Canadian Sanctions Related to Sudan

Sanctions related to Sudan include:


Arms Embargo


Asset Freeze


Technical Assistance Prohibition

Prohibitions

Sanctions related to Sudan were enacted under the United Nations Act to give effect to United Nations Security Council resolutions. Subject to certain exceptions, the measures imposed against Sudan include:

  • a prohibition on the export of arms and related material to any person in Sudan;
  • a prohibition on the provision, to any person in Sudan, of technical assistance related to arms and related material;
  • an assets freeze against those persons designated by the UN Committee established by Resolution 1591 (2005) to oversee the sanctions against Sudan (the 1591 Committee); and
  • a travel ban against persons designated by the 1591 Committee.

Canada also has certain policy measures in place with regard to Sudan, outside the context of United Nations Security Council decisions. More information on these measures can be found on the Embassy of Canada to Sudan website.

Exceptions

There are some exceptions, including for the following:

  • arms and related material and related technical assistance for certain monitoring, verification or peace support operations;
  • non-lethal military equipment intended solely for humanitarian, human rights monitoring or protective use, and related technical assistance;
  • protective clothing intended for the personal use of United Nations personnel, human rights monitors, representatives of the media and humanitarian and development workers and associated personnel;
  • arms and related material or technical assistance provided in support of implementation of the Comprehensive Peace Agreement; and
  • arms and related material or technical assistance brought into the Darfur region of Sudan with approval of the United Nations Security Council.

Background

On July 30, 2004, acting under Chapter VII of the Charter of the United Nations, the United Nations Security Council adopted Resolution 1556 imposing sanctions against Sudan in response to the humanitarian crisis and widespread human rights violations resulting from the conflict in Darfur region. The sanctions regime was subsequently modified and strengthened with the adoption of Resolution 1591 on March 29, 2005.

The United Nations Sudan Regulations implement the decisions of the United Nations Security Council in Canadian domestic law. Implementation of the travel ban imposed by Resolution 1591 (2005) is ensured in Canada under existing provisions of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act.

Selected Documents

Regulations made under the United Nations Act:

Related Links

Legal Advice

Please be advised that Global Affairs Canada cannot provide legal advice to members of the public. For this reason, we cannot deliver an opinion as to whether or not a specific activity or transaction would contravene sanctions legislation. You should consider seeking legal advice in relation to an activity that may contravene a Canadian sanction law.

Les sanctions canadiennes liées au Soudan

Les sanctions liées au Soudan inclure :


Embargo sur les armes


Gel des avoirs


Interdiction en matière d'aide techniques

Interdictions

Les sanctions liées au Soudan étaient adoptées dans le cadre de la Loi sur les Nations Unies afin de donner effet aux résolutions du Conseil de sécurité de l'Organisation des Nations Unies. Sous réserve de certaines exceptions, les mesures imposées à l’encontre du Soudan comprennent les suivantes :

  • l'interdiction d’exporter des armes et du matériel connexe à toute personne au Soudan;
  • l’interdiction de fournir à toute personne au Soudan une aide technique liée aux armes et de matériel connexe;
  • l'imposition d'un gel des avoirs à l’encontre des personnes désignées par le Comité des Nations Unies mis sur aux termes de la Résolution 1591 (2005)pour surveiller les sanctions imposées contre le Soudan (le Comité 1591); et
  • l'interdiction de voyager visant les personnes désignées par le Comité 1591.

Exceptions

Certaines exceptions sont prévues, dont les suivantes :

  • les armes, le matériel connexe et l’aide technique connexe pour certaines opérations de surveillance, de vérification ou du soutien de la paix;
  • le matériel militaire non meurtrier destiné exclusivement à des fins humanitaires ou de protection, et à la surveillance des droits de la personne ainsi que l’aide technique connexe;
  • les vêtements de protection destinés à l’usage personnel des fonctionnaires des Nations Unies, des observateurs des droits de la personne, des représentants des médias, ainsi que des agents humanitaires ou d’aide au développement et du personnel connexe;
  • les armes, le matériel connexe ou l’aide technique fournie à l’appui à la mise en œuvre de l’Accord de paix global;
  • les armes, le matériel connexe ou l’aide technique fournie dans la région du Darfour au Soudan avec l’approbation du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies.

Le Canada a également en place des mesures politiques à l'égard du Soudan, à l'extérieur du contexte des décisions du Conseil de Sécurité des Nations Unies. Ces mesures sont décrites sur le site de l'Ambassade du Canada au Soudan.

Renseignements contextuels

Le 30 juillet 2004, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a adopté la résolution 1556 (2004), en vertu du Chapitre VII de la Charte des Nations Unies, imposant des sanctions au Soudan en réponse à la crise humanitaire et aux innombrables violations des droits humains occasionné par le conflit dans la région du Darfour. Les sanctions ont été modifiées et renforcées avec l’adoption de la Résolution 1591 le 29 mars 2005.

Le Règlement d’application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur le Soudan met en œuvre les décisions du Conseil de sécurité en droit existantes canadien. L'interdiction de voyager est assurée au Canada par les dispositions existantes de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés.

Documents sélectionnés

Règlement d’application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur le Soudan

Liens connexes

Avis juridiques

Veuillez noter qu’Affaires mondiales Canada ne peut donner des avis juridiques au public. En conséquence, le ministère ne peut émettre aucun avis à propos des activités, ainsi que les transactions spécifiques, qui contreviennent ou contreviendront aux lois sur les sanctions. Il est également conseillé de solliciter des avis juridiques en ce qui a trait à une activité qui pourrait contrevenir à une loi canadienne portant sur les sanctions.