Canadian Sanctions Related to South Sudan

Sanctions related to South Sudan include:


Asset Freeze


Financial Prohibitions

Prohibitions

Sanctions related to South Sudan were implemented under the Special Economic Measures Act and the United Nations Act in response to the ongoing conflict in that country.

The Special Economic Measures (South Sudan) Regulations impose an asset freeze on designated persons identified in the Schedule to the regulations. They prohibit persons in Canada and Canadians abroad from:

  • dealing in any property, wherever situated, held by or on behalf of a designated person;
  • entering into or facilitating, directly or indirectly, any transaction related to such a dealing;
  • providing any financial or related service in respect of such a dealing;
  • making goods, wherever situated, available to a designated person; and,
  • providing any financial or related service to or for the benefit of a designated person.

Causing, assisting or promoting prohibited activities is likewise prohibited.

The Regulations Implementing the United Nations Resolution on South Sudan also impose an asset freeze on persons designated by the United Nations Security Council Committee concerning South Sudan (the “Committee”).

Exceptions

Under the Special Economic Measures (South Sudan) Regulations, some exceptions to the prohibitions exist, including for the following:

  • payments made by or on behalf of a designated person that is due under a contract entered into their designation, provided that the payment is not to a designated person or for their benefit;
  • pension payments to any person in Canada or Canadian abroad;
  • certain transactions in respect of diplomatic missions;
  • transactions to UN agencies, the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement, and Canadian NGOs in certain circumstances;
  • transactions necessary for a Canadian to transfer to a non-designated person any accounts, funds or investments held by a designated person when that person became a designated person;
  • financial services required in order for a designated person to obtain certain legal services in Canada;
  • certain payments to persons in Canada or Canadians abroad in respect of loan payments; and
  • payments to any person in Canada or any Canadian abroad in respect of loans entered into prior the date on which a person became a designated person

Permits and Certificates

The Special Economic Measures (South Sudan) Permit Authorization Order, made pursuant to subsection 4(4) of the Special Economic Measures Act, authorizes the Minister of Foreign Affairs to issue to any person in Canada and any Canadian outside Canada a permit to carry out a specified activity or transaction, or any class of activity or transaction, with a designated person that is otherwise restricted or prohibited pursuant to the Special Economic Measures (South Sudan) Regulations.

Persons affected by the Regulations Implementing the United Nations Resolution on South Sudan can also apply for a certificate as per sections 7-10 of the same regulations, although these may require notification to and/or a decision from the United Nations Security Council or the Committee.

Background

Since December 2013, forces loyal to President Salva Kiir and those loyal to former Vice President Riek Machar have engaged in violent conflict, much of it along ethnic lines. The IGAD (a regional body consisting of Djibouti, Ethiopia, Kenya, Somalia, Sudan and Uganda, as well as South Sudan) is leading peace talks. A Cessation of Hostilities (CoH) Agreement was signed by both parties on January 23, 2014, followed by an Agreement to Resolve the Crisis in South Sudan signed on May 9, 2014. Both agreements were violated shortly thereafter and international observers suspect that both sides have been deliberately stalling negotiations in hopes of furthering their military gains. On June 10, 2014, Kiir and Machar agreed to end fighting and form a transitional government within 60 days, but little progress has been made since then.

Estimates of casualties due to the conflict range from 10,000 to 40,000 people and are possibly much higher, and over 1.5 million have been displaced internally or as refugees. On May 12, 2014, UN Secretary Ban Ki-Moon called for a special tribunal for South Sudan, saying there are grounds to believe that crimes against humanity have been committed during the crisis.

Recent Developments

On October 23, 2014, the Special Economic Measures (South Sudan) Regulations came into force. The Regulations include a list of names of persons for whom the Governor in Council considers that there are reasonable grounds to believe is a person engaged in activities that directly or indirectly facilitate, support, provide funding for or contribute to a violation or attempted violation of the Cessation of Hostilities Agreement.

On June 18, 2015, the Regulations Implementing the United Nations Resolution on South Sudan came into force, implementing decisions of the United Nations Security Council into Canadian domestic law.

Selected Documents

Regulations and Orders made under the Special Economic Measures Act:

Regulations made under the United Nations Act:

Related Links

Legal Advice

Please be advised that Global Affairs Canada cannot provide legal advice to members of the public. For this reason, we cannot deliver an opinion as to whether or not a specific activity or transaction would contravene sanctions legislation. You should consider seeking legal advice in relation to an activity that may contravene a Canadian sanction law.

Les sanctions canadiennes liées au Soudan du Sud

Les sanctions liées au Soudan du Sud inclure :


Gel des avoirs


Interdictions financières

Interdictions

Les sanctions liées au Soudan du Sud étaient adoptées dans le cadre de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales et la Loi sur les Nations Unies afin de répondre au conflit dans le pays.

Le Règlement sur les Mesures économiques spéciales visant le Soudan du Sud impose un gel des avoirs à l’encontre des personnes désignées qui sont identifiées dans l’Annexe du règlements, en interdisant les activités suivantes pour toute personne au Canada et tout Canadien a l’étranger :

  • d’effectuer une opération portant sur un bien, quelle que soit la situation de celui-ci, détenu par une personne désignée ou en son nom;
  • de conclure, directement ou indirectement, une transaction relativement à une telle opération ou d’en faciliter, directement ou indirectement, la conclusion;
  • de fournir des services financiers ou des services connexes à l’égard d’une telle opération;
  • de mettre des marchandises, indépendamment de leur situation, à la disposition d’une personne désignée;
  • de fournir des services financiers ou des services connexes à toute personne désignée ou pour son bénéfice.

Il est également interdit d’occasionner, de faciliter ou de favoriser la perpétration d’actes interdits.

Le Règlement d’application de la résolution des Nations Unies sur le Soudan du Sud impose également un gel des avoirs visant les personnes désignées par le Comité du Conseil de sécurité concernant le Soudan du Sud (le « Comité »).

Exceptions

Dans le cadre du Règlement sur les Mesures économiques spéciales visant le Soudan du Sud, certaines exceptions sont prévues, dont les suivantes:

  • des paiements fait par une personne désignée ou en son nom, qui est exigible aux termes d’un contrat conclu avant qu’elle ne devienne une personne désignée, à la condition qu’il ne soit pas fait à une personne désignée ou pour son bénéfice;
  • les versements de pensions à toute personne au Canada ou tout Canadien a l’étranger;
  • certaines transactions relatives à une mission diplomatique;
  • toute transaction relative à une institution des Nations Unies, au Mouvement international de la Croix-Rouge, ou aux organisations non gouvernementales canadiennes en certaines circonstances;
  • toute transaction nécessaire pour qu’un Canadien transfère à une personne non désignée les comptes, fonds ou investissements de Canadiens qui sont détenus par une personne désignée à la date où celle-ci est devenue une personne désignée;
  • les services financiers requises pour la prestation de certaines services juridiques;
  • certaines opérations nécessaires effectuées auprès d’une personne désignée à l’égard des remboursements à toute personne au Canada ou à tout Canadien à l’étranger d’emprunts contractés auprès d’une personne autre qu’une personne désignée
  • des paiements à une personne au Canada ou un Canadien à l’étranger a l’égard des emprunts contractés auprès d’une personne désignée avant qu’elle ne devienne une personne désignée.

Permis et certificats

Le Décret concernant l’autorisation, par permis, à procéder à certaines opérations (mesures économiques spéciales – Soudan du Sud), pris en vertu du paragraphe 4(4) de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales, confère au ministre des Affaires étrangères le pouvoir d’autoriser, par permis, toute personne se trouvant au Canada ou tout Canadien se trouvant à l’étranger à procéder à une opération ou transaction déterminée ou à une catégorie d’opérations ou de transactions avec une personne désignée qui fait l’objet d’une interdiction ou d’une restriction au titre du Règlement sur les Mesures économiques spéciales visant le Soudan du Sud.

Les personnes touchées par le Règlement d'application de la résolution des Nations Unies sur le Soudan du Sud peuvent également faire une demande pour un certificat conformément aux articles 7-10 du même règlement, bien que ceux-ci peuvent exiger une notification au Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies ou à son Comité, ou une décision provenant de l’un ou l’autre de ces organisations.

Renseignements contextuels

Depuis décembre 2013, des forces loyales au président Salva Kiir et des forces loyales à l’ancien vice-président Riek Machar sont engagées dans des conflits violents généralement en fonction de l’appartenance ethnique. L’IGAD (un organisme régional dont les membres sont Djibouti, l’Éthiopie, le Kenya, la Somalie, le Soudan, l’Uganda et le Soudan du Sud) est responsable des pourparlers de paix. Un accord de cessation des hostilités a été signé par les deux parties le 23 janvier 2014 et les parties ont ensuite signé, le 9 mai 2014, un accord pour mettre fin à la crise. Les accords ont été violés peu de temps après et les observateurs internationaux ont l’impression que les deux parties paralysent délibérément les négociations parce qu’elles espèrent faire des gains militaires. Le 10 juin 2014, Kiir et Machar ont convenu de cesser les hostilités et de mettre en place un gouvernement provisoire dans un délai de 60 jours, toutefois, ils ont fait très peu de progrès.

On estime qu’entre 10 000 et 40 000 personnes (peut-être beaucoup plus) ont perdu la vie en raison du conflit et qu’environ 1,5 million de personnes ont été déplacées à l’intérieur du pays ou ont fui le pays en tant que réfugiés. Le 12 mai 2014, Ban Ki-Moon, Secrétaire des Nations Unies, a demandé l’établissement d’un tribunal spécial pour le Soudan du Sud parce qu’il considère que les parties peuvent avoir commis des crimes contre l’humanité pendant la crise.

Nouveaux développements

Le 23 octobre 2014, le Règlement sur les Mesures économiques spéciales visant le Soudan du Sud (« le Règlement ») a entré en vigeur. Le Règlement comprend une liste de noms de personnes pour lesquelles le gouverneur en conseil estime qu'il existe des motifs raisonnables de croire qu’il s’agit d’une personne s’adonnant à des activités qui, directement ou indirectement, facilitent une violation ou tentative de violation de l’Accord de cessation des hostilités, procurent un soutien ou du financement ou contribuent à une telle violation ou tentative.

Le 18 juin 2015, le Règlement d’application de la résolution des Nations Unies sur le Soudan du Sud est entré en vigueur, mettant en œuvre les décisions du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies dans le droit interne du Canada.

Documents sélectionnés

Les règlements et décrets adoptés en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales :

Les règlements pris en vertu de la Loi sur les Nations Unies :

Liens connexes

Avis juridiques

Veuillez noter qu’Affaires mondiales Canada ne peut donner des avis juridiques au public. En conséquence, le ministère ne peut émettre aucun avis à propos des activités, ainsi que les transactions spécifiques, qui contreviennent ou contreviendront aux lois sur les sanctions. Il est également conseillé de solliciter des avis juridiques en ce qui a trait à une activité qui pourrait contrevenir à une loi canadienne portant sur les sanctions.