Listed Persons

It is common for sanctions to prohibit or restrict dealings with certain individuals or entities. In such cases, the relevant sanctions regulation will refer to “listed,” “designated” or “named” persons.

Listed Persons under the United Nations Act

When the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) decides to impose sanctions in response to a threat to international peace and security, it is practice that a Security Council Committee is created to oversee implementation of the sanctions. Each committee publishes the names of individuals and entities affected by the corresponding sanctions, as well as the specific measures that apply to each listed name. With the exception of the Regulations Implementing the United Nations Resolutions on the Suppression of Terrorism (RIUNRST), regulations made under Canada's United Nations Act refer to the names of listed persons published by the relevant Security Council Committee. The names of persons listed under RIUNRST are published in the Schedule to the regulations.

The Consolidated United Nations Security Council Sanctions List is also available on the United Nations web site.

Listed Persons under the Special Economic Measures Act

When sanctions are imposed under Canada’s Special Economic Measures Act the names of any listed persons are set out in a schedule to the relevant regulations. In general, all prohibitions described in a regulation apply to all individuals or entities named in its schedule. Where regulations include more than one schedule, the prohibitions may apply selectively. Names may be added to or removed from a list by amending the regulations.

A Consolidated Special Economic Measures Act Sanctions List is now available. This list includes designated persons listed in the schedules of regulations made under the SEMA.

Please note that the prohibitions may not apply to each individual or entity in the same way. Each applicable sanctions regulation specifies what prohibitions apply to a particular individual or entity. For accurate information on which provisions apply, reference must be made to the relevant regulation in which the particular individual or entity is listed.

The inclusion of these names on this list is for administrative purposes only. The Consolidated SEMA Sanctions List is not a regulation, and it does not have force of law.

Applications for Delisting

An individual or entity listed in sanctions imposed under the Special Economic Measures Act or the Regulations Implementing the United Nations Resolutions on the Suppression of Terrorism may apply to the Minister of Foreign Affairs to have their name removed from the list. The process by which to apply for delisting is described in the section “How to Apply for Delisting or for a Certificate of Mistaken Identity” below.

Applications for a Certificate of Mistaken Identity

An individual or entity claiming not to be a listed person may apply to the Minister of Foreign Affairs for a certificate stating that they are not the person who has been listed in the sanctions. The process by which to apply for a certificate of mistaken identity is described in the section “How to Apply for Delisting or for a Certificate of Mistaken Identity” below.

How to Apply for Delisting or for a Certificate of Mistaken Identity

For an application for delisting or for a certificate of mistaken identity, the relevant regulation and section number under which the application is being made must be identified. In addition, DFATD requires a detailed description of the relevant circumstances and reasons supporting the application.

Specifically, the following information should be included in the application:

  • The applicant’s name, address, email and telephone number, or if the applicant is an entity, the applicant's name and address and the name and contact information of a representative;
  • In the case of an application for delisting, the number associated with the listing in the schedule of the regulations that the applicant is designated under;
  • In the case of an application for a certificate of mistaken identity, the name of the individual or entity for whom/which the applicant is claiming to have been mistaken;
  • If the applicant is an entity, the following information:
    • a detailed description of the entity, including a list of its owners and shareholders;
    • a description of the products produced by the entity and ingredients/components/raw materials acquired by the entity in order to make those products, and/or a detailed description of the services the entity provides; and
    • a list of the entity’s customers for its products or services, and a list of companies from which it procures ingredients/components/raw materials; and
  • Any information considered relevant to be put before the Minister of Foreign Affairs in support of the application.

Please note that any information provided in an application for delisting or for a certificate of mistaken identity, including personal information, may be communicated to the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and other agencies or departments of the Government of Canada if it is necessary to do so in order to establish if an individual or entity is a listed person and/or should be delisted.

Contact Information

To apply for delisting, or for a certificate of mistaken identity, the material described above, as well as other supporting documentation, can be sent to the Economic Law Section using the following contact information:

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Economic Law Section (JLHB)
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario
Canada K1A 0G2
Fax: 613-992-2467
E-mail: sanctions@international.gc.ca

Once the information requested above is received, the Department may have follow-up questions following an initial review.

Personnes inscrites

Il n’est pas rare que les sanctions interdisent ou restreignent les opérations avec certains particuliers ou entités. En pareils cas, les sanctions pertinentes renverront aux personnes dont « le nom figure sur la liste », « désignées » ou « nommées ».

Personnes inscrites en vertu de la Loi sur les Nations Unies

Lorsque le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies (CSNU) décide d’imposer des sanctions en réponse à une menace à la paix et à la sécurité internationales, un comité du Conseil de sécurité est mis sur pied pour surveiller la mise en œuvre des sanctions. Chaque comité publie les noms des particuliers et des entités touchées par les sanctions correspondantes, de même que les mesures particulières qui s’appliquent à chaque nom inscrit sur la liste. À l’exception du Règlement d’application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur la lutte contre le terrorisme (RARNULT), les règlements pris en vertu de la Loi sur les Nations Unies du Canada renvoient aux personnes dont les noms sont inscrits sur la liste publiée par le comité du Conseil de sécurité pertinent. Les noms des personnes qui figurent sur la liste établie en vertu du RARNULT sont publiés dans l’annexe au Règlement.

La Liste récapitulative des personnes et entités faisant l’objet de sanctions imposées par le Conseil de sécurité est aussi accessible sur le site Web des Nations Unies.

Personnes dont le nom est inscrit sur la liste établie en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales

Lorsque les sanctions sont imposées en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales du Canada, le nom des personnes inscrites sur la liste est publié dans une annexe établie dans le règlement pertinent. En règle générale, toutes les interdictions décrites dans un règlement s’appliquent à toutes les personnes ou entités nommées dans son annexe. Lorsqu’un règlement inclut plusieurs annexes, les interdictions peuvent s’appliquer de façon sélective. Des noms peuvent être ajoutés ou retirés d’une liste par une modification du règlement.

Demandes de radiation de la liste

Une personne ou une entité dont le nom est inscrit sur la liste des sanctions imposées en vertu de Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales ou du Règlement d’application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur la lutte contre le terrorisme peut demander au ministre des Affaires étrangères que son nom soit radier de la liste. Le processus de demande de radiation est décrit dans la section ci-dessous intitulée « Comment demander le radiation de la liste ou un certificat d’erreur d’identité ».

Demande de certificat d’erreur d’identité

Une personne ou une entité qui prétend qu’il y a erreur sur la personne peut demander au ministre des Affaires étrangères un certificat indiquant qu’elle n’est pas la personne dont le nom figure sur la liste des personnes visées par les sanctions. Le processus de demande d’un certificat d’erreur d’identité est décrit dans la section intitulée « Comment demander le radiation ou un certificat d’erreur d’identité ».

Comment demander la radiation ou un certificat d’erreur d’identité

Pour soumettre une demande de retrait ou d’obtention d’un certificat d’erreur d’identité, le Règlement pertinent et le numéro de l’article en vertu duquel la demande est présentée doivent être indiqués. En outre, le MAECD exige une description détaillée des circonstances pertinentes et des motifs à l’appui de la demande.

Plus précisément, l’information suivante devrait accompagner la demande :

  • Le nom, l’adresse, le courriel et le numéro de téléphone du demandeur, ou s’il s’agit d’une entité, le nom et l’adresse du demandeur et le nom et les coordonnées d’un représentant;
  • Dans le cas d’une demande de retrait, le numéro associé à la liste établie dans l’annexe du règlement dans lequel le demandeur est désigné;
  • Dans le cas d’une demande de certificat d’erreur d’identité, le nom de la personne ou de l’entité pour qui ou pour laquelle le demandeur prétend qu’il y a erreur sur la personne ou l’entité;
  • Si le demandeur est une entité, l’information suivante :
    • une description détaillée de l’entité, y compris une liste de ses propriétaires et actionnaires;
    • une description des produits vendus par l’entité et les ingrédients/composantes/matières brutes acquises par l’entité pour produire ses produits ou une description détaillée des services fournis par l’entité;
    • une liste des clients de l’entité pour ses produits ou services et une liste des entreprises auprès desquelles elle se procure des ingrédients/composantes/matières brutes;
  • Toute information jugée pertinente à communiquer au ministre des Affaires étrangères à l’appui de la demande.

Veuillez prendre note que toute information fournie dans une demande de retrait ou d’obtention d’un certificat d’erreur d’identité, y compris les renseignements personnels, peut être communiquée à la Gendarmerie royale du Canada et à d’autres organismes ou ministères du gouvernement du Canada, si cela est nécessaire, pour déterminer si une personne ou une entité est inscrite ou si le nom devrait être retiré.

Coordonnées

Pour demander un retrait ou un certificat d’erreur d’identité, les documents décrits ci-dessus, ainsi que toute autre pièce à l’appui peuvent être communiqués à la Section du droit économique aux coordonnées suivantes :

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Section du droit économique (JLHB)
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0G2
Canada
Téléc. : 613-992-2467
Courriel : sanctions@international.gc.ca

Une fois que l’information demandée ci-dessus est reçue, il est possible que le Ministère pose des questions de suivi après un examen initial.