Canadian Sanctions Related to Liberia

Prohibitions

The measures imposed against Liberia have been repealed.

Background

On March 7, 2001, acting under Chapter VII of the Charter of the United Nations, the United Nations Security Council adopted Resolution 1343 imposing sanctions against Liberia in response to former President Taylor's support for the Revolutionary United Front in Sierra Leone. Additional sanctions were imposed by the adoption of Resolution 1478 (2003) on May 6, 2003. To reflect changing circumstances in Liberia, the sanctions regime was subsequently replaced and revised by the adoption of a number of resolutions, including resolutions 1521 (2003) and 1532 (2004).

In accordance with the Charter of the United Nations, decisions of the Security Council are binding on all member states and Canada implemented them by making the Regulations Implementing the United Nations Resolutions on Liberia which entered into force July 12, 2001. Implementation of the travel ban imposed by Resolution 1521 (2003), was ensured in Canada under existing provisions of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act.

On May 25, 2016, the Security Council decided in Resolution 2288 to terminate the measures that it had imposed.  On April 13, 2017, Canada repealed the Regulations Implementing the United Nations Resolutions on Liberia.

Selected Documents

Regulations Implementing the United Nations Resolutions on Liberia:

Related Links

Legal Advice

Please be advised that Global Affairs Canada cannot provide legal advice to members of the public. For this reason, we cannot deliver an opinion as to whether or not a specific activity or transaction would contravene sanctions legislation. You should consider seeking legal advice in relation to an activity that may contravene a Canadian sanction law.

Les sanctions canadiennes liées au Libéria

Interdictions

Les mesures imposées à l’encontre du Libéria ont été abrogées.

Renseignements contextuels

Le 7 mars 2001, agissant en vertu du Chapitre VII de la Charte des Nations Unies,  le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a adopté la Résolution 1343, imposant des sanctions contre le Libéria en réponse au soutien que l'ancien président du Libéria, M. Taylor, a apporté au Front révolutionnaire uni au Sierra Leone. Des sanctions additionnelles ont été imposées avec l’adoption de le Résolution 1478 (2003) le 6 mai 2003. Afin de refléter le changement des circonstances au Libéria, les sanctions ont ensuite été remplacées et révisées avec l’adoption de certaines résolutions, y compris les résolutions 1521 (2003) et 1532 (2004).

Conformément à la Charte des Nations Unies, les décisions du Conseil de sécurité s’imposent à tous les États membres et, par conséquent, le Canada a mis en place le Règlement d’application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur le Libéria, entré en vigueur le 12 juillet 2001. La mise en œuvre de l'interdiction de voyager était assurée au Canada par les dispositions existantes de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés.

Le 25 mai 2016, par l'adoption de la résolution 2288, le Conseil de sécurité a décidé de lever ces mesures.  Le 13 avril 2017, le Canada a abrogé le Règlement d’application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur le Libéria.

Documents sélectionnés

Règlement d’application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur le Libéria :

Liens connexes

Avis juridiques

Veuillez noter qu'Affaires mondiales Canada ne peut pas donner des avis juridiques au public. En conséquence, le ministère ne peut émettre aucun avis à propos des activités, ainsi que les transactions spécifiques, qui contreviennent ou contreviendront aux lois sur les sanctions. Veuillez rechercher des conseils juridiques par rapport d'un activité qui pourrait contrevenir à un loi Canadien sur les sanctions.