Canadian Sanctions Related to Zimbabwe

Sanctions related to Zimbabwe include:


Arms Embargo


Financial Prohibitions


Technical Assistance Prohibition

Prohibitions

Sanctions related to Zimbabwe were enacted under the Special Economic Measures Act in response to human rights violations, political violence and a worsening humanitarian situation.

Subject to certain exceptions, the measures implemented by the Special Economic Measures (Zimbabwe) Regulations include:

  • a ban on the export of arms and related material to Zimbabwe or to any person in Zimbabwe;
  • a prohibition on the transport of arms and related material to Zimbabwe aboard a Canadian vessel or aircraft;
  • a prohibition on the provision of technical or financial assistance or services relating to arms and related material, including the provision, transfer or communication of technical data, to Zimbabwe or any person in Zimbabwe;
  • requirement on any person in Canada and Canadian outside of Canada to freeze the assets of listed Zimbabwean persons and entities; and
  • a prohibition on Zimbabwean aircraft from flying over or landing in Canada.

Exceptions

There are some exceptions, including for the following:

  • supplies of non-lethal military equipment intended solely for humanitarian or protective use, and related technical assistance and training;
  • supplies of protective clothing and equipment for the personal use of United Nations or African Union personnel, representatives of the media and humanitarian and development workers and associated personnel; and
  • members of the Canadian Forces in, or travelling to, Zimbabwe.

The Regulations include a list of names of persons for whom the Governor in Council believes there are reasonable grounds to believe that they are connected with the Government of Zimbabwe or persons or entities engaged in activities that seriously undermine democracy, respect for human rights and the rule of law in Zimbabwe.

Permits and Certificates

The Special Economic Measures (Zimbabwe) Permit Authorization Order, made pursuant to subsection 4(4) of the Special Economic Measures Act, authorizes the Minister of Foreign Affairs to issue to any person in Canada or any Canadian outside Canada a permit to carry out a specified activity or transaction, or any class of activity or transaction, that is restricted or prohibited pursuant to the Regulations.

Background

On September 4, 2008, the Special Economic Measures (Zimbabwe) Regulations came into force in order to respond to the gravity of the situation in Zimbabwe. Zimbabwe has been in serious decline for a decade; however, events since March 2008, including a marked escalation in human rights violations and violence directed at the political opposition, a stolen election, the denial of a peaceful democratic transition and a worsening humanitarian situation have taken the crisis to a new level.

Selected Documents

Regulations and Orders made under the Special Economic Measures Act:

Related Links

Canada also has certain policy measures in place with regard to Zimbabwe. More information on these measures can be found at the following link:

Legal Advice

Please be advised that Global Affairs Canada cannot provide legal advice to members of the public. For this reason, we cannot deliver an opinion as to whether or not a specific activity or transaction would contravene sanctions legislation. You should consider seeking legal advice in relation to an activity that may contravene a Canadian sanction law.

Les sanctions canadiennes liées au Zimbabwe

Les sanctions liées au Zimbabwe inclure :


Embargo sur les armes


Interdictions financières


Interdiction en matière d'aide techniques

Interdictions

Les sanctions liées au Zimbabwe étaient adoptées dans le cadre de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales afin de répondre aux violations des droits de la personne, à la violence politique et à l'aggravation de la situation humanitaire.

Le Règlement sur les mesures économiques spéciales visant le Zimbabwe impose les mesures suivantes :

  • l'interdiction d'exporter au Zimbabwe ou à toute personne au Zimbabwe des armes et du matériel connexe;
  • l'interdiction de transporter des armes et du matériel connexe au Zimbabwe à bord d'un navire ou d'un aéronef canadien;
  • l'interdiction pour toute personne au Canada ou tout Canadien à l'étranger de fournir de l'aide financière ou technique ou des services liés aux armes et au matériel connexe, y compris la fourniture, le transfert ou la communication de données techniques, au Zimbabwe ou à toute personne au Zimbabwe;
  • l'obligation pour toute personne au Canada ou tout Canadien à l'étranger de geler les avoirs des entités et ressortissants zimbabwéens désignés;
  • l'interdiction aux aéronefs enregistrés au Zimbabwe de survoler le Canada ou d'y atterrir.

Exceptions

Certaines exceptions sont prévues à l’embargo sur les armes, dont les suivantes :

  • le matériel militaire non meurtrier destiné exclusivement à des fins humanitaires ou de protection, ainsi que l’aide et la formation technique connexe;
  • les vêtements et l’équipement de protection destinés à l’usage personnel des fonctionnaires des Nations Unies ou de l’Union africaine, des représentants des médias ainsi que des agents humanitaires ou d’aide au développement et du personnel connexe;
  • les membres des Forces canadiennes au Zimbabwe ou qui s’y rendent pour l’exécution d’opérations officielles.

Le Règlement comprend une liste de noms de personnes pour lesquelles le gouverneur en conseil estime qu'il existe des motifs raisonnables de croire qu'elle soit associée au gouvernement du Zimbabwe, ou une personne ou une entité impliqué aux activités qui minent sérieusement la démocratie, le respect pour des droits de la personne, et la primauté du droit.

Permis et certificats

Le Décret concernant l'autorisation, par permis, à procéder à certaines opérations (mesures économiques spéciales - Zimbabwe), pris en vertu du paragraphe 4(4) de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales, confère au ministre des Affaires étrangères le pouvoir d'autoriser, par permis, toute personne se trouvant au Canada ou tout Canadien se trouvant à l'étranger à procéder à une opération ou catégorie d'opérations qui fait l'objet d'une interdiction ou d'une restriction au titre du Règlement.

Renseignements contextuels

Le 4 septembre 2008, le Règlement sur les mesures économiques spéciales visant le Zimbabwe est entré en vigueur afin de répondre à la gravité de la situation en Zimbabwe. Depuis une décennie, le Zimbabwe connaît un important déclin. Or, cette crise a été aggravée par les événements qui y sont survenus depuis mars 2008, y compris une nette escalade en matière de violations des droits de la personne, des actes de violence dirigés contre les membres de l'opposition politique, des élections frauduleuses, un refus d'opérer une transition démocratique pacifique et une aggravation de la situation humanitaire.

Documents sélectionnés

Les règlements et décrets adoptés en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales :

Liens connexes

Le Canada a également en place des mesures politiques à l'égard du Zimbabwe. Ces mesures sont décrites sur le lien suivant:

Avis juridiques

Veuillez noter qu’Affaires mondiales Canada ne peut donner des avis juridiques au public. En conséquence, le ministère ne peut émettre aucun avis à propos des activités, ainsi que les transactions spécifiques, qui contreviennent ou contreviendront aux lois sur les sanctions. Il est également conseillé de solliciter des avis juridiques en ce qui a trait à une activité qui pourrait contrevenir à une loi canadienne portant sur les sanctions.