Canadian Sanctions Related to Yemen

Sanctions related to Yemen include:


Asset Freeze


Financial Prohibitions

Prohibitions

Sanctions related to Yemen were enacted under the United Nations Act to give effect to United Nations Security Council Resolution 2140. Subject to certain exceptions, the measures imposed against Yemen prohibit any person in Canada and any Canadian outside Canada from knowingly:

  • dealing directly or indirectly, in any property in Canada as of February 26, 2014 or at any time after that date, that is owned or controlled by a person designated by the UN committee established by Resolution 2140 (2014) to oversee the sanctions against Yemen (the 2140 Committee), by a person acting on behalf of, or at the direction of, a person designated by the 2140 Committee, or by a person owned or controlled by a person designated by the 2140 Committee;
  • entering into or facilitating, directly or indirectly, any financial transaction related to a dealing referred to in paragraph (a);
  • providing any financial or other related service in respect of the property referred to in paragraph (a);
  • making any property or any financial or related service available to a person designated by the 2140 Committee, to a person acting on behalf of, or at the direction of, a person designated by the 2140 Committee or to a person owned or controlled by a person designated by the 2140 Committee; or
  • making property or any financial or other related service available for the benefit of any person referred to in paragraph (d).

Background

On February 26, 2014, acting under Chapter VII of the Charter of the United Nations, the United Nations Security Council adopted Resolution 2140 (2014), in response to the ongoing political crisis and conflict in Yemen.

The Regulations impose a travel ban and asset freeze on individuals or entities designated by the 2140 Committee for engaging in or providing support for acts that threaten the peace, security or stability of Yemen, including human rights violations.

Selected Documents

Regulations and Orders made under the United Nations Act:

Related Links

Legal Advice

Please be advised that Global Affairs Canada cannot provide legal advice to members of the public. For this reason, we cannot deliver an opinion as to whether or not a specific activity or transaction would contravene sanctions legislation. You should consider seeking legal advice in relation to an activity that may contravene a Canadian sanction law.

Les sanctions canadiennes liées au Yémen

Les sanctions liées au Yémen inclure :


Gel des avoirs


Interdictions financières

Interdictions

Les sanctions liées au Yémen étaient adoptées dans le cadre de la Loi sur les Nations Unies afin de donner effet à la résolution 2140 du Conseil de sécurité de l'Organisation des Nations Unies. Sous réserve de certaines exceptions, les mesures imposées à l’encontre du Yémen interdit aux personnes au Canada et aux Canadiens à l'étranger de sciemment :

  • d'effectuer, directement ou indirectement, une opération portant sur un bien se trouvant au Canada le 26 février 2014 ou après cette date dont est propriétaire ou que contrôle toute personne désignée par le Comité des Nations Unies mis sur pied aux termes de la Résolution 2140 (2014) pour surveiller les sanctions imposées contre le Yémen, toute personne agissant pour le compte ou sur les instructions d’une telle personne ou toute personne dont est propriétaire ou que contrôle une personne désignée par le Comité 2140;
  • de conclure, directement ou indirectement, une opération financière relativement à une opération visée à l'alinéa a) ou d'en faciliter, directement ou indirectement, la conclusion;
  • de fournir des services financiers ou des services connexes liés à des biens visés à l'alinéa a);
  • de mettre des biens ou des services financiers ou connexes à la disposition d'une personne désignée, d'une personne agissant pour le compte ou sur les instructions d’une telle personne ou d'une personne dont est propriétaire ou que contrôle une personne désignée;
  • de mettre des biens ou des services financiers ou connexes à la disposition de toute personne mentionnée à l'alinéa d).

Renseignements contextuels

Le 26 février 2014, agissant en vertu du Chapitre VII de la Charte des Nations Unies, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a adopté la résolution 2140 (2014), en réaction au conflit et à la crise politique au Yémen.

Les réglementations imposent une interdiction de voyage et un gel des avoirs financiers aux personnes ou entités désignées par le Comité 2140 comme se livrant ou apportant un appui à des actes qui menacent la paix, la sécurité ou la stabilité du Yémen, y compris des violations des droits de la personne.

Documents sélectionnés

Les règlements et décrets adoptés en vertu des résolutions des Nations Unies :

Liens connexes

Avis juridiques

Veuillez noter qu’Affaires mondiales Canada ne peut donner des avis juridiques au public. En conséquence, le ministère ne peut émettre aucun avis à propos des activités, ainsi que les transactions spécifiques, qui contreviennent ou contreviendront aux lois sur les sanctions. Il est également conseillé de solliciter des avis juridiques en ce qui a trait à une activité qui pourrait contrevenir à une loi canadienne portant sur les sanctions.