Current sanctions imposed by Canada

Canada has sanctions and related measures in place against a number of countries, as well as sanctions against specific individuals and entities identified as being associated with terrorist activities, including with Al-Qaida or the Taliban.

Sanctions

Canadian sanctions are imposed under the United Nations Act (UNA) or the Special Economic Measures Act (SEMA). For specific information about the sanctions regime in the country where you wish to do business, consult the relevant regulations. These can be found on the country pages linked below.

Canada has imposed sanctions and/or related measures against the following countries:

Canada has implemented mechanisms to prevent the concealment and transfer of funds or assets used to finance terrorism. These allow specified measures to be applied to listed terrorist entities.

Former sanctions

As a UN member state, Canada fulfills its international legal obligations to implement sanctions imposed by the United Nations Security Council. Many of these sanctions are no longer in force. In addition, Canada also imposed sanctions under the SEMA that are now repealed.

The following sanctions regimes, brought into force since 1992, have since been repealed:

Régimes de sanctions imposés par le Canada

Le Canada a des sanctions économiques et des mesures connexes en vigueur à l'encontre d'un certain nombre de pays, ainsi que des sanctions à l'encontre des individus et des entités identifiés comme étant associés aux activités terroristes, notamment à Al-Qaida ou au Taliban.

Sanctions

Les sanctions canadiennes sont imposées aux termes de la Loi sur les Nations Unies ou de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales. Pour obtenir des informations spécifiques sur le régime des sanctions imposé au pays où vous souhaitez exercer vos activités, veuillez consulter les règlements pertinents. Les règlements se trouvent sur la page Web de chaque pays.

Le Canada a imposé des sanctions et/ou des mesures connexes à l'encontre des pays suivants :

Le Canada a mis en oeuvre de mécanismes visant à prévenir la dissimulation et le transfert de fonds ou d’avoirs servant à financer le terrorisme. Ces mécanismes autorisent de mesures précises contre des entités terroristes designés.

Anciens sanctions

Comme état membre de l'ONU, le Canada s'acquitte de ses obligations internationales d'appliquer les sanctions imposées par le Conseil de sécurité. Dans de nombreux cas, ces sanctions ne sont plus en vigueur. De plus, le Canada a imposé des sanctions dans le cadre de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales qui sont abrogées.

Les régimes de sanctions ci-après, entrés en vigueur depuis 1992, ont été abrogés :