Canadian Sanctions Related to Iran

Sanctions Related to Iran Include:


Arms Embargo


Asset Freeze


Export/Import Restrictions


Technical Assistance Prohibition

Prohibitions

Sanctions related to Iran were enacted under the United Nations Act and the Special Economic Measures Act in response to Iran's nuclear and WMD programs.

Sanctions under the Regulations Implementing the United Nations Resolutions on Iran (Iran UN Regulations) were modified on February 5, 2016 to implement the changes to the United Nations sanctions against Iran as decided by the Security Council of the United Nations in Security Council Resolution 2231 (2015). Ongoing restrictions on dealings with Iran under the Iran UN Regulations include:

  • prohibitions on the export to Iran of:
    • items, materials, equipment, goods and technology related to uranium enrichment, reprocessing or heavy water-related activities, or to the development of nuclear weapon delivery systems (products listed in the International Atomic Energy Agency's Information Circulars INFCIRC/254/Rev.12/Part 1 and INFCIRC/254/Rev.9/Part 2 and UN Security Council document S/2015/254, as well as to a number of goods listed in Group 1 (Dual-Use List) and Group 2 (Munitions List) in A Guide to Canada's Export Controls;
    • items, material, equipment, goods and technology related to goods listed in the Missile Technology Control Regime (2015/254);
    • battle tanks, armored combat vehicles, large caliber artillery systems, combat aircrafts, attack helicopters, warships, missiles or missile systems as defined in the United Nations Registry of Conventional Weapons;
  • a prohibition on the provision to any person in Iran of technical assistance, financial or related services related to the supply, sale, transfer, manufacture or use of the products subject to the export prohibitions;
  • a prohibition on making available to any person in Iran any property, financial assistance or investment, related to the supply, sale, transfer, manufacture or use of the products subject to the export prohibitions;
  • a prohibition on making property or financial services available to Iran for the purpose of investing in specified nuclear-related activities in Canada;
  • a prohibition on providing any technology to Iran in respect of any activity related to ballistic missiles capable of delivering nuclear weapons;
  • a prohibition on the acquisition and import from Iran of arms and related material;
  • an assets freeze against individuals and entities who were listed by the Security Council or the Committee established pursuant to Resolution 1737 (2006) as of July 20, 2015 whose names were not removed by Resolution 2231, or any other persons who may be listed by the Security Council under Resolution 2231; and
  • a prohibition against claims by Iran or designated persons in relation to any transactions prevented by reason of the sanctions imposed against Iran.

Sanctions under the Special Economic Measures (Iran) Regulations (the Iran SEMA Regulations), as amended, prohibit:

  • transactions involving property with the individuals and entities subject to asset freezes as listed in Schedule 1;
  • the export, sale, supply or shipment of any goods listed in Schedule 2 of the Iran SEMA Regulations, to Iran, to any person in Iran, or to a person for the purpose of a business carried on in or operated from Iran; and transferring, providing or disclosing to Iran or any person in Iran any technical data related to the goods listed in Schedule 2.

Other Measures

In accordance with Resolution 2231, Canada imposes travel restrictions against persons listed by the Security Council, which are implemented in Canada via the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act.

Canada also continues to restrict the export to Iran of a wide range of sensitive products listed on the Export Control List (ECL), under the Export and Import Permits Act (EIPA). See Notice to Exporters Serial No. 196 for further information.

Permits and Certificates

Under the Iran UN Regulations, the Minister of Foreign Affairs may issue a certificate to authorize an activity restricted by the regulations, on a case-by-case basis, provided that the requirements of Resolution 2231 are strictly respected. The requirements may include obtaining the approval of the Security Council in advance.

A separate Special Economic Measures (Iran) Permit Authorization Order, made pursuant to subsection 4(4) of the Special Economic Measures Act authorizes the Minister of Foreign Affairs to issue to any person in Canada or any Canadian outside Canada a permit to carry out a specified activity or transaction, or any class of activity or transaction, that is restricted or prohibited pursuant to the Regulations.

Background

Between 2006 and 2010, the United Nations Security Council imposed four rounds of sanctions against Iran in response to its nuclear program. Acting under Chapter VII of the Charter of the United Nations, the Security Council adopted resolutions 1737 (2006), 1747 (2007), 1803 (2008) and 1929 (2010) imposing sanctions against Iran in response to the proliferation risks presented by Iran's nuclear program in light of Iran's failure to meet the requirements of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) and to comply with the provisions of earlier Security Council resolutions. The Regulations Implementing the United Nations Resolutions on Iran, as amended, implement the decisions of the Security Council in Canadian domestic law. Implementation of the travel restrictions imposed under UNSC Resolutions is ensured in Canada under existing provisions of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act.

In July 2010, Canada imposed additional sanctions on Iran in close consultation with like-minded partners, including the United States and the European Union, under the Special Economic Measures Act (SEMA) upon a finding by the Governor in Council that Iran’s failure to meet its international obligations amounted to a grave breach of international peace and security that had resulted or was likely to result in a serious international crisis. The SEMA (Iran) sanctions were increasingly tightened through amendments made in October 2011, November 2011, January 2012, December 2012 and May 2013 resulting in a broad prohibition on exports and imports to and from Iran, subject to certain exceptions, and on financial transactions.

On July 14, 2015, the five permanent members of the UN Security Council (China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States) plus Germany, known as the ‘P5+1’, led by the European Union, concluded an agreement with Iran in its nuclear program called the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA), which was endorsed by UN Security Council Resolution 2231 (2015). A key milestone for the nuclear deal was reached on what is known as “Implementation Day,” on January 16, 2016 following confirmation by the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) that Iran had fulfilled the prescribed commitments under the JCPOA, rolling back Iran’s nuclear program and subjecting it to extensive and ongoing international verification. Implementation Day also triggered immediate changes to sanctions imposed by the UN, the United States and the European Union against Iran, resulting in significant nuclear sanctions relief for Iran.

On February 5, 2016, Canada amended its Regulations implementing the United Nations Resolutions on Iran in order to implement the decisions of the Security Council under Resolution 2231. In addition, amendments were made to Canada’s sanctions against Iran under the Special Economic Measures (Iran) Regulations in order to contribute to international efforts to recognize the progress made under the JCPOA, while restricting Iran’s access to sensitive goods from Canada, especially with respect to nuclear proliferation and the development of ballistic missiles. The amendments remove:  the blanket prohibition on imports from Iran and exports to Iran (except for goods listed in Schedule 2); prohibitions on the transfer, provision or communication of certain technical data to Iran (except technical data related to goods listed in Schedule 2); broad prohibitions on providing or acquiring financial or other services to or from Iran; the prohibition on making investments in entities in Iran;  and the prohibitions related to the provision of services to certain Iranian vessels. They also modify the list of individuals and entities in Schedule 1.

Selected Documents

Regulations and Orders made under the Special Economic Measures Act:

Regulations made under the United Nations Act:

Announcements related to the Regulations made under the Special Economic Measures Act:

Announcements related to the Regulations made under the United Nations Act:

Related Links

Legal Advice

Please be advised that Global Affairs Canada cannot provide legal advice to members of the public. For this reason, we cannot deliver an opinion as to whether or not a specific activity or transaction would contravene sanctions legislation. You should consider seeking legal advice in relation to an activity that may contravene a Canadian sanction law.

Les sanctions canadiennes liées à l'Iran

Les sanctions liées à l'Iran inclure :


Embargo sur les armes


Gel des avoirs


Restrictions à l'exportation ou à l'importation


Interdiction en matière d'aide techniques

Interdictions

La Loi sur les Nations Unies et la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales ont été adoptées pour imposer des sanctions liées à l’Iran en réponse au programme nucléaire et au programme d’armes de destruction massive de ce pays.

Le 5 février 2016, des modifications ont été apportées aux sanctions imposées en vertu du Règlement d'application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur l'Iran, de façon à refléter les changements aux sanctions des Nations Unies à l’égard de l’Iran, décidés par la Résolution 2231 (2015) du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies. Des restrictions continuent toutefois de s’appliquer en vertu du Règlement d'application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur l'Iran :

  • une interdiction d’exporter vers l’Iran :
    • les articles, le matériel, l’équipement, les produits ou les technologies liées à des activités ayant un lien avec l’enrichissement de l’uranium, le retraitement ou l’eau lourde, ou à la mise au point de systèmes de lancement d’armes nucléaires (les produits qui figurent dans les circulaires d’information INFCIRC/254/Rev.12/Partie 1 et INFCIRC/254/Rev.9/Partie 2 de l’Agence internationale de l’énergie atomique et dans le document S/2015/254 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, de même qu’un certain nombre de produits figurant dans le Groupe 1 (Liste de marchandises à double usage) et le Groupe 2 (Liste de matériel de guerre) du Guide des contrôles à l’exportation du Canada;
    • les articles, le matériel, l’équipement, les produits ou les technologies liés à des produits énumérés dans le Régime de contrôle de la technologie des missiles (2015/254);
    • les chars d’assaut, les véhicules blindés de combat, les systèmes d’artillerie de gros calibre, les avions de combat, les hélicoptères d’attaque, les navires de guerre, les missiles et les systèmes de missiles qui correspondent aux définitions du Registre des armes classiques des Nations Unies;
  • une interdiction d’offrir à toute personne en Iran une aide technique, des services financiers ou des services connexes en lien avec la fourniture, la vente, le transfert, la fabrication ou l’utilisation de produits assujettis à l’interdiction d’exporter;
  • une interdiction d’offrir à toute personne en Iran des biens, une aide financière ou des investissements liés à la fourniture, à la vente, au transfert, à la fabrication ou à l’utilisation de produits assujettis à l’interdiction d’exporter;
  • une interdiction de mettre à la disposition de l’Iran des biens ou de lui offrir une aide financière en vue d’investir dans des activités liées au nucléaire au Canada;
  • une interdiction de fournir à l'Iran toute technologie se rapportant à toute activité liée à des missiles balistiques capables de lancer des armes nucléaires;
  • une interdiction de faire l’acquisition ou d’importer d’Iran des armes ou du matériel connexe;
  • un gel des avoirs s’appliquant aux personnes ou aux entités dont les noms figurent sur les listes du Conseil de sécurité ou du Comité créé en application de la résolution 1737 (2006) et qui, en date du 20 juillet 2015, n’ont pas été effacés par la résolution 2231 ou à toute autre personne dont le nom a été placé sur une liste par le Conseil de sécurité en application de la résolution 2231;
  • une interdiction à l’Iran et aux personnes désignées de faire des réclamations en lien avec toute transaction interdite en raison des sanctions imposées contre l’Iran.

Les sanctions imposées en vertu du Règlement sur les mesures économiques spéciales visant l’Iran (le Règlement sur les MES Iran), tel que modifiées, interdisent :

  • les transactions avec des personnes ou des entités dont les noms figurent à l’annexe 1 et qui sont assujetties à un gel des avoirs;
  • de vendre à l’Iran ou d’exporter ou expédier vers ce pays des produits figurant à l’annexe 2 du Règlement sur les mesures économiques spéciales visant l’Iran (ou à toute personne qui s’y trouve ou à toute personne pour les besoins d’une entreprise exploitée en Iran ou gérée à partir de l’Iran);
  • de transférer, fournir ou communiquer à l'Iran ou à toute personne qui s’y trouve des données techniques liées aux produits figurant à l'annexe 2.

Autres mesures

Conformément à la résolution 2231, le Canada impose aux personnes dont le nom figure sur les listes du Conseil de sécurité des restrictions relatives aux déplacements, lesquelles sont mises en œuvre au Canada en vertu de la Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés.

Le Canada continue également de restreindre l’exportation vers l’Iran d’un large éventail de produits sensibles figurant sur la Liste des marchandises d’exportation contrôlée (LMEC) en vertu de la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation (LLEI). Voir l’Avis aux exportateurs no 196 pour plus d’information.

Permis et certificats

En vertu du Règlement des Nations Unies sur l’Iran, le ministre des Affaires étrangères peut délivrer, au cas par cas, un permis autorisant l’exercice d’une activité faisant l’objet d’une restriction au titre du Règlement, à condition que les exigences de la résolution soient strictement respectées, notamment celle d’obtenir à l’avance l’approbation du Conseil de sécurité.

Un Décret concernant l’autorisation, par permis, à procéder à certaines opérations (mesures économiques spéciales — Iran) distinct, pris en vertu du paragraphe 4(4) de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales, confère au ministre des Affaires étrangères le pouvoir d’autoriser, par permis, toute personne se trouvant au Canada ou tout Canadien se trouvant à l’étranger à procéder à une opération ou catégorie d’opérations qui fait l’objet d’une interdiction ou d’une restriction au titre du Règlement sur les MES Iran.

Contexte

Entre 2006 et 2010, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a imposé quatre séries de sanctions contre l’Iran relativement à la poursuite de son programme nucléaire. En vertu du chapitre VII de la Charte des Nations Unies, il a adopté les résolutions 1737 (2006), 1747 (2007), 1803 (2008) et 1929 (2010) qui imposent des sanctions à l’Iran en raison des risques de prolifération que présente le programme nucléaire iranien étant donné que l’Iran ne parvient toujours pas à se conformer aux exigences de l’AIEA ainsi qu’aux dispositions de résolutions antérieures du Conseil de sécurité. Le Règlement d’application de la résolution des Nations Unies sur l’Iran, qui a été modifié, met en œuvre les décisions du Conseil de sécurité dans la loi canadienne. Les restrictions sur les déplacements imposées par les résolutions du Conseil de sécurité sont mises en œuvre au Canada par l’application des dispositions en vigueur de la Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés.

En juillet 2010, le Canada a imposé des sanctions supplémentaires à l’Iran en consultation étroite avec des alliés et partenaires, dont les États-Unis et l’Union européenne sous le régime de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales (MES) après que le gouverneur en conseil eut jugé que le non-respect par l’Iran de ses obligations internationales constituait une atteinte sérieuse à la paix et à la sécurité internationales ayant entraîné ou étant susceptible d’entraîner une grave crise internationale. Les sanctions sous les MES Iran ont été renforcées par une série d’amendements faits en octobre 2011, novembre 2011, janvier 2012, décembre 2012 et mai 2013. Au final, les sanctions sous les MES imposaient une interdiction générale à toute exportation ou importation vers/de l’Iran (sous réserve de certaines exceptions) ainsi qu’aux transactions financières.

Le 14 juillet 2015, les cinq membres permanents du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies (la Chine, la France, la Russie, le Royaume-Uni et les États-Unis) plus l’Allemagne, soit le P5+1, sous l’égide de l’Union européenne, ont conclu un accord avec l’Iran sur son programme nucléaire appelé le Plan d’action global commun (PAGC). Celui-ci a été adopté par le Conseil de sécurité par la Résolution 2231 (2015). L’une des étapes importantes de l’accord nucléaire a été franchie le « Jour d’entrée en vigueur», le 16 janvier 2016, à la suite de la confirmation par l’Agence internationale de l’énergie atomique (AIEA) que l’Iran s’est conformé aux engagements prévus en vertu du PAGC, soit réduire son programme nucléaire et le soumettre à une vérification internationale exhaustive et continue. Le « Jour d’entré en vigueur » a entraîné la levée immédiate d’une bonne partie des sanctions imposées par les Nations Unies, les États-Unis et l’Union européenne à l’égard de l’Iran.

Le 5 février 2016, le Canada a modifié le Règlement d’application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur l’Iran afin de mettre en œuvre les décisions du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, conformément à la Résolution 2231. De plus, des modifications ont été apportées aux sanctions du Canada à l’égard de l’Iran dans le cadre du Règlement sur les mesures économiques spéciales visant l’Iran afin de contribuer aux efforts internationaux pour reconnaître les progrès réalisés dans le cadre du PAGC. Toutefois, les modifications continuent de restreindre l’accès de l’Iran aux produits potentiellement sensibles provenant du Canada, particulièrement ceux en lien à la prolifération nucléaire et à la conception de missiles balistiques. Les modifications éliminent : l’interdiction générale liée aux importations d’Iran et aux exportations vers l’Iran (sauf pour les produits énumérés à l’annexe 2); les interdictions de transfert, d’approvisionnement ou de communication de certaines données techniques à l’Iran (à l’exception des données techniques liées aux produits énumérés à l’annexe 2); les interdictions générales de fournir ou d’acquérir des services financiers ou autres de l’Iran ou en Iran; l’interdiction d’investir dans des entités en Iran; les interdictions relatives à la prestation de services à certains navires iraniens. Des modifications ont aussi été apportées à la liste d’individus et entités inscrits à l’annexe 1.

Documents sélectionnés

Les règlements et décrets en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales :

Les règlements et décrets adoptés en vertu de la Loi sur les Nations Unies :

Les déclarations se rapportant aux règlements et décrets adoptés en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales :

Les déclarations se rapportant aux règlements et décrets adoptés en vertu de la Loi sur les Nations Unies :

Liens connexes

Avis juridiques

Veuillez noter qu'Affaires mondiales Canada ne peut pas donner des avis juridiques au public. En conséquence, le ministère ne peut émettre aucun avis à propos des activités, ainsi que les transactions spécifiques, qui contreviennent ou contreviendront aux lois sur les sanctions. Veuillez rechercher des conseils juridiques par rapport d'un activité qui pourrait contrevenir à un loi Canadien sur les sanctions.