Committee.

Background

On January 23, 1992, the United Nations Security Council adopted Resolution 733 (1992), which ordered an immediate and complete embargo on all deliveries of weapons and military equipment to Somalia in response to the rapid deterioration of the situation and the heavy loss of human life and widespread material damage resulting from the conflict in that country. From 2001 to 2008, a number of further resolutions were adopted which strengthened and created a number of exceptions to the arms embargo.

Additionally, in 2008, there were clashes along the Eritrea-Djibouti border and Eritrea was condemned by the international community for initiating hostilities. In January 2009, the UN Security Council adopted resolution 1862 which demanded that Eritrea ensure that no military presence or activity was being pursued in Djibouti, that it acknowledge its border dispute with Djibouti, that it engage actively in dialogue to defuse the tension and in diplomatic efforts leading to a mutually acceptable settlement of the border issue, and that it cooperate fully with the UN Secretary-General's good offices. Eritrea did not comply with resolution 1862.

During 2009, there was increased focus on Eritrea’s destabilizing role in Somalia, and its violation of the embargo.

Consequently, on December 23, 2009, the UN Security Council, acting under Chapter VII of the Charter of the United Nations, adopted Resolution 1907 (2009) determining that Eritrea’s actions undermine peace and reconciliation in Somalia and that the dispute between Djibouti and Eritrea constitutes a threat to international peace and security. Resolution 1907 demands that Eritrea immediately comply with Resolution 1862 and that all states, and in particular Eritrea, cease any support of armed opposition groups in Somalia.

Resolution 1907 also imposes sanctions against Eritrea and persons designated by a committee of the Security Council. The Regulations Implementing the United Nations Resolution on Eritrea made under the legislative authority of the United Nations Act incorporate these sanctions into Canadian domestic law. Implementation of the travel ban imposed by Resolution 1907 is ensured in Canada under existing provisions of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act.

Selected Documents

Regulations and Orders made under the United Nations Act:

Related Links

Legal Advice

Please be advised that Global Affairs Canada cannot provide legal advice to members of the public. For this reason, we cannot deliver an opinion as to whether or not a specific activity or transaction would contravene sanctions legislation. You should consider seeking legal advice in relation to an activity that may contravene a Canadian sanction law.

Les sanctions canadiennes liées à l'Érythrée

Les sanctions liées à l'Érythrée inclure :


Embargo sur les armes


Gel des avoirs


Interdictions financières


Interdiction en matière d'aide techniques

Interdictions

Les sanctions liées à l’Érythrée étaient adoptées dans le cadre de la Loi sur les Nations Unies afin de donner effet aux résolutions du Conseil de sécurité de l'Organisation des Nations Unies. Les mesures imposées comprennent :

  • l’interdiction de vendre, fournir ou transférer des armes et du matériel connexe à l’Érythrée et aux personnes désignées par le Comité des sanctions des Nations Unies mis sur pied aux termes de la Résolution 751 (1992) pour surveiller les sanctions imposées contre la Somalie et l’Érythrée (le Comité 751);
  • l’interdiction de fournir à l’Érythrée et aux personnes désignées par le Comité 751 de l’aide en matière de formation ou de l’aide technique ou financière, liée aux activités militaires ou à la fourniture, la vente, le transfert, la fabrication, le maintien ou l’utilisation d’armes et de matériel connexe;
  • l’imposition d'un gel des avoirs à l’encontre des personnes désignées par le Comité 751;
  • l’interdiction de voyager visant les personnes désignées par le Comité 751.

Renseignements contextuels

Le 23 janvier 1992, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a adopté la résolution 733 (1992) décrétant un embargo immédiat, général et complet sur toutes les livraisons d’armes et d’équipements militaires en Somalie en réaction à la détérioration rapide de la situation, au lourd bilan de vies humaines perdues et aux dommages matériels étendus résultant du conflit dans ce pays. De 2001 à 2008, diverses résolutions renforçant l’embargo sur les armes ou établissant des exceptions ont été adoptées.

En outre, il y eut en 2008 des escarmouches le long de la frontière Érythrée-Djibouti et l’Érythrée fut condamnée par la communauté internationale pour avoir amorcé les hostilités. En janvier 2009, le Conseil de sécurité de l’ONU a adopté la résolution 1862. Celle-ci enjoint à l’Érythrée de veiller à ce qu’il n’y ait aucune activité ou présence militaire au Djibouti, qu’elle reconnaisse l’existence du conflit à la frontière avec le Djibouti, qu’elle s’engage activement dans un dialogue diplomatiques visant à réduire la tension et à obtenir un accord mutuellement acceptable pour régler le conflit à la frontière, et enfin qu’elle collabore pleinement avec les bons offices du Secrétaire général. L’Érythrée ne s’est pas conformée à la résolution 1862.

En 2009, l’attention s’est davantage tournée vers le rôle déstabilisateur de l’Érythrée en Somalie et vers ses violations de l’embargo.

Par conséquent, le 23 décembre 2009, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, agissant en vertu du chapitre VII de la Charte des Nations Unies, a adopté la résolution 1907 (2009), déterminant que les actions de l’Érythrée nuisent à la paix et à la réconciliation en Somalie et que le différend entre le Djibouti et l’Érythrée constitue une menace à la paix et à la sécurité internationales. Cette résolution enjoint à l’Érythrée de se conformer immédiatement à la résolution 1862 et enjoint à tous les États, et en particulier l’Érythrée, de cesser de fournir un appui aux groupes d’opposition armés en Somalie.

La résolution 1907 impose également des sanctions contre l’Érythrée et les personnes désignées par un comité du Conseil de sécurité. Le Règlement d’application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur l’Érythrée (le Règlement), pris en vertu de la Loi sur les Nations Unies, incorpore ces sanctions dans le droit canadien. L’application de l’interdiction de voyager imposée par la résolution 1907 se fait toutefois en vertu des dispositions existantes de la Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés.

Documents sélectionnés

Les règlements et décrets adoptés en vertu de la Loi sur les Nations Unies :

Liens connexes

Avis juridiques

Veuillez noter qu’Affaires mondiales Canada ne peut donner des avis juridiques au public. En conséquence, le ministère ne peut émettre aucun avis à propos des activités, ainsi que les transactions spécifiques, qui contreviennent ou contreviendront aux lois sur les sanctions. Il est également conseillé de solliciter des avis juridiques en ce qui a trait à une activité qui pourrait contrevenir à une loi canadienne portant sur les sanctions.