Canadian Sanctions Related to Lebanon

Sanctions related to Lebanon include:


Arms Embargo


Technical Assistance Prohibition

Prohibitions

Sanctions related to Lebanon were enacted under the United Nations Act to give effect to United Nations Security Council Resolution 1701. Subject to certain exceptions, the measures imposed against Lebanon include:

  • a prohibition on the export of arms and related material to any person in Lebanon; and
  • a prohibition on the provision to any person in Lebanon of any technical assistance related to the provision, manufacture, maintenance or use of arms and related material.

Exceptions

There is an exception to the above prohibitions for arms and related material and related technical assistance authorized in advance in writing by the Government of Lebanon or by the United Nations Interim Force in Lebanon.

Background

On August 11, 2006, acting under Chapter VII of the Charter of the United Nations, the United Nations Security Council adopted Resolution 1701 imposing sanctions against Lebanon, in response to the continued escalation of hostilities in Lebanon and Israel stemming from Hizbollah's attack of July 12, 2006, on Israel. The resolution was also adopted in recognition of the commitment of the Government of Lebanon to extend its authority over its territory, through its own legitimate armed forces, such that there will be no weapons without the consent of the Government of Lebanon and no authority other than that of the Government of Lebanon.

The Regulations Implementing the United Nations Resolution on Lebanon implement the decisions of the Security Council in Canadian domestic law.

Selected Documents

Regulations made under the United Nations Act:

Related Links

Legal Advice

Please be advised that Global Affairs Canada cannot provide legal advice to members of the public. For this reason, we cannot deliver an opinion as to whether or not a specific activity or transaction would contravene sanctions legislation. You should consider seeking legal advice in relation to an activity that may contravene a Canadian sanction law.

Les sanctions canadiennes liées au Liban

Les sanctions liées au Liban inclure :


Embargo sur les armes


Interdiction en matière d'aide techniques

Interdictions

Les sanctions liées au Liban étaient adoptées dans le cadre de la Loi sur les Nations Unies afin de donner effet à la Résolution 1701 du Conseil de sécurité de l'Organisation des Nations Unies. Sous réserve de certaines exceptions, les mesures imposées à l’encontre du Liban incluent notamment:

  • l'interdiction d’exporter des armes et du matériel connexe à toute personne au Liban; et
  • l'interdiction de fournir à toute personne au Liban une aide technique liée à la fourniture, la fabrication, l'entretien ou l'utilisation d’armes et de matériel connexe.

Exceptions

Il y a une exception aux interdictions ci-dessus pour ce qui est des armes, du matériel connexe et de l’aide technique connexe lorsqu’elle est autorisée à l’avance par écrit par le gouvernement du Liban ou par la Force intérimaire des Nations Unies au Liban (FINUL).

Renseignements contextuels

Le 11 août 2006, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a adopté la Résolution 1701 (2006), en vertu du Chapitre VII de la Charte des Nations Unies, imposant des sanctions au Liban en réponse à l'escalade des hostilités au Liban et en Israël, par suite de l'attaque perpétrée le 12 juillet 2006 par le Hezbollah contre Israël. Par ailleurs, cette résolution s'inscrivait dans le prolongement d'un engagement pris par le gouvernement du Liban, à savoir étendre son autorité sur son territoire par le déploiement de ses forces armées légitimes. Plus précisément, il s'agissait de soumettre l'acquisition d'armes au consentement du gouvernement du Liban, y compris de faire en sorte que celui-ci soit le seul à exercer son autorité dans le pays.

Le Règlement d'application de la résolution des Nations Unies sur le Liban met en oeuvre les décisions du Conseil de Sécurité en droit canadien.

Documents sélectionnés

Règlement adopté en vertu de la Loi sur les Nations Unies:

Liens connexes

Avis juridiques

Veuillez noter qu’Affaires mondiales Canada ne peut donner des avis juridiques au public. En conséquence, le ministère ne peut émettre aucun avis à propos des activités, ainsi que les transactions spécifiques, qui contreviennent ou contreviendront aux lois sur les sanctions. Il est également conseillé de solliciter des avis juridiques en ce qui a trait à une activité qui pourrait contrevenir à une loi canadienne portant sur les sanctions.