Canadian Sanctions Related to Côte d'Ivoire (Ivory Coast)

Prohibitions

The measures imposed against Côte d'Ivoire have been repealed.

Background

On November 15, 2004, acting under Chapter VII of the Charter of the United Nations, the United Nations Security Council adopted Resolution 1572 imposing sanctions against Côte d'Ivoire in response to the resumption of hostilities in Côte d'Ivoire and the repeated violations of the ceasefire agreement of May 3, 2003.

The measures imposed against Côte d'Ivoire were renewed by the Security Council in subsequent resolutions. Resolution 1975 (2011), passed by the Security Council on March 30, 2011, expanded the list of designated persons.

In accordance with the Charter of the United Nations, decisions of the Security Council are binding on all states members and Canada implemented them by making the United Nations Côte d’Ivoire Regulations, which entered into force May 3, 2005.  Implementation of the travel ban imposed by Resolution 1572 (2004) was ensured in Canada under existing provisions of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act.

On April 28, 2016, the Security Council decided in Resolution 2283 to terminate the measures that it had imposed. On April 13, 2017, Canada repealed the United Nations Côte d’Ivoire Regulations.

Selected Documents

Regulations made under the United Nations Act:

Related Links

Legal Advice

Please be advised that Global Affairs Canada cannot provide legal advice to members of the public. For this reason, we cannot deliver an opinion as to whether or not a specific activity or transaction would contravene sanctions legislation. You should consider seeking legal advice in relation to an activity that may contravene a Canadian sanction law.

Les sanctions canadiennes liées à la Côte d'Ivoire

Interdictions

Les mesures imposées à l’encontre de la Côte d'Ivoire ont été abrogées.

Renseignements contextuels

Le 15 novembre 2004, en vertu du Chapitre VII de la Charte de l’Organisation des Nations Unies, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a adopté la résolution 1572, imposant des sanctions à la Côte d'Ivoire en réponse à la reprise des hostilités dans le pays et aux violations répétées de l’entente de cessez-le-feu conclue le 3 mai 2003.

Des résolutions subséquentes du Conseil de sécurité ont par la suite renouvelées les mesures à l’encontre de la Côte d'Ivoire.  La résolution 1975 (2011), adoptée par le Conseil de sécurité le 30 mars 2011, a élargi la liste des personnes désignées.

Conformément à la Charte des Nations Unies, les décisions du Conseil de sécurité s’imposent à tous les États membres et, par conséquent, le Canada a mis en place le Règlement d’application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur la Côte d’Ivoire, entré en vigueur le 3 mai 2005. La mise en œuvre de l'interdiction de voyager imposée par la Résolution 1572 (2004) était assurée au Canada par les dispositions existantes de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés.

Le 28 avril 2016, par l'adoption de la résolution 2283, le Conseil de sécurité a décidé de lever ces mesures. Le 13 avril 2017, le Canada a abrogé le Règlement d’application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur la Côte d’Ivoire.

Documents sélectionnés

Les règlements adoptés en vertu de la Loi sur les Nations Unies :

Liens connexes

Avis juridiques

Veuillez noter qu'Affaires mondiales Canada ne peut pas donner des avis juridiques au public. En conséquence, le ministère ne peut émettre aucun avis à propos des activités, ainsi que les transactions spécifiques, qui contreviennent ou contreviendront aux lois sur les sanctions. Veuillez rechercher des conseils juridiques par rapport d'un activité qui pourrait contrevenir à un loi Canadien sur les sanctions.