Canadian Sanctions Related to Venezuela

Sanctions related to Venezuela include:


Asset Freeze


Financial Prohibitions

Prohibitions

Sanctions related to Venezuela have been enacted under the Special Economic Measures Act in order to implement the decision of the Association formed between Canada and the United States of America on September 5, 2017. The Association called on its members to take economic measures against Venezuela and persons responsible for the current situation in Venezuela.

The Special Economic Measures (Venezuela) Regulations impose an asset freeze and dealings prohibition on listed persons. The Regulations prohibit any person in Canada and any Canadian outside Canada from:

  • dealing in property, wherever situated, that is owned, held or controlled by listed persons or a person acting on behalf of a listed person;
  • entering into or facilitating any transaction related to a dealing prohibited by these Regulations;
  • providing any financial or related services in respect of a dealing prohibited by these Regulations;
  • making available any goods, wherever situated, to a listed person or a person acting on behalf of a listed person; and
  • providing any financial or other related services to or for the benefit of a listed person.

Causing, facilitating or assisting in prohibited activities is likewise prohibited.

Exceptions

The above-noted asset freeze and dealings prohibitions do not apply to the following activities or transactions:

  • payments made by or on behalf of a listed person pursuant to contracts entered into prior to the coming into force of the Regulations, provided that the payments are not made to a listed person or to a person acting on behalf of a listed person;
  • transactions necessary for a Canadian to transfer to a non-listed person any accounts, funds or investments of a Canadian held by a listed person on the day on which that person became listed;
  • dealings with a listed person required with respect to loan repayments made to any person in Canada, or any Canadian outside Canada, for loans entered into with any person other than a listed person, and for enforcement and realization of security in respect of those loans, or repayments by guarantors guaranteeing those loans;
  • dealings with a listed person required with respect to loan repayments made to any person in Canada, or any Canadian outside Canada, for loans entered into with a listed person before that person became a listed person, and for enforcement and realization of security in respect of those loans, or repayments by guarantors guaranteeing those loans;
  • pension payments to any person in Canada or any Canadian outside Canada;
  • financial services required in order for a listed person to obtain legal services in Canada with respect to the application of any of the prohibitions set out in these Regulations;
  • transactions in respect of accounts at financial institutions held by diplomatic missions, provided that the transaction is required in order for the mission to fulfill its diplomatic functions under the Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations, or transactions required in order to maintain the mission premises if the diplomatic mission has been temporarily or permanently recalled;
  • transactions with any international organization with diplomatic status, agencies of the United Nations, the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement, or with any entity that has entered into a grant or contribution agreement with Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada; and
  • transactions by the Government of Canada that are provided for in any agreement or arrangement between Canada and Venezuela.

Permits and Certificates

A separate Special Economic Measures (Venezuela) Permit Authorization Order made pursuant to subsection 4(4) of the Special Economic Measures Act authorizes the Minister of Foreign Affairs to issue to any person in Canada and any Canadian outside Canada a permit to carry out a specified activity or transaction, or any class of activity or transaction, that is otherwise restricted or prohibited pursuant to the Regulations.

Background

On September 5, 2017, an Association between Canada and the United States was formed. The Association called on its members to take economic measures against Venezuela and persons responsible for the current situation in Venezuela. To implement this decision, on September 22, 2017, Canada announced that targeted sanctions would be imposed against Venezuela, Venezuelan officials and other individuals under the Special Economic Measures Act.

After democratic elections held in December 2015 saw a coalition of opposition parties win a majority in the National Assembly, the Venezuelan government proceeded to systematically strip the powers of the National Assembly. In January 2016, President Nicolas Maduro declared a state of emergency and has since been ruling by decree. In May 2017 he announced the creation of a National Constituent Assembly (or ANC), which was formed on August 4, 2017 and immediately moved to assume core functions of the opposition-led National Assembly. The ANC has the power to supersede any institution in Venezuela, to rule by decree and to unilaterally rewrite the Constitution. Members of the ANC were elected on July 30, 2017 following an election process which was boycotted by the opposition, was fraught with gerrymandering and allegations of vote rigging. Countries from around the globe, including Canada, refuse to recognize the legitimacy of the National Constituent Assembly or any of its decisions.

In April 2017, in reaction to the government’s undermining of democratic institutions, Venezuelan citizens took to the streets in almost daily protests over several months. The government crackdown against these demonstrators resulted in a high number of civilian deaths and injuries, as well as thousands of arrests. The repressive acts of the Venezuelan government are widely criticized, including by Venezuela’s former Attorney General, Luisa Ortega, and the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights, who issued a report on August 30, 2017 citing grave concerns with the “systematic use of excessive force" by government security forces.

The number of political prisoners continues to rise. There are significant concerns regarding the denial of fair trial rights and the use of military courts to try civilians. In 2017, there has also been a marked increase in the suppression of freedom of expression, including the recent closures of media outlets like radio and television stations. Various foreign television channels and webpages have also been blocked by the government. The President of the National Constituent Assembly has also publicly confirmed her intention to censor social media.

As a result of the government’s systematic erosion of Venezuela’s democratic institutions and its grave human rights abuses, and in response to the Association between Canada and the United States that was formed on September 5, 2017, which called on its members to take economic measures against Venezuela and persons responsible for the current situation in Venezuela, the Special Economic Measures (Venezuela) Regulations came into force.

Selected Documents

Regulations and Orders made under the Special Economic Measures Act:

Announcements related to the Regulations made under the Special Economic Measures Act:

Related Links

Legal Advice

Please be advised that Global Affairs Canada cannot provide legal advice to members of the public. For this reason, we cannot deliver an opinion as to whether or not a specific activity or transaction would contravene sanctions legislation. You should consider seeking legal advice in relation to an activity that may contravene a Canadian sanction law.

Les sanctions canadiennes liées au Venezuela

Les sanctions liées au Venezuela inclure :


Gel des avoirs


Interdictions financières

Interdictions

Les sanctions canadiennes liées au Vénézuéla ont été adoptées en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales dans le but de mettre en œuvre la décision de l’Association créée entre le Canada et les États-Unis, le 5 septembre 2017. Cette Association invite ses membres à prendre des mesures économiques à l’encontre du Vénézuéla ainsi qu’à l’encontre des personnes qui contribuent activement à la situation actuelle au Vénézuéla.

Le Règlement sur les mesures économiques spéciales visant le Vénézuéla impose un gel des avoirs et des restrictions quant aux opérations impliquant toute personne dont le nom figure sur la liste établie à cet effet. Le Règlement interdit à toute personne au Canada et à tout Canadien à l’étranger :

  • d’effectuer une opération portant sur un bien où qu’il soit, appartenant,à une personne dont le nom figure sur la liste ou détenu ou contrôlé par elle ou pour son compte;
  • de conclure une transaction liée à une opération interdite décrite ci-dessus ou d’en faciliter la conclusion;
  • de fournir des services financiers ou connexes à l’égard de toutes opérations décrite ci-dessus;
  • de mettre toutes marchandises où qu’elles soient, à la disposition d’une personne dont le nom figure sur la liste ou une personne agissant pour son compte;
  • de fournir des services financiers ou connexes à une personne dont le nom figure sur la liste ou à son bénéfice.

Il est également interdit d’occasionner ou de faciliter la perpétration d’actes interdits décrits ci-dessus.

Exceptions

Les exceptions au gel des avoirs et aux restrictions quant aux opérations ne s’appliquent pas aux cas suivants :

  • les paiements effectués par une personne dont le nom figure sur la liste ou en leur nom en vertu d’un contrat ayant été signé avant l’application du Règlement, à condition que les paiements ne s’adressent pas à une personne dont le nom figure sur la liste ou à une personne agissant pour le compte de la personne dont le nom figure sur la liste;
  • toute transaction nécessaire pour qu’un Canadien transfère à une personne dont le nom n’est pas inscrit sur la liste les comptes, fonds ou investissements de Canadiens qui sont détenus par une personne à la date où son nom a été ajouté à la liste;
  • toute opération nécessaire effectuée auprès d’une personne dont le nom figure sur la liste à l’égard des remboursements à toute personne au Canada ou à tout Canadien à l’étranger d’emprunts contractés auprès d’une personne dont le nom ne figure pas sur la liste, et pour faire valoir ou réaliser des sûretés relatives à de tels emprunts ou les paiements effectués par leurs garants;
  • toute opération nécessaire effectuée auprès d’une personne dont le nom figure sur la liste à l’égard des remboursements à toute personne au Canada ou à tout Canadien à l’étranger d’emprunts contractés auprès d’une personne avant que son nom figure sur la liste, et pour faire valoir ou réaliser des sûretés relatives à de tels emprunts ou les paiements effectués par leurs garants;
  • les versements de pensions à toute personne au Canada ou à tout Canadien à l’étranger;
  • les services financiers requis pour qu’une personne dont le nom figure sur la liste obtienne des services juridiques au Canada relativement à l’application de toute interdiction prévue par le présent Règlement;
  • toute transaction relative à tout compte d’une mission diplomatique détenu dans une institution financière, à la condition que la transaction soit requise pour permettre à la mission de remplir ses fonctions diplomatiques conformément à la Convention de Vienne sur les relations diplomatiques ou, si elle a été rappelée définitivement ou temporairement, pour lui permettre d’assurer l’entretien des locaux de la mission;
  • toute transaction à laquelle sont parties des organisations internationales ayant un statut diplomatique, des organismes des Nations Unies, le Mouvement international de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge ou toute entité qui a conclu un accord de subvention ou de contribution avec le ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement;
  • les transactions par le gouvernement du Canada qui sont prévues dans toute entente ou tout accord entre le Canada et le Vénézuéla.

Permis et certificats

Un décret distinct, le Décret concernant l’autorisation, par permis à procéder à certaines opérations (mesures économiques spéciales – Venezuela) conformément au paragraphe 4(4) de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales, confère au ministre des Affaires étrangères le pouvoir d’autoriser, par permis, toute personne se trouvant au Canada ou tout Canadien à l’étranger à procéder à une opération ou catégorie d’opérations qui fait l’objet d’une interdiction ou d’une restriction au titre du Règlement.

Contexte

Le 5 septembre 2017, une Association a été créée entre le Canada et les États-Unis. Cette Association en a appelé à ses membres de prendre des mesures économiques contre le Vénézuéla et contre certaines personnes qui contribuent activement à la situation actuelle au Vénézuéla. Pour mettre cette décision en œuvre, le 22 septembre 2017, le Canada a annoncé que des sanctions ciblées seraient imposées contre le Vénézuéla, les hauts fonctionnaires du gouvernement du Vénézuéla et autres personnes en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales.

Aux élections démocratiques qui ont eu lieu en décembre 2015, la majorité de l’Assemblée nationale a été remportée par une coalition des partis de l’opposition. Par la suite, le gouvernement vénézuélien a entrepris d’écarter systématiquement les pouvoirs de l’Assemblée nationale. En janvier 2016, le président, Nicolas Maduro, a déclaré l’état d’urgence et il gouverne par décrets depuis. En mai 2017, il a annoncé la création de l’Assemblée nationale constituante (ou ANC), laquelle a été formée, le 4 août 2017, et a immédiatement décidé d’assumer les fonctions essentielles de l’Assemblée nationale dirigée par l’opposition. Le pouvoir de l’ANC à préséance par rapport à toutes autres institutions au Vénézuéla, elle a le pouvoir de gouverner par décrets et de rédiger unilatéralement une nouvelle constitution. Les membres de l’ANC ont été élus, le 30 juillet 2017, à la suite d’un processus électoral qui avait fait l’objet d’un boycottage de la part de l’opposition et qui a été entaché par des allégations de manipulation des limites électorales à des fins partisanes et de fraudes électorales. Des pays de partout dans le monde, y compris le Canada, refusent de reconnaître la légitimité de l’Assemblée nationale constituante et la totalité de ses décisions.

En avril 2017, réagissant à l’affaiblissement des institutions démocratiques suite aux actions du gouvernement, les citoyens du Vénézuéla sont descendus dans les rues pour manifester quasi quotidiennement pour plusieurs mois. Les mesures de répressions menées par le gouvernement contre les manifestants ont donné lieu à de nombreux décès et blessés parmi les civils, ainsi qu’à des milliers d’arrestations. Les actes de répression du gouvernement vénézuélien sont largement critiqués, notamment, par l’ancien procureur général, Luisa Ortega, et le Haut-commissaire des Nations-Unies aux droits de l’homme, dont le rapport du 30 août 2017 fait état de profondes inquiétudes en ce qui a trait à « l’utilisation systématique d’une force excessive » par les forces de sécurité du gouvernement.

Le nombre de prisonniers politiques continue d’augmenter. De sérieuses préoccupations ont été soulevées concernant le refus au droit d’obtenir un procès juste et équitable, et à l’utilisation des cours martiales afin de juger des civils, contrevenant ainsi à la Constitution et au droit international. En 2017, il y a eu une nette augmentation du nombre de cas d’atteinte à la liberté d’expression, notamment, la fermeture récente d’organes de presse comme des stations de radio et de télévision. Un nombre considérable de postes de télévision et de pages Web de l’étranger ont également été bloqués par le gouvernement. La présidente de l’Assemblée nationale constituante a également confirmé publiquement son intention de censurer les médias sociaux.

Par conséquent, suivant l’érosion systématique des institutions démocratiques par le gouvernement vénézuélien et de ses violations graves des droits de la personne, et en réponse à l’Association créée entre le Canada et les États-Unis, le 5 septembre 2017, qui invite ses membres à prendre des mesures économiques à l’encontre du Vénézuéla et des personnes à qui est attribuée la situation actuelle au Vénézuéla, le Règlement sur les mesures économiques spéciales visant le Vénézuéla est entré en vigueur.

Documents sélectionnés

Les règlements et décrets adoptés en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales :

Les déclarations se rapportant aux règlements et décrets adoptés en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales :

Liens connexes

Avis juridiques

Veuillez noter qu’Affaires mondiales Canada ne peut donner des avis juridiques au public. En conséquence, le ministère ne peut émettre aucun avis à propos des activités, ainsi que les transactions spécifiques, qui contreviennent ou contreviendront aux lois sur les sanctions. Il est également conseillé de solliciter des avis juridiques en ce qui a trait à une activité qui pourrait contrevenir à une loi canadienne portant sur les sanctions.