Canadian Sanctions Related to Tunisia

Under the Freezing Assets of Corrupt Foreign Officials Act, and at the written request of Tunisia, Canada enacted a freeze of the assets of certain politically exposed foreign persons.

Prohibitions

The Freezing Assets of Corrupt Foreign Officials (Tunisia) Regulations prohibit the following activities by anyone in Canada:

  • to deal, directly or indirectly, in any property, wherever situated, of a listed politically exposed foreign person;
  • to enter into or facilitate, directly or indirectly, any financial transaction related to a dealing referred to in point (1);
  • to provide financial services or other related services in respect of any property of a listed politically exposed foreign person.

For the official list of persons whose assets are subject to freezing under the Freezing Assets of Corrupt Foreign Officials (Tunisia) Regulations, please consult the Department of Justice website.

Background

On March 23, 2011, the Governor in Council made, pursuant to the Freezing Assets of Corrupt Foreign Officials Act, the Freezing Assets of Corrupt Foreign Officials (Tunisia and Egypt) Regulations. These Regulations are now the Freezing Assets of Corrupt Foreign Officials (Tunisia) Regulations) as Egypt is longer part of the Regulations.

The Freezing Assets of Corrupt Foreign Officials (Tunisia and Egypt) Regulations gave effect to written requests from Tunisia and Egypt, which have recently experienced political upheaval, to freeze assets of their former leaders and senior officials or their associates and family members suspected of having misappropriated state funds, or obtained property inappropriately as a result of their office or family, business or personal connections.

On 10 march 2016, the Governor in Council made the Regulations Amending the Freezing Assets of Corrupt Foreign Officials (Tunisia and Egypt) Regulations and the Order Extending the application of the Freezing Assets of Corrupt Foreign Officials (Tunisia) Regulations.

New Developments

Canada has amended the list of persons whose assets are subject to freezing under the Freezing Assets of Corrupt Foreign Officials (Tunisia and Egypt) Regulations. These changes took effect as of March 11, 2016, which is the date the amending Regulations were registered (SOR/2016-41).

Changes to schedule 1 are the following:

Schedule 1

(Section 2)

Politically Exposed Foreign Persons (Tunisia)

1 to 4 [Repealed, SOR/2016-41, s. 4]

5 Fahd Mohamed Sakher Ben Moncef ben Mohamed Hafiz EL MATRI (also known among other names as Fahd Mohamed Sakher Ben Moncef Ben Mohamed Hfaiez MATERI), born on December 2, 1981, in Tunis, son of Naïma BOUTIBA and spouse of Nesrine BEN ALI

6 and 7 [Repealed, SOR/2016-41, s. 4]

8 Belhassen Ben Mohamed ben Rhouma TRABELSI (also known among other names as Belhassen Ben Mohamed Ben Rehouma TRABELSI), born on November 5, 1962, in Tunis, son of Saïda DHRIF

9 to 17 [Repealed, SOR/2016-41, s. 4]

18 Moez Ben Moncef ben Mohamed TRABELSI (also known among other names as Moez Ben Moncef Ben Mohamed TRABELSI), born on July 3, 1973, in Tunis, son of Yamina SOUIAÏ

19 to 71 [Repealed, SOR/2016-41, s. 4]

72 Zohra Bent Hedi Ben Ali JILANI, spouse of Belhassen TRABELSI

73 [Repealed, SOR/2016-41, s. 4]

74 Sofia Bent Belhassen Ben Mohamed TRABELSI, family member of Leila TRABELSI

75 Zine Bent Belhassen TRABELSI, family member of Leila TRABELSI

76 Asma Bent Belhassen TRABELSI, family member of Leila TRABELSI

77 Mohamed Fares Ben Belhassen TRABELSI, family member of Leila TRABELSI

78 to 123 [Repealed, SOR/2016-41, s. 4]

In addition, Canada has extended the application Freezing Assets of Corrupt Foreign Officials (Tunisia) Regulations for a new five year period. The extension took effect as of March 11, 2016, which is the date the Order was registered (SOR/2016-42)

Selected Documents

Related Links

Legal Advice

Please be advised that Global Affairs Canada cannot provide legal advice to members of the public. For this reason, we cannot deliver an opinion as to whether or not a specific activity or transaction would contravene sanctions legislation. You should consider seeking legal advice in relation to an activity that may contravene a Canadian sanction law.

Les sanctions canadiennes liées à la Tunisie

Dans le cadre de la Loi sur le blocage des biens de dirigeants étrangers corrompus, ainsi qu'à la demande écrite de la Tunisie, le Canada a mis en vigueur un gel des biens de certains étrangers politiquement vulnérables.

Interdictions

Le Règlement sur le blocage des biens de dirigeants étrangers corrompus (Tunisie) interdit les activités suivantes à toute personne au Canada :

  • effectuer toute opération, directement ou indirectement, portant sur un bien de tout étranger politiquement vulnérable visé par le Règlement, indépendamment de la situation du bien;
  • conclure, directement ou indirectement, toute opération financière liée à une opération visée au point 1 ou en faciliter, directement ou indirectement, la conclusion;
  • fournir des services financiers ou des services connexes relativement aux biens de tout étranger politiquement vulnérable visé par le Règlement.

Pour la liste officielle des personnes dont les biens sont soumis au gel sous le Règlement, veuillez consulter le Site Web de la législation du ministère de la justice.

Renseignements contextuels

Le 23 mars 2011, le gouverneur en conseil a pris, en vertu de la Loi sur le blocage des biens de dirigeants étrangers corrompus, le Règlement sur le blocage des biens de dirigeants étrangers corrompus (Tunisie et Égypte). Ce Règlement est maintenant le Règlement sur le blocage des biens de dirigeants étrangers corrompus (Tunisie) car l’Égypte n’en fait plus partie.

Le Règlement sur le blocage des biens de dirigeants étrangers corrompus (Tunisie et Égypte) visait à donner suite aux demandes d'aide écrites de la Tunisie et de l’Égypte. Ces pays viennent de connaître un bouleversement politique. Les demandes d'aide cherchent à bloquer les biens d'anciens dirigeants et hauts fonctionnaires ou de leurs associés et membres de leur famille qui sont soupçonnés d'avoir détourné des fonds de l'État ou obtenu des biens de manière inappropriée en profitant de leurs fonctions ou de leurs relations familiales, commerciales ou personnelles.

Le 10 mars 2016, le Gouverneur général en conseil a pris le Règlement modifiant le Règlement sur le blocage des biens des dirigeants étrangers corrompus (Tunisie et Égypte) et le Décret prolongeant la période de validité du Règlement sur le blocage des biens de dirigeants étrangers corrompus (Tunisie).

Faits nouveaux

Le Canada a modifié et mis à jour la liste des personnes dont les biens sont soumis au gel sous le Règlement sur le blocage des biens de dirigeants étrangers corrompus (Tunisie et Égypte). Les modifications et mises à jour ont pris effet le 11 mars 2016, qui est la date d`enregistrement du Règlement modifiant (DORS/2016-41).

Les changements à l’annexe 1 sont les suivants:

Annexe 1

(article 2)

Étrangers politiquement vulnérables (Tunisie)

1 à 4 [Abrogés, DORS/2016-41, art. 4]

5 Fahd Mohamed Sakher Ben Moncef ben Mohamed Hafiz EL MATRI (connu notamment sous le nom de Fahd Mohamed Sakher Ben Moncef Ben Mohamed Hfaiez MATERI), né le 2 décembre 1981 à Tunis, fils de Naïma BOUTIBA et marié à Nesrine BEN ALI

6 et 7 [Abrogés, DORS/2016-41, art. 4]

8 Belhassen Ben Mohamed ben Rhouma TRABELSI (connu notamment sous le nom de Belhassen Ben Mohamed Ben Rehouma TRABELSI), né le 5 novembre 1962 à Tunis, fils de Saïda DHRIF

9 à 17 [Abrogés, DORS/2016-41, art. 4]

18 Moez Ben Moncef ben Mohamed TRABELSI (connu notamment sous le nom de Moez Ben Moncef Ben Mohamed TRABELSI), né le 3 juillet 1973 à Tunis, fils de Yamina SOUIAÏ

19 à 71 [Abrogés, DORS/2016-41, art. 4]

72 Zohra Bent Hedi Ben Ali JILANI, épouse de Belhassen TRABELSI

73 [Abrogé, DORS/2016-41, art. 4]

74 Sofia Bent Belhassen Ben Mohamed TRABELSI, membre de la famille de Leila TRABELSI

75 Zine Bent Belhassen TRABELSI, membre de la famille de Leila TRABELSI

76 Asma Bent Belhassen TRABELSI, membre de la famille de Leila TRABELSI

77 Mohamed Fares Ben Belhassen TRABELSI, membre de la famille de Leila TRABELSI

78 à 123 [Abrogés, DORS/2016-41, art. 4]

De plus, le Canada a prolongé l’application du Règlement sur le blocage des biens de dirigeants étrangers corrompus (Tunisie) pour une nouvelle période de cinq ans. La prolongation a prise effet le 11 mars 2011, soit la date d’enregistrement du Décret (DORS/2016-42).

Documents sélectionnés

Liens connexes

Avis juridiques

Veuillez noter qu’Affaires mondiales Canada ne peut donner des avis juridiques au public. En conséquence, le ministère ne peut émettre aucun avis à propos des activités, ainsi que les transactions spécifiques, qui contreviennent ou contreviendront aux lois sur les sanctions. Il est également conseillé de solliciter des avis juridiques en ce qui a trait à une activité qui pourrait contrevenir à une loi canadienne portant sur les sanctions.