Côte d'Ivoire (Ivory Coast)


On November 15, 2004, acting under Chapter VII of the Charter of the United Nations, the United Nations Security Council adopted Resolution 1572 imposing sanctions against Côte d'Ivoire in response to the resumption of hostilities in Côte d'Ivoire and the repeated violations of the ceasefire agreement of May 3, 2003.

The measures imposed against Côte d'Ivoire have been renewed by the Security Council in subsequent resolutions.

The most recent resolution, Resolution 1975 (2011), passed by the Security Council on March 30, 2011, expanded the list of designated persons.

The United Nations Côte d'Ivoire Regulations implement the decisions of the Security Council in Canadian domestic law. Implementation of the travel ban imposed by Resolution 1572 (2004) is ensured in Canada under existing provisions of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act.


Subject to certain exceptions, the measures imposed against Côte d'Ivoire include:

  • a prohibition on the export of arms and related material to any person in Côte d'Ivoire;
  • a prohibition on the provision to any person in Côte d'Ivoire of technical assistance related to military activities;
  • an assets freeze against persons designated by the Committee of the Security Council established pursuant to paragraph 14 of Resolution 1572 (2004) (“the 1572 Committee”), persons designated by the 1572 Committee who are acting on behalf of, or at the direction of, another person designated by the committee, and entities owned or controlled by a person designated by the 1572 Committee; and
  • a travel ban against persons designated by the 1572 Committee.

Selected Documents

Regulations made under the United Nations Act:


If you have any comments, questions or suggestions relating to this page, please email sanctions@international.gc.ca.