Canadian Sanctions Related to Somalia

Sanctions related to Somalia include:


Arms Embargo


Asset Freeze


Export/Import Restrictions


Technical Assistance Prohibition

Prohibitions

Sanctions related to Somalia were enacted under the United Nations Act to give effect to United Nations Security Council resolutions. Subject to certain exceptions, the measures imposed against Somalia include:

  • a prohibition on the export of arms and related material to any person in Somalia and to persons designated by the UN committee established by Resolution 751 (1992) to oversee the sanctions against Somalia (the 751 Committee);
  • a prohibition on the provision, to any person in Somalia and to persons designated by the 751 Committee, of technical, financial or other assistance related to military activities or to the supply, sale, transfer, manufacture, maintenance or use of arms and related material;
  • a prohibition on the direct or indirect import of charcoal from Somalia or from a person in Somalia, whether or not the charcoal originated in Somalia;
  • an assets freeze against persons designated by the 751 Committee; and
  • a travel ban against persons designated by the 751 Committee, ensured under provisions of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act.

Exceptions

There are some exceptions, including for the following:

  • protective clothing temporarily exported to Somalia by United Nations personnel, representatives of the media and humanitarian and development workers and associated personnel, solely for their personal use;
  • non-lethal military equipment intended solely for humanitarian or protective use;
  • arms and related material or technical assistance intended solely for the support of or use by the Intergovernmental Authority on Development’s (IGAD) protection and training mission in Somalia and Member States of the African Union;
  • arms and related material or technical assistance intended solely for the support of or use by the African Union Mission in Somalia; and
  • arms and related material or technical assistance intended solely for the purpose of helping develop security sector institutions.

Background

On January 23, 1992, acting under Chapter VII of the Charter of the United Nations, the United Nations Security Council adopted Resolution 733 (1992) imposing a complete embargo on all deliveries of weapons and military equipment to Somalia in response to the rapid deterioration of the situation in Somalia and the heavy loss of human life and widespread material damage resulting from the conflict in the country. Security Council resolutions 1425 (2002), 1725 (2006), 1744 (2007) and 1772 (2007) subsequently strengthened and created a number of exceptions to the arms embargo. The arms embargo contained in Resolution 733 (1992) and subsequent resolutions was applied in Canada through existing provisions of the Export and Import Permits Act.

On November 20, 2008, the United Nations Security Council adopted Resolution 1844 (2008) imposing additional sanctions against Somalia in response to the acts of violence in Somalia and the increase in acts of piracy and armed robbery at sea against vessels off the coast of Somalia. The Regulations Implementing the United Nations Resolutions on Somalia implement the decisions of the Security Council in Canadian domestic law, including the additional sanctions imposed by Resolution 1844 (2008).

On June 8, 2012, Canada imposed further sanctions against Somalia under the United Nations Act in response to United Nations Security Council Resolution 2036 (2012). The new measures prohibit the import of charcoal from Somalia and from persons in Somalia, whether or not the charcoal originated in Somalia.

Selected Documents

Regulations made under the United Nations Act:

Related Links

Legal Advice

Please be advised that Global Affairs Canada cannot provide legal advice to members of the public. For this reason, we cannot deliver an opinion as to whether or not a specific activity or transaction would contravene sanctions legislation. You should consider seeking legal advice in relation to an activity that may contravene a Canadian sanction law.

Les sanctions canadiennes liées à la Somalie

Les sanctions liées à la Somalie inclure :


Embargo sur les armes


Gel des avoirs


Restrictions à l'exportation ou à l'importation


Interdiction en matière d'aide techniques

Interdictions

Les sanctions liées à la Somalie étaient adoptées dans le cadre de la Loi sur les Nations Unies afin de donner effet aux résolutions du Conseil de sécurité de l'Organisation des Nations Unies. Sous reserve de certaines exceptions, les mesures imposées contre la Somalie comprennent notamment :

  • l'interdiction d’exporter des armes et du matériel connexe à toute personne en Somalie et aux personnes désignées par le Comité des Nations Unies mis sur pied aux termes de la Résolution 751 (1992) pour surveiller les sanctions imposeés contre la Somalie (le Comité 751);
  • l'interdiction de fournir, à toute personne en Somalie et aux personnes désignées par le Comité 751, de l’aide technique, financière ou autre, liée à des activités militaires ou à la fourniture, à la vente, au transfert, à la fabrication, au maintien ou à l’utilisation d’armes et de matériel connexe;
  • l’interdiction sur l’importation directe ou indirecte de charbon de bois, quelle qu’en soit la provenance, de la Somalie ou de toute personne en Somalie;
  • l'imposition d'un gel des avoirs à l’encontre des personnes désignées par le Comité 751; et
  • l'interdiction de voyager visant les personnes désignées par le Comité 751 assurée au Canada par les dispositions existantes de la Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés.

Exceptions

Certaines exceptions sont prévues, dont les suivantes :

  • les vêtements de protection temporairement exportés en Somalie par des fonctionnaires des Nations Unies, des représentants des médias ainsi que des agents humanitaires ou d’aide au développement et du personnel connexe, exclusivement pour leur usage personnel;
  • le matériel militaire non meurtrier destiné exclusivement à des fins humanitaires ou de protection;
  • les armes, le matériel connexe ou l’aide technique destinée exclusivement au soutien ou à l’usage de la Mission de protection et de formation de l’Autorité intergouvernementale pour le développement en Somalie et dans les États membres de l’Union africaine;
  • les armes, matériel connexe et l’aide technique destinée exclusivement au soutien ou à l’usage de la mission de l’Union africaine en Somalie;
  • les armes, le matériel connexe et l’aide technique utilisés exclusivement pour faciliter le développement d’institutions dans le secteur de la sécurité.

Renseignements contextuels

Le 23 janvier 1992, agissant en vertu du Chapitre VII de la Charte des Nations Unies, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a adopté la résolution 733 (1992) et imposé un embargo général et complet sur toute livraison d’armes et d’équipements militaires en Somalie en réponse à la détérioration rapide de la situation en Somalie et aux lourdes pertes en vies humaines et aux dommages matériels étendus résultant du conflit dans ce pays. Les résolutions 1425 (2002), 1725 (2006), 1744 (2007) et 1772 (2007) ont par la suite réaffirmé l’embargo sur les livraisons d’armes tout en l’assortissant de certaines exceptions. L’embargo sur les armes prévu par la résolution 733 (1992) et par les résolutions subséquentes était alors appliqué au moyen des dispositions existantes de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation.

Le 20 novembre 2008, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a adopté la résolution 1844 (2008), qui impose des sanctions supplémentaires à la Somalie en réponse aux actes de violence commis dans ce pays et à la récente multiplication des actes de piraterie et des vols à main armée commis contre des navires au large des côtes somaliennes. Le Règlement d'application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur la Somalie met en œuvre les décisions du Conseil de sécurité en droit canadien, y compris les sanctions additionnelles imposées par le Conseil de sécurité en vertu de la résolution 1844 (2008).

Le 8 juin 2012, le Canada a imposé des sanctions additionnelles contre la Somalie en vertu de la Loi sur les Nations Unies suite à la résolution 2036 (2012) du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies. Les nouvelles mesures interdisent l’importation de charbon de bois de la Somalie et de personnes s’y trouvant, quelle qu’en soit la provenance.

Documents sélectionnés

Les règlements adoptés en vertu de la Loi sur les Nations Unies :

Liens connexes

Avis juridiques

Veuillez noter qu’Affaires mondiales Canada ne peut donner des avis juridiques au public. En conséquence, le ministère ne peut émettre aucun avis à propos des activités, ainsi que les transactions spécifiques, qui contreviennent ou contreviendront aux lois sur les sanctions. Il est également conseillé de solliciter des avis juridiques en ce qui a trait à une activité qui pourrait contrevenir à une loi canadienne portant sur les sanctions.